Asher keepin it interesting

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Hi Kids:
Just thought we’d stop in and say hi. Very busy here but Asher is doing great. He seems very consistent of late, thank god (check out the spreadsheet, I just updated). But today he throws a curve and we are 85 at +12. So we had a chicken treat but the troops are not happy and want food :? Asher has to keep it interesting you know :shock: He has been lower on days where he doesn’t eat as much but today he ate normally and he even snuck a few bites an hour before we tested him. Is Mr Pancreas doing something? It’s prob just Asher keeping us on our toes...

So anyhow, we wanted to thank you guys for all your support in the voting. We are a bit embarrassed about it (we want all the kitties to win!) but we thank you so much for your team efforts.

We’ll keep you posted on our interesting day here.
 
+12.5 was 103
+13.25 was 123

We’re gonna wait till 8pm and test and feed. Whatever the number is we’ll prob have to reduce the dose for tonight.

Always excitement....
 
I can’t imagine that would happen after all this time but we’ll aim for that! It would be great! Antijinx!
 
wow, this is the first time I've ever looked at Asher's SS. It reminds me of Bob's routine. "High" doses into "low" usually non-shoot numbers. And Asher doesn't flinch at all. Nice. Asher seems to have the same attitude as Bob towards insulin. I've remarked before that if I shot .5 into Bob, he'd have spit it out and said "what else ya got?".

ECID, definitely.

Donna, are you thinking like a 2.4 or 2.6? Just curious.

Carl
 
The more time that goes by the chances lessen but there have been many here who have made it OTJ, antijinx, after years.

Don't give up the hope. You and Asher are doing great.
 
Thanks guys. I appreciate your thoughts.

I just tested again, and a hair before +14 we are at 122...so Tom and I just talked about it, first thing that came to mind was around 2.5 units or so. And Carl, it looks like you were thinking around that dose too. Naturally I have a job tomorrow at the crack of dawn but I can still get up to test him overnight. Fur baby comes first :-D

So there is lots of lip smacking goin on downstairs right now but I think when he finishes eating we’ll do 2.4 ish. Will be interesting to see what he does overnight and for amps tomorrow.....
 
Well, I saw you had shot 2.6 I think into 120ish at the beginning of the month, so I figured he could handle that much. 2.4 sounds right based on what I see on his sheet.
Donna, I was shooting 2 or 3 with Bob in the yellows and blues, and when he came down dose-wise, it was pretty rapid from that point. Of course, Bob was only on juice for about 10 weeks, and I know you've been treating Asher for a lot longer. I guess what I'm saying is that once Bob decided to heal, and his pancreas started kicking in some juice of its own, the rush to going "you know where" was a rapid ride.
Today marks Bob's 2 month mark of being sugar-free.

Carl
 
Yes, early next month we’ll be at this sugar dance for 10 months. I have threatened to switch insulins twice and have been frustrated and overjoyed and all that goes in between the two. I am thrilled Asher is finally regulated (antijinx again) and if we can go OTJ awesome, but I just want him to be happy and healthy so whatever that takes, we’ll do.
Thanks again for all your input! I’ll post how we do overnight and tomorrow once I get back from my job tomorrow since I have to leave the house at the crack.....
 
overnight +6 was 173, will shoot a little early this morning since he is already up to 228...

I usually do end up shooting a little early on a morning after we reduce his dose. Keeps him from going too high for amps.
 
I think it was Sue that mentioned awhile back preshoots in the 200s and mid days in the 100s are considered “regulated". My understanding is "tightly regulated" is preshoots in 100’s and mid day in the greens. That is what we aim for next :shock:
 
As far as the different degrees of regulation, this is from the FAQ:
A6.1. There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":
Not treated [blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]
Treated but not regulated [often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]
Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
Normalized [60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]

I think Asher fits into the "well regulated" definition right now, or really close to it,which sounds even better than "regulated"!

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top