DianeM &Shadow
Member Since 2010
In early 2002, I used both Regular insulin and BCP PZI with Velvet PuffPaws. I used the Regular to lower her bg until the PZI then kicked in a few hours later. For example, if her BG was 300 preshot and I knew that .5 units of Regular would lower her 50 points and a dose of 2 units of PZI would lower her approximately 150 points, I could predict a nadir of around 100. These are only example numbers but you get my drift. I was wondering if anyone else is doing this? Velvet eventually came off the juice this way.
I am considering the use of Regular insulin with Shadow who gets voraciously hungry when his BG is over 300. At that time there were several DVMs who were very invested in treating diabetics but I can't remember their names. I am also searching for any literature that supports this method. It has always been a common practice with human diabetics. I would love to hear from people about this. BTW, I am a registered nurse and able to supervise Shadow closely, which helps, eh???
I am considering the use of Regular insulin with Shadow who gets voraciously hungry when his BG is over 300. At that time there were several DVMs who were very invested in treating diabetics but I can't remember their names. I am also searching for any literature that supports this method. It has always been a common practice with human diabetics. I would love to hear from people about this. BTW, I am a registered nurse and able to supervise Shadow closely, which helps, eh???