Help? ... Please? Please look at Joe's bg spreadsheet (link in signature) and tell us if we're on the right track.
Joe had a big bounce in his bg last Friday night: PMPS was 173, and then he dipped to 70 before bouncing back up to 495 at his AMPS. In response, we reduced his insulin from 2U bid to 1U bid.
For the next 6 days he was fairly flat, but high -- 265 to 469 -- and we were considering raising his dose.
But then, last night, he fell to 73 at PMPS+4 and then 63 at PMPS+6, and although this isn't a dangerously low reading, it was 1 a.m., and my daughter wanted to make sure the fall was arrested before she went to sleep, so she gave him a smidgen of honey (which he hated) and a bit of his old, dry, high-carb food. An hour later he was at 84, so she went to bed.
So what happens this morning? He's at 502. :shock:
Now what? Our response was to drop his insulin from 1U bid to 0.5U bid. Thoughts?
Joe had a big bounce in his bg last Friday night: PMPS was 173, and then he dipped to 70 before bouncing back up to 495 at his AMPS. In response, we reduced his insulin from 2U bid to 1U bid.
For the next 6 days he was fairly flat, but high -- 265 to 469 -- and we were considering raising his dose.
But then, last night, he fell to 73 at PMPS+4 and then 63 at PMPS+6, and although this isn't a dangerously low reading, it was 1 a.m., and my daughter wanted to make sure the fall was arrested before she went to sleep, so she gave him a smidgen of honey (which he hated) and a bit of his old, dry, high-carb food. An hour later he was at 84, so she went to bed.
So what happens this morning? He's at 502. :shock:
Now what? Our response was to drop his insulin from 1U bid to 0.5U bid. Thoughts?