Asher morning after excitement

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Mornin kids: ~O)
We're up early here at the Dutch ghetto. Wanted to see where Asher is this morning with all the craziness last night.
At 5:30 am which would be +6 after his late token shot last night of .6u, his bg was 222. Not bad considering. I fed him a small shrimp as a treat and we hung out another hour here. Now, at 6:30 am which is +7, he went down to 207.
I know with meter error that could be the same reading, but I am still amazed he's not horribly high yet. I fed another small shrimp and I think we are all gonna nap for a bit.

I was prepared to feed and shoot if it seemed like he was zooming up but that doesn't seem to be the case just yet. I have not a clue as to how much insulin we will shoot today and when. I think the deal is he knows I was conserving test strips until his new shipment arrives next week ;)

So that's where we are. My kitties are staring at me here wondering why momma didn't open the cans yet, but no one is real pesty yet, just purring and watching the momma guzzle coffee and move her fingers around on this piece of plastic glass and metal.

We will keep you posted. Thank you all again for your kind support last night. Just when I thought we wouldn't have to bug you all so much with our drama :oops:

Good day and good numbers to all!!!
 
Sorry for duplicate post. Wifi is acting up this morning and I have to mess with that setting on the iPad to get anything to send. Ahh technology :)
 
So dunno what to do...
We had readings of 222, 207, and now 235 all an hour apart.
Do I feed and shoot? I can't get him too off schedule since Tom and I both have to go to a job Tuesday.

I guess I'll feed and shoot a bit a reduced dose. Someone will be here checking on him all day today.
 
Here's what I am gonna do. For the sake of education, don't any newbies try this, but the experienced folks can chime in and say if I made a good decision or bad one.

I am gonna shoot 2.4 this morning. We are gonna try a new dose ultimately at 2.8 units, but I am shooting early, so if I shave off .1 for each hour I am early that comes to 2.5 u. I am gonna shoot 2.4 because it's Asher, and I'd like a line on the syringe to use.

Hope this is good. I'll let you know what's going on at some point today , but know we are checking on him.
:mrgreen:
 
Come On Coverboy......Good Numbers today!!!

Have a Great Day Donna! And you too Tom!
 
Your plan sounds good.

For future reference you don't want to shoot any earlier than about +9 or +10 to make sure he is past nadir.

I'm so happy for you guys.
 
Thanks Robin, that makes me feel better. I know I prob should have waited a bit more, but I just can’t get him too far off schedule right now. We are very flexible 90% of the time but we do have to shoot insulin before we leave for work on Tues, if at all possible. I also wouldn’t have done this if Tom or I wouldn’t have been here all day today. Yesterday just surprised us so! I just have no idea what his insulin needs will be from here on out, we’ll just have to take this one cycle at a time.
 
Your right about taking it one cycle at a time.

The two scariest/nerve racking times in this dance are dx and heading into remission/tight regulation (anti jinx).
 
Evenin’ kids ~O) (we need to get a beer mug for evening posts)
Just wanted to let everyone know how it went down today...

amps 235 shot 2.4 a little early
+2 200
+5 188
+8 205
+10 192
pmps is in about 45 mins from now. Thinking we’ll shoot 2.8 depending on his number (I really wanna go back to 3.1 since he was doing so well but I don’t need 40’s at +10, we’ll try this and see how it goes).
Not too bad numbers today from less insulin, but flat.
 
Sounds like a good plan. The flatness would be expected with the lower dose this morning. It wasn't a bounce,I don't think.
Carl
 
But riddle me this, we just tested for +11 and he’s at 170 now, why would he be going down now? He’s in shootable numbers but this seems weird.
 
I know they say the 20% variance thing, but that is kinda weird,
maybe pancrease is kicking in a little....
Boy am I gonna pray for you 2!

I will be on so let us know what the +12 is
Are you still thinking of shooting 2.8?
What are you thinking?
 
I think denise is onto something and what you have been seeimg lately is asher's tiny pancreas may be sputtering. If so, this is a great sign. It doesn't make your life any easier and might cause brain cramps, of couse...
Carl
 
I have been wondering that too, it seems he goes down even if he eats a lot or I feed a snack, so it def could be Mr. P saying hi. I can’t say there is a definite pattern tho. Time will tell.

pmps was 187, we shot 2.8

Will keep careful track of what happens Sunday and Monday if we can hold this dose.

I just packed the kitty’s over night bag (frozen chix treats for 3 am dancing_cat ) and I think I am off to bed to read and relax a bit. Yesterday was quite a day, and today I mowed my Mom’s property, power washed a giant wall there and a few other getting her house ready for winter tasks. My feeties are killing me and I don’t have much left to give.....zzzzzzzzzzzz

Have a good night everyone! Carl, have a beer for me will ya?
 
Sounds good, cant wait to see what happens over the next couple of days....
Carl, please have a beer for me too!
 
Wow, if I have one for me too..... I'd better start popping tops!

It's been a couple of interesting days for the coverboy...

Carl
 
.... and to think it all started by getting his head caught in a bag and bouncing all through the house!

How's his paw, by the way?

Carl
 
Thanks for asking, his paw seems ok, a little pinker than the other pink toes, but looks like it’s healing nicely. I swear by hydrogen peroxide with him, he sometimes scratches his head, up around his eyebrow. If I put HP on it at night, buy the next day it’s just about gone.

We woke to a 207 amps this morning, so that was cool. I’ll get some numbers today and see where we are.

Good day and good numbers to all. It’s a gorgeous day in PA, hope its the same for the rest of you too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top