My Delsey was diagnosed with T2 just a week ago. Her fructosamine level was 380. Vet prescribed Lantus. 1U, twice daily.
Delsey is 16 years old, about 4.5 lbs (she has always been tiny).
We started her 1st dose 2 days ago. Her pre-shot test was 251 mg/dL (we use a Walgreens TrueResult meter). That night we both had to work till very late unexpectedly and so we were forced to skip her second dose.
Next morning (yesterday), her pre-shot level was 187, plus she wasn't interested in her breakfast at all, so we didn't shoot. Here is the thing, ever since the first day, we notice that she has lost her appetite. She always has health appetite before. Now, she mostly nibbles at it here and there. So yesterday night because my wife didn't see her eating all that much all day and Delsey wasn't cooperative at all when we tried to measure her BG, so didn't give her the shot either.
So here we are at the third day, her appetite is not back yet. Is it something I should be alarmed of? Is it a temporary condition when her body is adjusting to the medication?
Delsey is 16 years old, about 4.5 lbs (she has always been tiny).
We started her 1st dose 2 days ago. Her pre-shot test was 251 mg/dL (we use a Walgreens TrueResult meter). That night we both had to work till very late unexpectedly and so we were forced to skip her second dose.
Next morning (yesterday), her pre-shot level was 187, plus she wasn't interested in her breakfast at all, so we didn't shoot. Here is the thing, ever since the first day, we notice that she has lost her appetite. She always has health appetite before. Now, she mostly nibbles at it here and there. So yesterday night because my wife didn't see her eating all that much all day and Delsey wasn't cooperative at all when we tried to measure her BG, so didn't give her the shot either.
So here we are at the third day, her appetite is not back yet. Is it something I should be alarmed of? Is it a temporary condition when her body is adjusting to the medication?