ANYONE UP?? SPRATS 33! +4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Sprats

Member Since 2010
He has been doing so well lately I haven't tested him in a week or so. He went outside, and at bedtime, he didn't come to the door, like usual and he was sitting (not laying like last time). breathing fast. I brought him in and tested and it was 33
AND I just ran out of food this evening!! I have given him water mixed with KARO from syringe and he drank a little 1% milk. anything else? he just got up and is moving.
 
If you have any human food that Sprats will eat, you can add Karo, honey, etc. to it. Consider deli meat, canned tuna like Julie suggested, any chicken you may have in the freezer, etc. The low carb will help to keep numbers up once the high carb wears off.

Is there someone who can run to a 24-hr store to pick up cat food?
 
i gave him some canned tuna with karo and he ate about a tablespoon. 5 minutes i checked it and it says unregisterable - below 20! how long before the food kicks in? he is acting better
 
when I first brought him in he just layed there, breathing heavy. that was 33. now he is moving around, and he will now eat hc treats - he wouldn't before. but the test was lower?? below 20
 
Usually 15-20 mins but I would also syringe a little more karo.....no water mixed in...into his mouth. That will get it in the fastest; absolutely the food is necessary to keep him up; karo wears off quickly. How's he acting? Not to panic you at all but how close is the closest ER...just in case.
 
he is acting better - up moving around. No where near what he was the last HYPO! I don't even think there is anyplace like an ER. I am in Joplin - we had the huge tornado a few weeks ago. There are 900 animals in a shelter they found from the storm. My vet clinic was blown away. Nothing is reopened yet :sad:
 
Jenn: I still think if you have someone there to do it, try to find where the nearest ER is to you just in case. They can put him on a drip of glucose. Again, not to panic, just to be prepared.
 
is the milk ok? he has always loved it and drank a little when I first brought him in tonight. I took it away - DH said it probably wasn't good. he has eaten a bunch of HC treats, and a few more bites of tuna with karo on it
 
will sprats eat a little more tuna with karo in it? you've got a ways to go til nadir, i'm assuming - he really needs some food in him if you don't have access to an ER.
 
so he's hypo'd 3 times in the past - you probably already know that he needs to get up above 50. if your husband is there can he run out and get some cat food?
 
he has eaten a few licks more. Now I can't keep him still. That is a good sign, that he wants to get up and walk around the house?
 
you know with lantus they don't always exhibit signs of hypo - the only way you know how he's doing is to keep testing every 15 minutes or so. i mean, it's good he's not panting or sitting, but don't rely on his behavior. do you have plenty of strips?
 
Jenn: do you have any dry food that he'll eat? Reason I ask is that it does take longer to kick in but it will definitely raise his BG and keep it there. It is recommended in the info on how to treat hypoglycemia. If you can keep him up with karo/tuna or something similar until the dry food kicks in, that will keep you from fighting a low number all night long.
 
You need to keep Sprats in visible distance. He may be wanting to hide and you are going to be up for several hours testing. HC will wear off and numbers could drop. If you cannot stay up to closely monitor Sprats, your only alternative is the ER.

How much insulin did you shoot? Your SS is painfully out of date. Do you know if you shot the correct amount of insulin? Do you have any BG data from the past few days? Not to give you a hard time when you're in the midst of a crisis, but shooting blind with a cat that's had 3 hypos is probably not a good idea. If you get past a 4th hypo, perhaps this is a lesson learned.

Here's a post on handling low numbers.
 
Can your DH get more strips.....is there a pharmacy still open? If you have to test every 15 minutes for a while, you might need more strips. A lantus hypo can last many, many hours.
 
hopefully 20 will get you through the night - that's approx 5 hours worth. you'll want to pick some up in the morning.

i think the dry food, more karo, all of that's a good plan.

marjorie/sienne, do you think she could let him have as much tuna as he wants, or is that a bad idea?

whatever you do he's going to be high tomorrow.
 
over the past month, he's been around 250 and as low as 128. I've been lax on testing him and the spreadsheet, with all of the turmoil here in Joplin. We were without internet for quite awhile.
 
we've had lots of joplin on the news - sounded terrible. glad you made it through, although i understand there's a lot left to do.

what's he at now?
 
No, there are no pharmacies open. We have lost alot with the tornado. I keep having to go get him from my son's bed. He is wanting to go to bed. He is acting normal - even jumped up on the bed.
 
Julie is right that you need to get food in him but I would be careful about just letting him eat as much as he wants of the tuna just because you don't want him
to get too full. Especially since you don't have any gravy around...right?

Any update on number?
 
But, you realize the reason for testing before every insulin shot? He could have been very low before the insulin dose was given, tonight.
 
jenn, i'm wondering why you couldn't make some people gravy. if you take a little broth and cook it with some flour and butter - what the heck - gravy is gravy.

are you at about +5.25 now?
 
He just ate quite a bit of dry food. He was very hard to break of it - he's in heaven now. waiting on DH to give another test. he is better than me. what I understood from the Lantus papers I read was that you should give them their two doses no matter what, because of the shed? I thought even if they had low numbers once in awhile you still needed to stay on schedule?
 
Yes, you need to stay on a 12/12 schedule, but sometimes, if the pre shot test is too low, then we will either skip a shot or shoot a reduced dose.
 
No sleeping, yet, though, you still have a long while to go, before it's safe to sleep, okay?
 
The 44 is better. HOWEVER, that's the HC talking. Numbers will wobble around. You need to stay up and keep testing. Re-test in 20 min. Feed small amounts of food (LC + HC). The low carb stabilizes the numbers; the HC brings them up.

I think it would help if you could post more often so you're not working without a net. Many of us shoot low. However, we have the data to do so. You can't just shoot blindly. You could have given insulin when Sprats was already sitting in the 40s. I shoot low. I won't shoot that low. You have a cat that is prone to hypos. You need to get pre-shot tests and a bare minimum of one test each cycle. And, you need to make sure you have strips, LC, and HC food especially if you don't have the usual resources like an ER vet around.

If you look at Gabby's SS from tonight, she went from a PMPS in the 400s to the 40s. I'm never complacent with her numbers because she's done this before.
 
Can you try to feed him a little more, now? It would be good to get him up into the 50s and 60s, and then beyond that.
 
He is being stubborn. He keeps trying to wiggle back on the bed when I pick him up. I even brought the blanket out here in my computer room. He turns his head from the tuna and just ate 3 bites of dry, and ran out to the bedroom again - jumped back up on his bed. do i need to do any more karo on the gums? He does not like that at all.
 
Jenn: we say "wash, rinse,repeat" meaning test, feed, repeat until he's up safely. Just try not to overfeed in case you have to keep this up awhile.

eta: what food do you have there that he likes to eat? I would rub a little more karo on his gums but don't get overconfident if his numbers come up more; the karo will continue to wear off and so it's important to get something in him that is HC and will stay with him.
 
jenn, i'm headed out for the night - you're doing great but you gotta stay with it for a while longer, even if sprats doesn't like it. it's what he needs.

you've got lots of people helping tonight.
 
I will sometimes bring the food bowl to my cats when their in bed. I'm guessing you can't do this because your son is sleeping?
 
70 at +6
he will not do the karo, but i just tested him on the bed, and took some dry food in and he ate just a few bites.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top