Anyone up? Need eyes please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Member Since 2012
Anyone up early Sunday? Need eyes...

Got up to check Grayson this morning, after shooting a 77 last night at +13 with a 3/4 dose. Yes, that's the lowest I've ever shot. He's been in blues and greens again since wrapping up 3 weeks of Zeniquen (ab).

I wake up @ +6 to find spit-up... lots of little 2" foamy spots on the floor, and 3 large (~9" x 12") spots that look more like (just a little food) was mixed in. There's food in his feeder (which he NEVER leaves untouched), and he was sleeping under the desk (where he goes when he doesn't feel well).

He tried to poop, but no luck (I swapped his Miralax for punkin as he was getting too dehydrated), and he has been getting 100 mL fluids once a day. He's sleeping nicely on the bench now - BG is 159.

Only other thing that's odd is his eyes are a little glassy now. They were watering a lot yesterday - I must've wiped them 3-4 times (he hates that!). I'm wondering if it's a last hurrah for the pituitary tumor (he's Acro and had SRT treatment 32 weeks ago)? Or if something else is going on. Anyone seen anything like this? Anyone awake?

Thanks,
Lu-Ann
 
Morning Lu Ann,
I'm sorry i can't help with Grayson's symptoms. Could he have gotten into something that upset his tummy? How long ago was his +6 when you found the vomit? There are some good brains that come on about now.. Does Grayson seem ok? or we could pm
xoxo mary and ollie
 
J.D. throws up clear bile if his tummy is acidy early in the morning, if I don't give him Pepcid.
Does Grayson have any kidney issues?
 
His kidneys are enlarged due to the acromegaly, but not diseased. I don't usually see spit up, that's why it was such a huge issue... and there were 3 big spots and about a dozen little ones. Did 2 small ones while I was watching.

He's eating the same batch of Fancy Feast Chicken, so that's not any different. He doesn't take pepcid. Only med is Thyrosin for hypo-thyroid (a side effect of SRT). He just did 3 weeks of anti-biotic that jacked his BG up ~100 points for 3 weeks. Nothing else has changed.
 
Mary, +6 was about an hour ago (eastern time zone). The Acro board (facebook) is really quiet this time of day, which is why I came back over here - I knew there's always someone up.

There's no sign of distress, he's not acting strangely now. But for a guy who NEVER passes up an opportunity to eat, for him to skip his auto-feeder is unheard of!
 
That's the only experience I have with foamy clear bile. I hope his tummy settles down for him.
Sending tummy feel better and better appetite vines to Grayson.

Did he eat his breakfast this morning okay?
 
Food in the feeder when I woke up, and it turned at 7 am, so he's skipped TWO meals. Unheard of! This is the kitty that rode the lazy susan cabinet on top of canned goods to eat dry egg noodles! I have every carb in the place locked down!
 
Bless his little lazy susan riding, egg noodle eating heart!
All i can tell you is that as Ollie's numbers spent more time near normal, his ravenous appy diminished. Maybe that's a little of what's going on with Grayson.
Because i know so little, i'd be tempted to call my vet.. although i'd also bet that as more people get up, you'll get more and more eyes on Grayson.
xoxo
 
The lazy-susan-riding carb-starved-fiend left the building when his numbers started improving, but he still doesn't miss a meal!

It may just be the pituitary tumor sputtering as it's starting to die back some more... If I could reach my vet, I would call. Unfortunately, they forward all calls to the ER vet office over the weekend, so I'd be at square one with someone who probably has little knowledge of Acromegaly. My vet has learned from Grayson and me. As she said, in vet school they flashed a picture of an Acro, said "Here's what an acro looks like...but you'll never see one," then moved on to the next topic!

I'll keep an eye on him and see what, if anything, changes. He's in a safe number now - +6.25=159; +8.4=163, so that's a good sign, although the last two nights his nadir has been at +12 and +10.4.

Thanks to all for checking in on us!

Lu-Ann
 
Any chance he's working on a hairball?

If his appetite is still off, you could try a 1/4 of a 10mg Pepsid AC tablet and see if that helps. If Grayson is constipated, that could be contributing. For some cats, straining at the litter box can cause them to vomit. You could try adding some oil to his food and see if that helps to 'grease the wheels,' so to speak. Also, pumpkin can work either for diarrhea or constipation. If the change in litter box behavior started around the time you stopped the Miralax, you may want to think about an alternative to pumpkin.
 
Hi Lu! i popped on to figure out the time change - like a dodo i went the wrong direction with punkin's shot. i did the same thing last year. ohmygod_smile

Grayson's ss looks good - have you tried pepcid? I wouldn't assume that's the entire solution, but it might get his tummy calmed down for the moment.

Punkin's just started on thyroid meds last week - i think we'd missed it because we were doing the senior panel and only checking the total T4, not the free T4 and TSH. Both of those were very low. Fortunately, he's perking up nicely.

I wonder if Grayson's eyes are drooling, could he be getting a cold? Is he around other kitters? I'm thinking he's indoor/outdoor. Is that right? If his eyes are glassy and his tummy doesn't calm down, I'd probably make a vet run as well. These numbers aren't really low enough to explain glassy eyes, unless he went lower in between that 96 and 57 yesterday morning. Even if he had, he ought to be ok by now.
 
I think I overdid the Pepcid. I gave him the whole tablet. But he's feeling/acting more normal. Still no litter box action, but he's started eating, and he was acting more like himself. He got up to 128 @ +15 (about an hour ago) after a low of 71 @+13, so I stayed with the reduced dose and shot. Gonna give him some fluids in about another hour, assuming he'll cooperate. Usually we do fluids while his face is buried in a bowl of food. If he's not interested in the food, we may have to find an alternate plan. I can add the Miralax back in - it's just that he's been a little dehydrated this past week, which is why I restarted the fluids (100 mL once per day) and switched back to the punkin.

Julie - I missed the 3 month panel that CSU had recommended. Once I was able to, we did the 4 month panel. Everything looked good, including his BG (124 at the vet!) except the thyroid. We started the Thyrosin 5mg/day and retested in a month. Number was good, so we've continued at that dose. I don't have to pill him, just break it in half & put it in a bowl with some FD Chicken crumbs, and GULP! he eats it! Much less painful for BOTH of us! ;-)

He's strictly indoor. The eyes have been the window to what he's feeling. They were saucers for so long before the treatment. It was the first change I noticed afterward. You can see his irises now! They haven't been glassy much at all since, so that's why that stood out. And the weeping was just yesterday and today. I wonder if it's just cuz this is the first we've been back down to greens since the ABs? ...and the shock on his system? Either way, I'll see if I can get a quick check tomorrow if everything persists. I'm guessing that once he poops, life will return more to normal.

Thanks for the eyes and input everyone! I really appreciate being able to pop in (like the wayward child that rarely posts here anymore) and get such great feedback and advice!

Lu-Ann
 
Hi Lu-Ann, sorry to be late to the party. Congrats on shooting that 77! :shock: My lowest so far was in the 80's but psychologically, it's somehow easier at lower doses.

I hope Grayson is eating again. Neko not eating would put me in panic mode too. I also have to have carb lock down in the kitchen. Neko was getting a bit of that foamy spit up just before breakfast a number of months ago. I have since added a 1/4 tsp of organic virgin cold pressed coconut oil to Neko's diet. Marje was the one who recommended it. Since then, I've only seen spit up once and I'm not sure which cat was responsible. It also seems to help reduce the hairballs which is a major bonus with my long haired beasties.

Neko also gets a weepy eye occasionally, but I notice it correlates more to her in high numbers. I first noticed the weepy eye in Neko about 6 months before her diabetes Dx and have always wondered if that was the start of the acro tumour. She wasn't showing any other symptoms at the time. I add a little bit of l-lysine to Neko's food when the eye gets weepy/crusty and that seems to dry it up.

One of my favorite things about my vet is she works Saturday through Tuesday. Not many vets around here are open on Sunday.
 
I'm late too Lu, hope Grayson is feeling better and was able to make a "sculpture" for you.

Wow, a 77!!! BOS!!! My line in the sand is 90 now so I am impressed!

Good luck to you guys! Hugs!
 
PS=128
+1.75=205
+3=216
+4.1=178
+6=95 :mrgreen:
He's at it again - but at least this time he's eating!

I need to pick up some lysine, just haven't thought about it lately. Got a few sneezy kids that could benefit from that!

The coconut oil is interesting. Out of my gang, there's only one long haired kitty - Grayson's litter mate Ashley. Since I started giving everyone canned food every day or two, the spit ups seem to have decreased considerably. I also understand that hairball remedy has petroleum jelly in it... so I put a dab on Grayson's paw and he LOVES it! I think it also keeps his system lubricated. Could use some of that right now! He definitely wants to go, just not having much success. Poor guy!

Hopefully a better night for him... I'll be setting the alarms several times to check and possibly shoot. But if he keeps going like this, I may delay the shot and get closer to his regular schedule. I've gotten spoiled to NOT getting up at 3 am! Now that's shot time! ugh!!!

Thanks to all for stopping by! So many new faces when I pop in!!! So many extra sweet kitties! Good numbers to all!

Lu-Ann
 
Just gave him an enema :shock: ... so far just the liquid, but he's trying. Poor little guy!

The good news is he's having low numbers.... just gave me a 41 and 45 - no hypo signs, but gave him some of his favorite hi-carb food and he ate it. Ready with Karo, but haven't done it yet. Gonna see what the food does. He's NEVER EVER been this low - not even with the lower-reading meters I tested.

Way too much excitement for one day!!! Stay tuned!

If I can't get him up myself... we're at the ER vet. Hoping to see poop first, or I could have a mess in my car.
 
Congrats on the first sub 50! It's always exciting the first time. A couple tsp of HC gets Neko up about 20 points, but ECID.

Paws crossed the enema works soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top