Hi,
I’m really concerned about my cat, Argyle. I’ve been struggling with her dosage since she had two hypo episodes in January and two DKA episodes in February. After the second one, we switched from Lantus to ProZinc (initially with some Humulin to handle ketones). Based on advice from people here (thanks Nancy), we also switched to all low carb wet food. I have been approaching things from the prejudice that she has been getting over-dosed with insulin for a long time (since last summer) and trying to reduce her dose. After reading a lot of posts on FDMB and reading about rebound, liver panic, under-treatment, etc., it just seems so complicated. It’s recently started worrying me that I don’t have any idea what is going on, that I'm only seeing what I wanted to see, etc, and that I need some wiser heads to look at Argyle’s info and let me know what you think.
I don’t have a regular spreadsheet because I’ve been changing the timing of her dosage so it doesn’t fit the 12 hour format. Here are her recent BG curves. Argyle snacks every couple of hours, which might complicate interpreting the numbers somewhat. I test for ketones frequently (generally daily) and haven’t seen anything until a trace reading yesterday (which has cleared up).
8/18/11
Previous shot -17.5 hours earlier
AMPS – 293, shot 0.1U
+2.75 - 156
+4.0 - 191
+7.75 - 229
+17.5 - 235
+24.25 - 260
+28.5 – 238
8/20/11
Previous shot-37.5 hours earlier
AMPS – 296, shot 0.1U
+2.25 - 181
+4.0 - 168
+8.75 - 205
+27.75 - 275
8/24/11
Previous shot -13.5 hours earlier
AMPS – 274, shot 0.3U
+2.0 - 247
+3.0 - 194
+6.25 - 189
+9.5 - 438
+12.0 - 426
I gave her the increased dose because I was worried that I was under-treating her, but this dose really didn’t agree with her. I hadn’t seen a BG in the 400’s in a while. After this dose, she was really, really weak, missing the litter box, stumbling, and hiding under furniture. I went back to giving her 0.1U twice a day after that, but the weakness and hiding persisted over the next few days. Her PSs were in the high-200’s range. Her last shot was 10:00 pm last night. I shot 0.2U because her PS was a little higher. I didn’t give her a shot today because she just seemed so much stronger without it. She has also stopped hiding and has gone back to sitting in her favorite spots.
8/28-29/11
Previous shot -14.25 hours earlier
PMPS – 367, shot 0.2U
+2.75 – 267
+4.25 – 188
+13.25 – 361
+25.75 – 288
I don’t know what to do next. Is she being over-treated or under-treated? Should I try giving her the 0.3U dose again, assuming that she will get used to it and not react as badly next time? Or am I on the right track of trying to wean her off the insulin?
I’d be grateful for any ideas that anyone could give me!
Thanks,
Jackie
I’m really concerned about my cat, Argyle. I’ve been struggling with her dosage since she had two hypo episodes in January and two DKA episodes in February. After the second one, we switched from Lantus to ProZinc (initially with some Humulin to handle ketones). Based on advice from people here (thanks Nancy), we also switched to all low carb wet food. I have been approaching things from the prejudice that she has been getting over-dosed with insulin for a long time (since last summer) and trying to reduce her dose. After reading a lot of posts on FDMB and reading about rebound, liver panic, under-treatment, etc., it just seems so complicated. It’s recently started worrying me that I don’t have any idea what is going on, that I'm only seeing what I wanted to see, etc, and that I need some wiser heads to look at Argyle’s info and let me know what you think.
I don’t have a regular spreadsheet because I’ve been changing the timing of her dosage so it doesn’t fit the 12 hour format. Here are her recent BG curves. Argyle snacks every couple of hours, which might complicate interpreting the numbers somewhat. I test for ketones frequently (generally daily) and haven’t seen anything until a trace reading yesterday (which has cleared up).
8/18/11
Previous shot -17.5 hours earlier
AMPS – 293, shot 0.1U
+2.75 - 156
+4.0 - 191
+7.75 - 229
+17.5 - 235
+24.25 - 260
+28.5 – 238
8/20/11
Previous shot-37.5 hours earlier
AMPS – 296, shot 0.1U
+2.25 - 181
+4.0 - 168
+8.75 - 205
+27.75 - 275
8/24/11
Previous shot -13.5 hours earlier
AMPS – 274, shot 0.3U
+2.0 - 247
+3.0 - 194
+6.25 - 189
+9.5 - 438
+12.0 - 426
I gave her the increased dose because I was worried that I was under-treating her, but this dose really didn’t agree with her. I hadn’t seen a BG in the 400’s in a while. After this dose, she was really, really weak, missing the litter box, stumbling, and hiding under furniture. I went back to giving her 0.1U twice a day after that, but the weakness and hiding persisted over the next few days. Her PSs were in the high-200’s range. Her last shot was 10:00 pm last night. I shot 0.2U because her PS was a little higher. I didn’t give her a shot today because she just seemed so much stronger without it. She has also stopped hiding and has gone back to sitting in her favorite spots.
8/28-29/11
Previous shot -14.25 hours earlier
PMPS – 367, shot 0.2U
+2.75 – 267
+4.25 – 188
+13.25 – 361
+25.75 – 288
I don’t know what to do next. Is she being over-treated or under-treated? Should I try giving her the 0.3U dose again, assuming that she will get used to it and not react as badly next time? Or am I on the right track of trying to wean her off the insulin?
I’d be grateful for any ideas that anyone could give me!
Thanks,
Jackie