Asher amazing story

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi Kids:
We had a blech flat Saturday, at least the evening number was not so great:
amps 286, shot 3 units
+6.5 267
pmps 348, shot 3 units

But today is a different story. Hopefully we did the right thing.
amps 252, shot 3 units
+ 7 117
+11 116
+12 146
+13 156
+14 158

We held out as long as we could without feeding tonight and had to move forward with that at +14, so we fed then and shot 2 units (we shot 2 units into that number before) and we’ll see what happens. Obviously I’ll be testing overnight.

I wasn’t home mid day but Tom said today was nothing out of the ordinary, he slept more maybe so possibly ate a little less but still, what a long surf on the amount of insulin he has had for days now with just so so numbers.

So, as this turns out, is 3 too much? What do I do tomorrow if he is sky high? Shoot 2.8 again? Shoot 3 again? What do I do if he’s in the mid 200s, shoot 2.8 or 3?
The schedule is real messed up now so I have to try to get him back to shooting around 6:30 instead of 8:15. I just thought if we held off tonight we might be able to shoot a full dose but that just didn’t happen.

I know this is Asher, but any thoughts out there? This one totally caught us off guard.
 
Wow, what a nice ride. I would definately test tonight. It's hard to say about AMPS without knowing what happens tonight. That's probably not what you wanted to hear but keep posting his bg's and we'll stay tuned.
 
Sorry I cant advise on a dose cause I am clueless myself...
but ..WOW what a great day!!!

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Yippee, look at all zee bluuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuues!!!!!

I wouldn't stress too much tonight - maybe one spot test sometime by +4. I would guess the dose will be much too low (which is fine given the wonkiness).

You didn't actually get a low nadir and it's just over a 50% drop, so I'm not convinced 3u is too high a dose really. That said, with the big difference between last night's PS, this morning's, and tonight's, it looks too high on that basis. Plus sometimes when you get a breakthrough, then they don't need as much insulin after that to stay in good #s.

I think you will likely have to do some experimenting before you know what's up. You may not see these #s every time on the same dose, could be something was different today (eating differently?) or whatnot.

I would shoot what you feel safe with. If it were me I'm might do 2.5 in the morning (depending on the PS), and then see where you land tomorrow night. If you shoot 3u again, I would probably want to do it when you can test. It's confusing when they have a variable response. I can't get my mind around it quite at the moment, and his response is often blah, so it's hard to really tell what the pattern is. Hmmm.
 
Morning kids: ~O)

Spot test last night at +4.5 was 162.

This morning I checked amps around +11 and they were 327. (I tested a little early to avoid a nastier number if possible)

So, I took my time feeding both kitties and then shot a little early since he was in the 300s.

We were back and forth about dose but Tom and I decided we’d shoot 3 units again since we are both home at our desks all day today and will keep an eye on him.
I really think dropping too much never has really worked for Asher. If he gets his extended surf again today and is too low to shoot again tonight, I guess then we can pull back a bit if you all think we should do that.

Good day and good numbers to all!
cat_pet_icon
 
Goof luck with the 3 units!

Tom is a great DP--- he is wonderful in his care and support of Asher!
 
Yes, I don’t know how I would do this without Tom. Being self employed makes it more nutz too and he is loving and supportive of me and the kitties. I am very VERY lucky.
 
Asher is always so fun. :mrgreen: Who can figure out the boy? At least every day is interesting, Donna. Not the same old, same old.......
 
We can’t figure him out with any certainty, but we usually have a vibe on what he MIGHT do or what we should do. This long blue surf yesterday caught us off guard.

Just glad he’s in good numbers much of the time AND that he seems in good health and spirits otherwise, we’ll deal with the rest of the wonky stuff.

I’d really like to teach our cat sitter to test and shoot, but it worries me that if Asher’s dose is changing constantly, Tom and I will never be able to leave the house for any length of time together. I am SO hoping we are close to that, but, it may never be the case. We are just trying for the best.
 
Just a thought for you....

I have noticed that Shakespeares numbers all depend on how he is eating that day..
If he snacks a lot.. his numbers stay high and are bad all day

butr if he eats a big meal early and does not snack he has great numbers

wonder if Asher is the same?

Denise and shakes
 
Asher & Thumper....what are we gonna do with them? Always something to keep you wondering!
 
That's great IMO if you can keep with the 3u. Depends a lot on whether people can be around to monitor, etc., etc. I wouldn't pull back on the dose specifically to get a shootable PS if your schedule allows you to handle late shots. Go for the greens if you can do it, more power to you! If you get a # below 50, or if your schedule is such that you are likely to miss shots if the PS isn't shootable, that's when you want to lower the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top