Anyone using both a short-acting AND long-acting insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DianeM &Shadow

Member Since 2010
In early 2002, I used both Regular insulin and BCP PZI with Velvet PuffPaws. I used the Regular to lower her bg until the PZI then kicked in a few hours later. For example, if her BG was 300 preshot and I knew that .5 units of Regular would lower her 50 points and a dose of 2 units of PZI would lower her approximately 150 points, I could predict a nadir of around 100. These are only example numbers but you get my drift. I was wondering if anyone else is doing this? Velvet eventually came off the juice this way.

I am considering the use of Regular insulin with Shadow who gets voraciously hungry when his BG is over 300. At that time there were several DVMs who were very invested in treating diabetics but I can't remember their names. I am also searching for any literature that supports this method. It has always been a common practice with human diabetics. I would love to hear from people about this. BTW, I am a registered nurse and able to supervise Shadow closely, which helps, eh???
 
We have a few people here who use R with the longer acting basal insulins, but we don't usually see people start out that way.

We usually have people start with the basal insulin and monitor.....only if they can't be controlled using the basal do we add a bolus like R and even then, it's only done with the help of some experienced people who are very familiar with using both

I tried to look at your spreadsheet and am getting a 404 error (Not Found)

With Shadow being so new to diabetes, I don't think you're at the point where you need to be using R at this point
 
I used to used to use R plus a long lasting insulin. I used the R to quickly get down an abnormally high PS BG.
I now use N plus a long lasting insulin Now levemir) for Badger. Tghis is because I can see an 100 or more BG spike an hour or two after feeding. This morning wiht a BG of 124 Badger received 1/2 unit Levemir and 0.2 units N.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top