? Arya Stark- 1/26 (27th Aus) AMPS- 273 +5 -280 PMPS 70!!!

Lisa & Lady Arya Stark 🦋

Member Since 2026
On the advice of several lovely people we have dropped Arya’s shot to 0.75 (vet had advised 2iu although Arya is only a tiny 3.3 kilos) She looks a lot friskier in herself and is venturing around the garden again rather than hiding under the bed (which was what alerted us to her health issues) The higher reading after 5 hrs after shot was surprising to me but I’m a complete novice of course. Anyone else got any feedback on that?
Cheers 🙏🏼
 
She's bouncing from however low she got last night. She's still learning to feel good in normal blood sugar numbers. Those higher numbers will pass with time. Our saying here is that Lantus/glargine teaches you patience. Patients pants are a required clothing item. 👖

Great report on Arya, love to hear she's feeling better and showing it.

Here's the link to yesterday's post on Feline Health, where you got more replies (for backgrounder for others reading): 1/25 Arya AMPS 268, +2 238, +4 189 (New here, first curve)
 
She's bouncing from however low she got last night. She's still learning to feel good in normal blood sugar numbers. Those higher numbers will pass with time. Our saying here is that Lantus/glargine teaches you patience. Patients pants are a required clothing item. 👖

Great report on Arya, love to hear she's feeling better and showing it.

Here's the link to yesterday's post on Feline Health, where you got more replies (for backgrounder for others reading): 1/25 Arya AMPS 268, +2 238, +4 189 (New here, first curve)
Thanks Wendy… I feel so much more confident knowing that this community is along for the ride with us. She is so precious to us (I’m sure everyone here feels the same way)
I need to start making sense of the methods people use (TR etc) - I’ll have a good read today…
I managed a test without Paul here today!! Yayy! Next is the needle. Sounds pathetic (it IS pathetic) but it’s a subconscious reaction- always had it- one min I’m ok- the next I’m rolling around on the floor moo-ing like a cow as I come round from blacking out! 😂
 
Good for you on the solo testing! My friends were astounded when I told them I was blood testing and giving shots to my cat. Me, the one who fainted when the teacher started talking about types of blood cells in grade 4, or seeing blood transfusions when I was older. My mantra was "I am doing this to get Neko better and keep her safe". Try practising shots on an orange.
 
Good for you on the solo testing! My friends were astounded when I told them I was blood testing and giving shots to my cat. Me, the one who fainted when the teacher started talking about types of blood cells in grade 4, or seeing blood transfusions when I was older. My mantra was "I am doing this to get Neko better and keep her safe". Try practising shots on an orange.

Good for you on the solo testing! My friends were astounded when I told them I was blood testing and giving shots to my cat. Me, the one who fainted when the teacher started talking about types of blood cells in grade 4, or seeing blood transfusions when I was older. My mantra was "I am doing this to get Neko better and keep her safe". Try practising shots on an orange.
So we’ve had higher numbers today then plunged to 70 pre shot!! Any help would be gratefully received!!!
@Bandit'sMom
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

If I don’t receive any replies I will feed her then test again in 30 mins…

- I wasn’t sure if this was a 911??
 
I guess you haven't had the chance to pick one of our dosing methods - TR or SLGS? Can you monitor if you give the shot?

Was she recently switched to a low carb diet?
I haven’t had chance to look at the TR/SLGS properly but the vet had Arya on a huge dose (I thought 2iu was a small dose until I was told that she should be on 1 at the most and more like .75- which is what we are doing now) so I thought start low wasn’t an option.
Yes I’m here (sorry I didn’t answer that) I’m watching her…
When she was diagnosed I put her on the low carb fancy feasts.
 
Here are the two methods in a nutshell:

SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90 mg/dl (on a human meter). The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS but it's also recommended that you get in as many spot checks as you can.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50 mg/dl (on a human meter). The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

If you can get at least 1 mid-cycle test per cycle, I would suggest you follow TR. The switch to a low carb diet has reduced the amount of insulin she needed. We've also seen some cats flip a switch to regulation and race down the dosing ladder.

With TR, you would not normally take another reduction since the depot takes 4-6 cycles to adjust to a reduction and what you're seeing today could still be the effect of the 1U depot.

If you can stay up, I'd suggest giving 0.75U tonight. Would you be comfortable doing that? I am around and will stay with you.
 
we usually test 4hrs after that.. would you suggest sooner?
When a CG shoots their lowest preshot till date - and especially their first green, we suggest getting tests every hour starting from 1 hour after the shot.

Don't fill her up. You want her hungry enough to eat every hour - if required. I would suggest getting a test at +1 and +2 and feeding a little after each test.
 
Back
Top