Argyle - 9/19

Status
Not open for further replies.

jackie

Member Since 2011
Hi -
Here are Argyle's numbers so far today

AMPS 403, shot 0.2
+3 345
+4 gave 50 mL fluids
+6.25 276
+9.25 359

She was eating pretty steadily today, but is still weak.

I'm at a loss - going up on the dose makes me uneasy because of her previous reactions to 0.3U. Even the best of the recent numbers were when the dose was 0.1U rather than 0.2U.

Any thoughts?
 
About the best observation I can make is that if on a .2 Argyle only went as low as the mid-200s, then .3 should still keep you safely above "too low", shouldn't it?
 
Jackie,
I just scanned "up" your spreadsheet. I only see once where you shot .3 before, and on that day, you got a 600 at +3. I see one other 600, and that was on .1 at +8 when the timing of the shot was "off" schedule. I believe both those blacks were faulty tests. There's no logical reason for those numbers, and I have to believe your meter or strip gave you an error.

That said, it looks like the steepest drop on the sheet is about 50% and that was on 8/28, but the nadir may have been lower.
That dose was a .2 into a 304.

I see two options for you. You can stay with the .2, but I believe the results will continue to be pinks and yellows.
Or you can increase slightly and try to see yellows, blues, and maybe greens.
At this point, it is all your call.
The other really important question to ask is this - how does Argyle seem to be? I mean, does she seem okay? Is she displaying the "five p's?" A kitty can live a perfectly happy life for years on insulin. She can be active and happy and regulated on insulin, just like a human can. You would just have to give her a "vitamin" twice a day. It depends really on what your goal is, and what expectations are realistic.
If your goal is "remission", and I am not saying it is, or it should or shouldn't be. But if it is, then I think you may have to consider being just a little bit more aggressive, OR it could be that PZI isn't the ideal insulin for Argyle. I don't know much about the other types. I kind of understand how they work differently than PZI does. I know the "Ls" are more strict in terms of dose timing and dose consistency . I know the shorter acting insulins are "harsh".
I don't know, I guess I am as much at a loss as you are at this point!

Sorry I'm not much help on this,
Carl
 
I also answered in your last thead.

If your nadir is the +6.25 276 you have a lot of room to drop before a hypo, hypo numbers are below 40. I really do understand your apprehension of repeating a hypo but NOW you are testing and have the tools to steer low numbers higher with a low or medium carb food. You hold the syringe so you will never shoot an aggressive dose when you know you wouldn't be around to test it. Knowledge is Power. And now you have the knowledge.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top