Apple 6/10 AMPS 91/+1 85/+2 66/+3 52/+3 1/2 48

Caren & Apple

Member Since 2019
Cancelled Apple's surgery this a.m. due to low blood sugar. Question, gave him half a dose this morning, no food after 10:00 p.m. last night. We will try and stabilize his numbers throughout the day, but what are we supposed to dose him with at his PMPS?

*edit: he threw up his last dinner before 10pm last night but I didn't want to feed him again because we were at 10 p.m. So he went the whole night and this morning with nothing and dipped to 48 30 minutes before we were to take him to the vet's for surgery. They said to reschedule.
 
Last edited:
So sorry for the confusion, I thought I changed that to TR, must not have hit save. Also, it didn't happen on it's own under normal feeding.
Since Apple was diagnosed more than a year back, she is a long term diabetic. For long term diabetics following TR, a reduction is earned after:
  • a single drop below 40 mg/dL or
  • 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days, or
  • when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
Today would be the first of 3 drops between 40 and 50. You hold the dose.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ng-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/
 
Since Apple was diagnosed more than a year back, she is a long term diabetic. For long term diabetics following TR, a reduction is earned after:
  • a single drop below 40 mg/dL or
  • 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days, or
  • when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
Today would be the first of 3 drops between 40 and 50. You hold the dose.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ng-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/

I understand that, under normal circumstances that would be a 'first of 3 drops.' Does it matter the circumstances that led to it? I.e. he had no food since 10 p.m. last night, and threw up the last dinner he DID have, so it wasn't as though he was eating through the night as normal. Then in the morning he had a half dose shot because that is what the vet wanted prior to full mouth extraction surgery-thus resulting in the very low number on no food. That's just what I would like clarification on-this number wasn't yielded from normal circumstances. Thank you.
 
Back
Top