Are we bouncing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucker&Me

Member Since 2015
@Sue and Oliver (GA)
I am wondering whether if this past cycle's high numbers have a relation to previous cycle lows?
Is this bouncing?
I am strictly monitoring food, pretests. And I am 99% certain not a fur shot.
I hate when he goes this high!
 
It does look like he is bouncing to me, Brenda. On 8/1 he got a nice nadir and looked like he bounced for the pmps. Even yesterday''s nadir looked okay. I wonder if the 1.25 yesterday morning just Wasn't quite enough and wore off by pmps and it will take him a cycle to get back on track. He does seem to be a kitty that has sort of a delayed reaction to a change in dose.

I like the 1.4 on the pinks and reds and think I would stick with it for awhile (as long as he is near 200 for preshot and rising) and see if he settles in. I know the high pre shots are frustrating but he is in good ranges most of the time.

Have you read Robin's posts on food? (She has one in Skipper's most recent thread). I think she has some very interesting ideas about how food can impact levels.
 
Thanks, Sue. I am resigning myself to the fact that he has these delayed reactions now.
I really put alot of effort into food, and all aspects regarding it. I just can't get on a smooth schedule ETC with ALL of them!! And you feed a teaspoon to one, OMG it's ALL. I've got one that RIOTS & there is no "our schedule" it is HIS schedule, or you will pay. LOL ( not really) :nailbiting:
If I relent, and Tucker gets even a SMEAR of anything 3 carb or over..he goes sky high. And he KNOWS the hi carb stuff.,goes right for it, every time!
Sorry for the food post Sue..couldn't help myself.

I'll follow your advice on the dose and also check Robin's post!:)
 
Thank you Vanessa! We're hanging in there and he is coming around, socially alot better. Playing, instead of lying about and sleeping.
Actually, on the Full Blue Moon past, he was kinda naughty!
Getting back to his old ornery self.
Hey, Brenda! Just looked at Tucker's SS. Cool nadiring today! What's happenin' now?
Hi Robin! Just doing the sugar dance..with the FOOD!
See my PM?
 
Yes, I think he is bouncing. That 57 was low. The 87 was nice and he surfed for five hours. I would not give 1.4 if you get a yellow preshot. It works well on the pink preshots. He seems to be a kitty who has a flat cycle after a bounce.

I know the bouncing is discouraging. Generally cats bounce till they stop. Often they bounce regardless of the insulin type. I think the longest lasting bouncer was on Lantus and she bounced for two years.

I think I'd try 1.2 on yellow preshots and 1.4 on pinks and see if you get flatter cycles.
 
(A message for Tucker follows):
Dear Mr. Bouncy-Bounce,
Okay, you can knock it off now. Don't be wearing out your mother!
Wishing you mouse-hunt dreams and flatter cycles,
Robin & Bat-Bat:cat: P.S. Give your mom a hug from us.:bighug:
 
Ha-ha Robin! Too bad he won't see your message, he is in time out from the Internet for too much BOUNCING.

Thanks for the hugs.
Back atcha!
-signed, Worn out Mom
 
Okay, I am worried now. I have watched Tucker's Food intake very strictly today. His SS is scaring me and he isn't feeling good on these high #'s all day.
I went to work, tested before I left. He was 373, so I gave 2Tbls of FF, Savory Salmon and left no food out at all. Got home 4 hrs later and he is 429!
Ketones are NEG. He will play only if I init
 
What time do you get his PMPS # - how soon is that? (Note what Sue had said above re: the bouncing.)
 
If it was me, I think I'd hold the dose at 1.4, as he's still in the pinks. What do you want to do; what does your gut say?
 
Just for future reference, don't feed in the 2-hr window before a pre-shot test - & that includes at +10. (Not unless he was going hypo - then of course you would!)
 
I think I'd hold the dose too. If we look back over Tucker's spreadsheet, he seem to have one or even two higher flatter cycles after a low nadir. It's an odd pattern but he usually comes back down. He seems to bounce for a few cycles after a lower number, then he settles in. It's a little unnerving but I wonder if that is just the way he reacts.
 
I gave him a fat 1.4, shaved him some, so I am positive no fur shot.
I just can't believe he was so high all afternoon, when I was so strictly feeding.
I even searched around to see if he got into the breakfast cereal, in the cabinet!
 
Hey, Brenda - When you're done shooting Tucker, I think we should write a song, titled: "Sugar-Kitty 'Bout To Make Me Lose My Mind."
 
I think I'd hold the dose too. If we look back over Tucker's spreadsheet, he seem to have one or even two higher flatter cycles after a low nadir. It's an odd pattern but he usually comes back down. He seems to bounce for a few cycles after a lower number, then he settles in. It's a little unnerving but I wonder if that is just the way he reacts.
I guess we'll see. If he's high through the nite, after 2-3 hrs of NO FOOD I am going to be in tears.
Every time the number is high, I think I'm hurting his pancreas and he isn't going to be able to get better.
I have a sense of urgency, constantly.
Thanks for weighing in, Sue. I hope you are having a great time, you deserve it!
 
I gave him a fat 1.4, shaved him some, so I am positive no fur shot.
I just can't believe he was so high all afternoon, when I was so strictly feeding.
I even searched around to see if he got into the breakfast cereal, in the cabinet!
Sometimes there's really no rhyme or reason to it! Same thing happened with Bat-Bat today: Higher than usual this a.m., even higher this p.m. So had to shoot both times today, dang it. But no addl. water drinking; all 5 P's fine, except that she was a real pill tonight. (I guess that's her 6th "P.") Ran away at shot time & hissed at me when I picked her off the desk to carry her to her shot-spot. Weather's wonky here, though, so could be that ...
Anyway, my guess is that your Mr. Bouncy-Bounce will stop doing it soon.;)
 
I think I'd hold the dose too. If we look back over Tucker's spreadsheet, he seem to have one or even two higher flatter cycles after a low nadir. It's an odd pattern but he usually comes back down. He seems to bounce for a few cycles after a lower number, then he settles in. It's a little unnerving but I wonder if that is just the way he reacts.
I guess we'll see. If he's high through the nite, after 2-3 hrs of NO FOOD I am going to be in tears.
Every time the number is high, I think I'm hurting his pancreas and he isn't going to be able to get better.
I have a sense of urgency, constantly.
Thanks for weighing in, Sue. I hope you are having a great time, you deserve it!
(with mouthful of dinner): :) What Sue said.
@Sue and Oliver (GA) - Hi! How's Seattle treating you?
(with mouthful of dinner): :) What Sue said.
@Sue and Oliver (GA) - Hi! How's Seattle treating you?
Stop it Robin! I'm starving!
 
You should have been here: Organic broccoli & cheese omelet + maple bacon. (I'm too far away for you to slap me.:p)
 
You should have been here: Organic broccoli & cheese omelet + maple bacon. (I'm too far away for you to slap me.:p)
Yea while I rustle up cold quinoa. And kale from my garden. At least I have gorgeous cherry tomatoes.
Of course ORGANIC, ya snob.
 
I don't have a decent scale to weigh him! I'm trying to locate a baby scale. My guess is about 7.5. Don't know his ideal. He's probably gained 1.5 lbs since dx, maybe 2.
He gets 2-3 3.3oz cans of FF per day. Parceled out during the day & night.
The Others get 2 cans, parceled out as well.
 
Yes, at dx he had lost ALOT. At one time, he weighed 14lbs.
I was worming them all, fairly regularly (two of them had worms since rescue) except Tucker had "evaded" the schedule pretty well!
Around March, I think, I managed to corral him for 2 doses and thought his weight loss was due to the successful worming!!
In my own defense, whenever they were vetted.. he never said a word about any of them being too fat. And they were all 12-16 pounders!
 
I wanted to say that I completely agree with your approach to managing their diets like meds.
That's my goal!
When you have the time, and energy, let's go back to PM and discuss some of my unique problems over here!
**Hmmm..emojis aren't working this morning..
THANKS FOR YOUR HELP LAST NIGHT!!
XO!
 
Well look at those overnight numbers!He certainly dropped a great deal. I'm with Sue...looking at his pattern, he seems to occasionally have a high cycle where he surfs along after some lows.

Remember, this is a marathon, not a sprint. He IS coming down, which is giving his pancreas some healing time...you have to focus on that. Give them time. :)
 
He's doing that "hang-time" thing; sometimes I've had to do at least four AMPS checks (see Bat's SS) before she'd rise enough to shoot.:banghead:
 
Tucker will get agitated because they're being fed & he's not - that's GOOD: His BG will keep rising!!!;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top