? April 18th 2026 - AMPS 161 - +3 146 - +10 145 - PMPS 232 - +2 180

borg the gorb

Member Since 2026
Hi yall, my name is Zach and this is George.
1000014279.jpg


He is 17 and was recently diagnosed with diabetes and has been on Lantus for about a week now, and while he seems to have stablized( with the help from multiple people on the forum), i do want to avoid a hypo episode. What mg/dL would be too dangerous to shoot him at, if he tested? I was informed it was 100 or lower but I was also informed to come to this part of the forum for lantus related advice. Thanks!
 
Hey Zach. I’ve been following along quietly with your posts and just wanted to say nice job so far and what a handsome man you have there.

While you wait for the others there are some general guidelines in this post if you haven’t seen them yet, towards the bottom.
Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

Edit: I see Elise responded. Great.
I apologise if this seems redundant of me, but what are the main differences between SLGS and TR other than just SLGS having a lower starting dose? Apologies again, I have difficulty understanding certain concepts
 
I just read your intro post. The diet change is likely having a big impact in a good way. It’s good you have some hc on hand.
 
I apologise if this seems redundant of me, but what are the main differences between SLGS and TR other than just SLGS having a lower starting dose? Apologies again, I have difficulty understanding certain concepts
No apologies for asking questions. It is how you will learn and keep your cat safe.

With SLGS you do not give insulin if the bg is under 100 and take a reduction in dose if the bg ever goes under 90. St the beginning even with TR you would not shoot if much under 200. Once you see how your cat responds to lantus with TR you inject if over 50.

Other differences with SLGS a dose is held for a week unless a reduction is earned. With TR you can increase every 3/5 days if needed and reduce if the bg is under 50. You would not be that aggressive at the beginning though. You are already seeing bg in the low 200’s which is good at the beginning. You try to keep the cat in s higher range, around 90- 150 at first.

With TR you need more tests. Lantus usually kicks in between +2-3. If you test them and the bg is much lower then presbot you will need more tests as the cycle might be active and the bg might continue to go down. If a lot higher you might just need one more test.

Those are just some of the differences.

The sticky at the top of this forum explains much better than I did. Read it and ask more questions you have.

Since you are feeding a low carb diet you can choose either one of course you can change at any time.
 
Keeping an eye on George, he is doing Awesome! Congratulations to both of you, my time with you Zach, has been a blessing, I am glad to have helped, it's been a personal journey, I am always here for you both! 🫶 You have done an amazing job!
 
Last edited:
Keeping an eye on George, he is doing Awesome! Congratulations to both of you, my time with you Zach, has been a blessing, I am glad to have helped, it's been a personal journey, I am always here for you both! 🫶 You have done an amazing job!
Thank you for everything, seriously. This has been a wild rollercoaster and I couldn't have done it without someone like you. Ill likely have more questions/try to be active on the forum eventually
 

Thank you for everything, seriously. This has been a wild rollercoaster and I couldn't have done it without someone like you. Ill likely have more questions/try to be active on the forum eventually
Always here for you I I don't follow the Lantus Forum, But I started when you got there, any time I’m here , thank you, but you did the Hardee’s job, by hiding bowls from MIL, to gaining confidence , it’s a breeze from now on. Good job Zach
 
George is looking really good! On this forum new day new post. Then link the previous post to the new one. It gets busy here so that way your posts will get more attention.
Then link the previous one for continuity. You might start to see some lower numbers so I encourage you to post each day. You don’t have to though.
 
George is looking really good! On this forum new day new post. Then link the previous post to the new one. It gets busy here so that way your posts will get more attention.
Then link the previous one for continuity. You might start to see some lower numbers so I encourage you to post each day. You don’t have to though.
Always here for you I I don't follow the Lantus Forum, But I started when you got there, any time I’m here , thank you, but you did the Hardee’s job, by hiding bowls from MIL, to gaining confidence , it’s a breeze from now on. Good job Zach
Sounds good, ill try and keep that in mind
 
Hi Zach,
I saw your other post about him being at 145. That's a nice safe number. Good job. Are you able to monitor tonight?

Also please delete the other post. Best way is post only one post per day. That was it's easier for members to see what's been going on.

You can add the 145 in your title as a + number. How many hours since PMPS has it been?
 
Hi Zach,
I saw your other post about him being at 145. That's a nice safe number. Good job. Are you able to monitor tonight?

Also please delete the other post. Best way is post only one post per day. That was it's easier for members to see what's been going on.

You can add the 145 in your title as a + number. How many hours since PMPS has it been?
Oh I must've misunderstood, I apologise. I dont know how to delete posts, I cant find the option

Also it has only been 1 hour since PMPS, in another hour ill be testing him
 
Oh I must've misunderstood, I apologise. I dont know how to delete posts, I cant find the option

Also it has only been 1 hour since PMPS, in another hour ill be testing him
Ok maybe only moderators can delete posts. Not sure.

Anyways can you modify your title and post
°today's date
° AMPS # and PMPS#
°you can add any other tests you've done throughout the day.
If you tested 1 hr after AMPS put +1#
 
You can also add his name in the title and your dosing question so it's easy for people to identify your kitty plus if you have a question it's nice to see it in the title.
He seems to be doing really well and responding great to Lantus after only a week or so. I can tag few senior members who could advise you on the dose.
Did you read all the stickies Tim and Elise posted here?

@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
 
Back
Top