Arabel

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arabella

Member Since 2017
Hi, I've been trying to figure this diabetes thing out, with my vet, since September when my cat was diagnosed. I put her on low carb and did really well and she didn't need insulin, that is until she refused to eat low carb, and I tried everything both premium and supermarket and cooked chicken etc, but she refused to the point of losing 3 lbs, down to 9 lbs and could feel the spine whenever I touched her back, I figured she would start digesting muscle next so with my vets ok I started her on the only thing she will eat, as much as I hate it, I give her friskies canned with gravy, that was two months ago and she has gained a pound and no longer feels like a skeleton. My vet says absolutely no dry food so she does not get any of that. The problem is that even at 3 units of lantis twice a day, she is very symptomatic, huge appetite, always drinking, lots of peeing in the liter box. She has been checked for other possible co-morbidity but everything else checks out fine. I do try and give her low carb food to see if she will eat it given she has had time away from it now and then, but she still won't touch it. I don't know how I will afford lantis if I have to give her some ridiculous dosage in order to allow her to eat the only cat food she will eat and not literally starve. I am open to trying just about anything at this point. Hoping for advice if any of you have had similar problem.
 
Have you tried adding Parmesan cheese to low carb food, many cats like it. What type of numbers is your cat showing for Blood Glucose tests, it could be that 3 units aren't enough.
 
Welcome Arabel, so when did she have to start insulin? Are you home testing? If not, are you willing / wanting to learn? We can help. In contrast to babyBoo, 3.0U could be too high of a dose. Have a look at the Food chart Sharon posted for you and try to stay under 10% carbs. Many members order their Lantus from Canada as well, think it's about $150 + S&H for 5 pens.
Here is a thread from a member who's kitty preferred gravy, she posted (Cherish Gallagher) some images of the one's she uses that are <10% carbs:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/angel-amps-298.176590/#post-1943609
 
When we went to the vet her numbers had a huge varience, blood 300, urine 1,000. Started insulin in January, 2U 1xday, then after about 3 wks we went to 2U 2x/day. Then the vet wanted me to give the shot further back which I did and it didn't change a thing. This past Saturday we went to 3U 2x/day. As I said she is very symptomatic, but she seems well otherwise, plays with other cats which I don't think she would initiate if she weren't feeling well. I would love to check her level, however, she is not a cat who will let you touch her much. The only way I can give her insulin is when she is eating and growling at the same time, but even then it is very difficult. I am thinking of that litter box where the litter doesn't absorb the urine and it goes right thru to the bottom and you can use test strips. She loves dry food but doesn't get it. Wish there was a palatable one under 10%, the prescription foods (science and royal canin) she won't eat, and they have more carbs also. Thanks for the link, will try the foods pictured. I plan on trying everything recommended on this thread as I am desperate.
 
Have you tried adding Parmesan cheese to low carb food, many cats like it. What type of numbers is your cat showing for Blood Glucose tests, it could be that 3 units aren't enough.
Thanks, will try, trying everything to see if/what works.
 
There are a few not so cuddly kitties here and semi-ferals that have been able to have BG tested at home. May just take some desensitization exercises, even a kitty-rito (burrito the kitty in a blanket or towel). We can help.

The glucose Diastix are not reliable for monitoring her BG because that's how much sugar is left over to spill into urine. 2.0U is a higher than preferred starting dose and a whole unit increase to 3.0U is also not preferred. Usually we prefer to increase doses by 0.25U or 0.5U, unfortunately a lot of Vets only think in terms of whole units. This may work for humans but does not typically work so well for kitties.

Prescription diets are too high in carbs, even the ones "for diabetics" and they are expensive. There are 3 acceptable dry foods for diabetic cats, but still try to do more wet food with 1-2T added water, warm or room temperature.

Young Again Zero / Zero Mature: 0 - 2% dry matter carb
Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein Chicken: 2.2 - 5.7 dry matter carbs
EVO Cat and Kitten (Purple bag): 6 - 8% dry matter carbs

The first 2 are purchasable online only. EVO can be found in PetSmart.

Will also help setting up your Signature with some information, gives a quick glance about kitty and helps those of us with bad memories ;): http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/editing-your-signature-profile-and-preferences.130340/

And it's good to be prepared, so I give this link to new members: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

You can start a thread on the Main Health Forum too, this Introduction section has slower traffic :)
 
There are a few not so cuddly kitties here and semi-ferals that have been able to have BG tested at home. May just take some desensitization exercises, even a kitty-rito (burrito the kitty in a blanket or towel). We can help.

The glucose Diastix are not reliable for monitoring her BG because that's how much sugar is left over to spill into urine. 2.0U is a higher than preferred starting dose and a whole unit increase to 3.0U is also not preferred. Usually we prefer to increase doses by 0.25U or 0.5U, unfortunately a lot of Vets only think in terms of whole units. This may work for humans but does not typically work so well for kitties.

Prescription diets are too high in carbs, even the ones "for diabetics" and they are expensive. There are 3 acceptable dry foods for diabetic cats, but still try to do more wet food with 1-2T added water, warm or room temperature.

Young Again Zero / Zero Mature: 0 - 2% dry matter carb
Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein Chicken: 2.2 - 5.7 dry matter carbs
EVO Cat and Kitten (Purple bag): 6 - 8% dry matter carbs

The first 2 are purchasable online only. EVO can be found in PetSmart.

Will also help setting up your Signature with some information, gives a quick glance about kitty and helps those of us with bad memories ;): http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/editing-your-signature-profile-and-preferences.130340/

And it's good to be prepared, so I give this link to new members: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

You can start a thread on the Main Health Forum too, this Introduction section has slower traffic :)
I bought/have the EVO but vet said no because "No dry food" which I question personally. Esp after seeing the ingredients on the rx dry foods. I also forgot to mention (there's so much) that she goes thru 3-5 cans of friskies/day. I would think that the EVO which she really likes would be better than those cans or at least would let me cut down on them. Would you free feed the EVO or how much would you feed, since I have it but only the other two cats are eating it separated, of course. Its hard to limit her to only a can or two esp in view of her worrisome weight loss, and she will cry, scratch and bite when she is hungry, never did that before, but she is letting me know she feels as if she's starving. When she was 12 lbs. vet said her weight was good and that was in Dec. lost the 3 lbs when refused to eat low carb and giving her all of these cans is what put on the additional pound so she's 10 lbs now. That's why I give her the food when she wants it. Is there a specific brand you use for checking blood glucose in a cat or would an accu check type be OK? I can do it, I know how, it's just her personality, will have to get my husband to hold her, she actually likes me to rub her ears IF she's in an approachable mood. Looking forward to getting this under control so we won't be going thru so much litter.
 
Is it the Cat and Kitten in purple bag? Dry food really is not idea for kitties but some are just addicts. Dr. Lisa Pierson explains why dry food is not recommended for any cat on her site: http://catinfo.org/

While her BG (blood glucose) is unregulated her body is literally starving because it cannot properly absorb the nutrients. Actually, there's nothing really wrong with Friskies and Fancy feast, but they have gotten a bad reputation for quality over the years. Dr. Pierson also says if you cannot do the homemade diet for your cat, she'd still prefer to see people feeding a commercial diet with those two brands over dry food. So to start, I would leave like 1/8 cup out for her and if any is left, take it up 2 hours before her pre-shot test. When you can start home testing. Most of us feed multiple times a day, the feeding 2x a day is an old school of thought, and seems to work better for diabetic kitties.

Most of us do use human glucometers because test strips are more affordable than the pet meter, AlphaTrak 2. Walmart's ReliOn Confirm / Micro is popular since you can get 100 test strips for about $36, and cheaper online from places like E-bay. Just remember when you are starting, you are not poking her to hurt her :bighug:, try to stay calm as our fur babies can pick up and respond to our emotions, and always give a treat or do something positive after the test, even if unsuccessful. If you don't get a blood drop on the first poke, we say just try 3 times, then take 10-15 minute break before trying again.

Good news is that it does sound like your Vet is more knowledgeable about nutrition :) than most mentioned here that try to say "this prescription diet is the only food for your cat".

Please check out the Signature instruction link I previously posted, it is super helpful, especially once you make a thread on the Main Health Forum.

Lastly I will leave you with two members who made videos of testing their kitties BG. Don't be discouraged, they are both very used to being home tested now :cat:
Sieden & Peanut

Janet & CC
 
When we went to the vet her numbers had a huge varience, blood 300, urine 1,000. Started insulin in January, 2U 1xday, then after about 3 wks we went to 2U 2x/day. Then the vet wanted me to give the shot further back which I did and it didn't change a thing. This past Saturday we went to 3U 2x/day. As I said she is very symptomatic, but she seems well otherwise, plays with other cats which I don't think she would initiate if she weren't feeling well. I would love to check her level, however, she is not a cat who will let you touch her much. The only way I can give her insulin is when she is eating and growling at the same time, but even then it is very difficult. I am thinking of that litter box where the litter doesn't absorb the urine and it goes right thru to the bottom and you can use test strips. She loves dry food but doesn't get it. Wish there was a palatable one under 10%, the prescription foods (science and royal canin) she won't eat, and they have more carbs also. Thanks for the link, will try the foods pictured. I plan on trying everything recommended on this thread as I am desperate.
Have you asked Youngagainpetfood.com for a free sample of their zero carb dry food?
 
I bought/have the EVO but vet said no because "No dry food" which I question personally. Esp after seeing the ingredients on the rx dry foods. I also forgot to mention (there's so much) that she goes thru 3-5 cans of friskies/day. I would think that the EVO which she really likes would be better than those cans or at least would let me cut down on them. Would you free feed the EVO or how much would you feed, since I have it but only the other two cats are eating it separated, of course. Its hard to limit her to only a can or two esp in view of her worrisome weight loss, and she will cry, scratch and bite when she is hungry, never did that before, but she is letting me know she feels as if she's starving. When she was 12 lbs. vet said her weight was good and that was in Dec. lost the 3 lbs when refused to eat low carb and giving her all of these cans is what put on the additional pound so she's 10 lbs now. That's why I give her the food when she wants it. Is there a specific brand you use for checking blood glucose in a cat or would an accu check type be OK? I can do it, I know how, it's just her personality, will have to get my husband to hold her, she actually likes me to rub her ears IF she's in an approachable mood. Looking forward to getting this under control so we won't be going thru so much litter.
I would let her graze on the evo. I feed wet twice a day and free feed young again zero and Evo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top