Asher 3 units...blech

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Evenin’ kids and kitties:
Tonight we shot 3 units again, this will be our 4th cycle of 3 u and it ain’t goin’ so good so far.
Numbers got worse, not better. So, wonderin’ do I ride this out or do I go back to 2.8. Or heaven forbid increase again?
We found out he seemed to like longer to settle in to a dose. He did real good on 2.8 for awhile.
I am pretty confused as to what to do. I know. It’s Asher.

June 1: amps 270
+5 253
pmps 261

June 2: amps 321
+5 274
pmps 304

Brand new insulin, 5 P’s all just fine, temp and humidity took a break so house is comfortable. Eating normally, no drinking that I see. Litter box normal.

Any thoughts out there? confused_cat
 
Hope someone will have a brilliant idea. He seems to really like a dose at first and then slips up into the 200s. We have certainly tried the lower doses and gotten no long term good effects. Not sure whether I'd stay with this dose a little longer or slide up.

Let's see what others think.

The numbers are not that awful. I just don't understand why they are the way they are....
 
Good morning everyone! ~O)
I am here with the Asher curve ball of the day. Amps today was 211. So we won’t be raising the dose since that’s a good number and I have a mid day meeting out of the house.
If he’d only stay around here for the preshots....

Good day and good numbers to everyone! And some good a/b action for those with uti’s too!
 
Asher, Asher, what are we going to do with you? I don't get it. There is no pattern that I can see - sometimes lower numbers at the beginning of a new dose, sometimes after several days. He is a puzzle. But, nice to see a low amps!
 
Yeah I do think he takes quite a few cycles to settle into something. I just hope we can find a dose that sticks.

I can appreciate the thought that maybe we should consider one of the L’s but this insulin is more forgiving and I can see down the road, if we get our cat sitter to shoot for us on occasion or not, our work is such that sometimes we may have to shoot early or late if Tom and I have to go to an out of town job together, and I appreciate the flexibility of this insulin.

We just started a new bottle (because he was doing so well at 2.8 for two weeks I bought it) so I will give it this bottle. If we can’t get anywhere by then, then I will discuss with the vet what do do next insulin wise. I brought it up the last email exchange we had and he answered all my other questions and said we were doing great, better than any of his other FD clients, but he never said a word about other insulins, so he avoided that question. They either don’t use other insulins or don’t want me to change, dunno.
 
Well, in spite of the frustration of unpredictability, this is a curve ball I like! Who knows, maybe he'll settle here.have a good day, guys!
 
Have a good day Asher.
Henry has been having the same kind of days with little movement.
Today he was in the higher 200's though so slight improvement.
What I notice with Henry is the lower he is AMPS the less movement he seems to get and a new dose takes a while to settle in.
 
Looks like ASher and Shakes are kinda the same!
It seems he does a little better when I hold the does for 5 or more days
Just raised him today to 3.25

Hope all is well!

Denise and shakes
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top