Anyone switch cat from pred to budesonide?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura Nels

Member Since 2015
Has anyone had a cat on prednisolone who developed diabetes, so transitioned to budesonide?
If so did you taper the pred or just go cold turkey from pred to budesonide?
My cat Vivian with intestinal disease started 1 mg (.5 ml) budesonide today, in order to get off pred. Vet said there is no literature to suggest a taper of pred vs. just stopping it immediately, this makes me nervous.
Any experiences?
 
I have to check with Anne about the details but I think we switched Zener from budesonide to prednisolone near the end of his life. The pred seemed to work a little better for a while. I recall that it was the same dose of budesonide and prednisolone.
Liz
 
Marshmallow used to got Methylprednisolone injections, then when she became a sugar cat she went a little while without anything, then I put her on budesonide. But the vet was going to put her on prednisolone daily until I suggested budesonide. He did suggest tapering though. I know when I've taken prednisone for human health issues, they tell me to taper it.

Her dose of pred may not be high enough to warrant tapering, but I'd suggest doing a Google search for tapering her current pred dose and see what you come up with. It makes me nervous to stop pred cold turkey too.

I'm glad you finally got the budesonide! Hope it helps her. :cat:
 
You are supposed to taper when stopping prednesolone/prednisone. This is because when yo use pred the body stops producing its own pred and it take a little while for the body to start producing it when you stop it.
 
Yes I had already tried to get Vivian off pred earlier this summer by tapering from 5 mg daily to 2.5 daily, then 2.5 every other day - at that point she got very bad diarrhea again and had to go back on pred at full dose. But it's nearly impossible to find anything online about how to switch animals from pred to budesonide, that is why Vivian's primary vet and the internal med specialist said just go cold turkey, nothing to suggest doing otherwise. Do you really need to taper when you're replacing one steroid with another? That's the million dollar question. All I could find was a horrible story about a greyhound who died while taking both pred and budesonide. I just know that, since budes. works directly on the intestine that a) it will take a bit for it to reach the large intestine/colon where the trouble is and b) it might not be adequate for taking over where her adrenal system has not had to do the work for 5+ months now. Nervous. Also haven't given her insulin since she's at the end of a canister of syringes and lantus pen, and her BG is hovering in the 120's. Would like to keep her off it.
 
Also, it doesn't say anywhere whether to refrigerate the suspension - anyone know?
AND she HATES it!! This will be a struggle.
 
I do refrigerate the liquid budesonide. Is it flavored with anything? Mine is "triple fish flavor." If she absolutely hates it, you could switch to the pills.

Prednisolone, as Larry said, makes our kidneys lazy so they stop producing cortisol. If you taper off, it gives your kidneys a chance to start making their own cortisol without going cold turkey. I would taper off again the same way you did before. Yes, she may get diarrhea again, but if she were my cat, I wouldn't risk her kidneys by just stopping the pred. I don't think budesonide affects kidneys the same way pred does, so you're not just replacing the pred with another steroid since they act in different ways. Budesonide only targets the gut whereas pred is systemic and affects the whole body.

If she does get diarrhea again, you could try probiotics. I'm giving Marshmallow human-grade probiotics and they're supposed to help with her digestive system since she goes back and forth with diarrhea and constipation. Let me know if you want more info about the probiotics. They seem to help how she's feeling (her fur got super soft after starting the probiotics) but I don't have evidence yet of her digestive system being a lot better but I only just started giving them to her.
 
kidneys? I thought it was the adrenal glands that produce cortisol -
Anyway, my only concern with tapering pred is having too much steroid in her system, even though they are different steroids -
 
You're right, it is the adrenal glands that produce cortisol. They're right on top of the kidneys so I guess I just lumped them together. :)
 
I had just read the ask the vet article on transitioning from pred to budesonide - forwarded it to Vivian's vet.
The last thing this cat needs is steroid withdrawal on top of everything else.
thank you
Laura
 
Larry said it right...
prednisolone needs to be tapered down.... it should not be stopped cold turkey.

Mine had ibd/lymphoma and suddenly had severe diarrhea, so bad she got hemorrhoids.
We started Budesonide.
Metradiazole ... clay ....
vet didn't tell me it would take a week or two for the diarrhea to stop... but it did slow down.

We started with budesonide, it raised her bg a bit. Then we decided to try Gengraf from an IM vet recommendation.
Gengraf is a modified cyclosporin but they have learned that it has anti-inflammatory properties.
We were giving both budesonide every day and prednisolone every other day until starting the Gengraf.
Then we dropped the budesonide.
After 60 days of the Gengraf, I couldn't tell if it was helping or not so we decided to increase bude and switched back to it.
And stopped the Gengraf.

in hindsight, I wish I had gone back to the Gengraf. It did not raise bg at all.
And mine started feeling worse after I took it away. I've had a lot of time to review and think of things I wish I had tried.
 
I tend to agree with you and Larry that Pred needs to be tapered, EVEN if it is being replaced with another steroid, in this case Budes. My concern is that both steroids in Vivian's system at the same time would be overload, as there is no evidence-based literature on this topic that either I or the vets can find. Vet sent me a Plumb's drug fact sheet on budesonide stating that it is a very potent glucocorticoid, 15X more powerful than prednisolone. yikes
Interesting that you had your cat on budes. every day and pred. every other day, and the cat handled both ok? Do you remember dosages?
I actually give cyclosporine to my cat Willis who has chronic rhinitis/sinusitis and it works well, but he has to be on a rather large dose that not all cats could handle, as it has a tendency to cause GI upset - which Vivian already has. In what form did you give budesonide: suspension, tab, capsule? I appreciate responses, clearly some of them stir up painful memories if the cat is deceased. Those of us who have shared our lives with many cats at some point unfortunately have time after the fact to think of the things we wish we had done for at least one of them. Mine was a CRF girl named Nina who died last year. I am trying very hard not to make decisions regarding Vivian's care that I'll regret. Gave budes. yesterday, did not give pred last night, too nervous about steroid overload. Haven't seen her yet this a.m. Please know that I am using this valuable info. to have a conversation with Vivian's vet about whether to taper or cold turkey pred. She said in a previous email that she and the internal med specialist oppose a taper and promote cold turkey now that she's on budes. because "we know she gets worse (diarrhea) on tapering the pred. This way we'll know if it worsens it's just that the budesonide isn't working." This reasoning makes no sense to me, it doesn't address adrenal withdrawal. I have suggested this as gently as I could and am waiting to hear back from her.
thank you
Laura
 
Shadows' meds and doses
Budesonide 1 mg 1 x day - pill
Cerenia 5mg every other day ( liquid oral ) or as needed - she wasn't vomiting
Clay 1/8 tsp 2x a day ( i put it in capsule)
ondansetron up to 2x a day -pill
cyproheptadine up to 2x a day-pill
metronidazole 75 mg 2x a day-pill
B-12 shots - once a week, can up to 2x
prednisolone - 5mg tablet -pill
gengraf -25mg capsule ( had liquid inside it)


budesonide is the drug of choice for IBD.... usually coupled with metronidazole.
Gengraf is newer and the internist wanted that for Shadow because it didn't raise bg

prednisolone is the choice for lymphoma's and other systemic allergic reactions

Having both meds did not seem to be too much.
I just couldn't get her to eat foods that could help.
She didn't like raw and preferred her old food, friskies shreds with gravies....
She had to eat.
 
Thank you Rhiannon
I am sorry for your loss of Shadow
She was quite a beauty!
Reminds me a little of one of my previous cats Miss Cleo, a Norwegian Forest (type) cat, they both had a regal presence
I still haven't heard from Vivian's vet, but I am going to give her Budesonide now - did I mention it's a disgusting liquid and she hates it? -
and half her normal dose of pred - 2.5 mg - later unless I hear from the vet one way or the other.
thanks
Laura
 
Two days later, I have finally heard from the primary vet concerning weaning Vivian from pred while transitioning to budesonide.
"Budesonide is a replacement for the pred, you're just switching from one steroid to another. If you taper then you're
risking an overdose. Dr. Rondeau (internal med specialist) seemed to think this would be ok."
So there you go - if I don't wean her from pred, according to folks here and on other sites, she could go into withdrawal and get very sick. If I do wean her from pred, according to her vets, she could overdose on steroids. Rock and a hard place kind of thing. Thought I had posted this yesterday, but apparently forgot to hit the post button. I went with Vivians' vets instructions, after I did give her 2.5 pred the night before the vet got back to me, and haven't given Vivian any pred since Friday, perhaps against better judgment but the old "advice on this forum doesn't replace the veterinarian's instructions"...or whatever. She seems ok, eating fine, happy, reasonably active, poops not great but that's nothing new and may take med a while to kick in. She also has not had insulin in 4 days and just tested at 85 BG, so that's something. I had just decided I was going to stop giving her insulin - her numbers have been pretty low and she's only been getting baby hits of lantus, if any - and see what happened. She went as high as 134 and it looked like she might continue to trend upward but she's down today. Could be a good sign!
About liquid budesonide - turns out it's not the taste Vivian hates, it's having it squirted in her mouth. If I squirt it on my finger she'll lick it right off and it's much less traumatic for her, so we're going with it!
thank you
Laura
 
Go with your gut, Laura. I fully admit to not having a vet's training. :) (I'm not arguing with your vet but I don't understand how tapering down could cause an overdose.) Anyway, that's great news that her BG has stayed low and that you found a way to get the Bude into her. Marshmallow was fine with the liquid but I finished that and got pills for the refill because they were cheaper, and she HATES getting pills. Half the time I can't get the pill into her and I open the capsule and put the powder in a syringe. :rolleyes: Oh these fussy funny lovely kitties with their quirks!!

Let us know how she feels once she's used to the Budesonide!
 
According to the vet, tapering pred as opposed to stopping it cold turkey, while Vivian is ALSO taking Budesonide is doubling up on steroids and she doesn't need it, shouldn't have it. It would have been okay to taper her from pred for a few weeks and then start Budesonide, but then she was 100% certain to relapse into serious diarrhea, been there already this summer. I made my case for starting one and tapering the other simultaneously, I made my case twice. Both times she said don't do it. Budesonide pills cheaper? At the compounding pharmacy I used in New Hampshire the pills were almost double the cost of liquid, b/c I wanted the pills and may switch after this round of liquid if the drug is effective - not sure yet. I find the smell of the liquid repulsive, doubly bad b/c I'm putting it on my finger now and it's oil based and I have a hard time washing it away.
Ha, ya but you know, anything for Vivian!
 
Oh I see. I thought you were tapering pred and THEN going to start bude after you were done tapering. I don't think I realized you meant taper one while starting the other. Got it now!

I got liquid bude from a local compounding pharmacy (triple fish flavor!) and one month of it was $50. I ordered a 3-month supply from ThrivingPet.com for the same cost. Now that I think about it though, they may also have it in liquid form so if I get no joy with these pills, I'll see if I can get liquid from them next time.
 
The tapering is only about 3-5 days. Since yo have the liquid you can give an increasing dose of budesonide at you are tapering the pred. That way the total steroid dose wil not be increased.
 
I just found this thread today and signed up for the site. My question/concerns are basically the same as what's in this thread, but not sure if I should've started a new one??

Anyway, my sweet baby girl, Callie (aka, Coco Bean), is 13.5 yo, has been on prednisolone since Feb 2015 for (unconfirmed --ultrasound only) IBD and/or lymphoma. Just got the diagnosis of diabetes and high blood pressure two weeks ago. Also, she went blind almost overnight a couple weeks ago. :_-( . The date of this diagnosis, the vet and I miscommunicated -- but he had wanted me to start the budesonide as soon as I started to taper off of the Pred -- I thought I was supposed to wait till she was off the pred -- so I have not started the budesinide yet.

I picked up the prescription last night but I'm just really concerned about starting it. She was originally put on pred for vomiting. I didn't have an issue with diarrhea until October 2015. I started her on some montrollimite clay and Feline Comfort (great powder supplement from vitality science with probiotics and more). After 10 weeks of bad diarrhea, it was resolved as of Christmas Day. I did not keep up with the clay, but I kept up with the feline comfort, believing that is what made the difference.

Sorry if this is kind along into much detail, but the bottom line is I'm seeking any opinions/insight about starting her on the budesonide. I can't seem to understand if she is essentially symptom-free on the vomiting and diarrhea end, why I would want to get her on a steroid again. The vet's response is that as soon as she's off the pred, the diarrhea is going to come back. I never felt the pred made a difference for the diarrhea to begin with, and said so as much to him. I also asked that if the budesonide is considered safer for cats, why that wasn't that the first one prescribed instead of pred (he was not the vet that put her on the pred, so I felt safe asking!).

I thought we were at the understanding that I could wait on the budesinide to see if the diarrhea returned – but when I had to bring her in for a follow up a couple days ago, he really pushed the point home of getting her started on it. I said I would, but I'm just so hesitant. I never loved her being on the pred -- and sure enough, dealing with diabetes now as fall out.

As of the past 24 hours, I don't know that she's doing that well (I have a message in to the vet) -- I think it's blood sugar related. As of last night, she seemed weak and started to stagger. I assumed possible hypoglycemia and decided to skip her insulin last night. My heart is breaking. :_-( Didn't have kids in this lifetime -- so my fur babies really mean the world to me.

Again, sorry this got so long. Thanks so much for reading. Any comments or insight is greatly appreciated!
 
Hi Stina,
Welcome to the best place you never wanted to be. I'm so sorry your kitty is having so many things at once. The budesonide is a newer med so I think most vets still reach for pred first. Budesonide helped my kitty with general IBD discomfort. I think if you don't treat IBD with a steroid, it can turn into lymphoma. And if she does already have lymphoma, it can slow it down. Budesonide doesn't (typically) raise blood sugar levels the way pred does. Pred affects the cat's whole system but budesonide only works in the gut, which is why it's better for blood sugar levels.

Which insulin are you using, and what's the dose? Are you home testing her blood glucose (BG) levels? Good call on skipping her insulin last night. Did you give her any this morning? You may need to reduce her dose of insulin but you won't know until you check her blood sugar. Many people on this site use the Relion glucose meter from Walmart or the Up & Up meter from Target. Are either of those stores near you? Can you go get a meter today? We can help you learn how to test her BG and then help you figure out the insulin dose.

Since your kitty has steroid-induced diabetes, there is a chance it might go away.

As soon as you can get a glucose meter, please start a new message asking for help learning to test. Then people can guide you on testing her ear for BG levels, and help you figure out the right insulin dose.

Hang in there and please post any and all questions. We were all new here once. :) :bighug:

Shane
 
Hello, Shane!

Thank you very much for your reply, I really appreciate it! You wouldn't believe what I went through today to try to get her blood glucose checked. It was all simply surreal. A friend had lended me a monitor that she used for her cat's diabetes. I had already gotten a battery for it, I just need to get test strips. Go to my vehicle, it won't start.

It was getting dark and past the time where I should've given her her next dose of insulin; neighbors weren't home, so hopped on my bike and cycled to CVS. Was told the test strips for that particular unit were $170!! I almost fell over! Long story a little shorter, I ended up buying a brand-new monitor and test strips there for under $30!

Then, over a period of the next seven hours – yes, seven -- ensued me watching multiple YouTube videos for how others have checked their kiddie's BG levels via the year. I experimented on myself six times to get comfortable with two different Lancette injectors I had, the right depth setting, etc. Then I prayed hard! I was born without my left hand and have figured out pretty much everything I need to do in life. I was pretty challenged by first giving Callie a B 12 injection about six weeks ago. I had a neighbor who I asked over to do it every other week, but then she just started to bail on me, so I had to find a way and I did. Then, with the diagnosis of diabetes, I thought this can't be happening, how am I to do an injection twice today?? But again, I figured it out and got pretty comfortable with it. So, I figured this will also be uncomfortable in the beginning, but that I could step up and, as they say down here in the south, "git 'r done," LOL!

Sadly, it is almost 3 AM and I have no blood glucose reading. About four hours ago, after not getting anywhere and feeling like poor Callie's ears would become pin cushions, I texted a friend who promptly came over. This friend is the founder/executive director of a local wildlife rehab (and the same one who lended me the monitor/used to have a diabetic cat). I have to use the word "surreal" again, because she was here for an hour and a half or so, and we tried three different times, with Callie getting her ears pricked probably 8 to 10 times total. My friend succeeded at getting one itty-bitty speck of blood that was not enough for the strip.

You probably didn't want all these details, but it is been one heckuva day. I had spoken to the vet earlier in the night; he's expecting to hear BG readings in the morning. I start a new job tomorrow and still don't know how I'm going to get there. I don't know what to say about my babie's ears. Other than the fact that they have VERY tiny veins and seemingly very few and even tinier capillaries. I did a number of things that I saw on the videos, to include warming her ears, pressing different ways, using a 25 gauge needle instead of the 30 GEN 30 3G lancets. When my vet's office gave me the little training demo a couple days ago, they use a 25 gauge needle on it's own exclusively. I just don't see how I can do that one-handed, when it's so key to hold the ear/skin tight. I did attempt it -- was another fail. Which is why I'm trying so hard to make the Lancet ejectors work. Sigh.

Oh -- your other questions: Her insulin is Lantus, one unit/2x/day. Which she now hasn't had in 36 hours. She is acting normally again. Sort of. But at least not weak and staggering like 24 hours ago. BTW -- that's her in my profile pic. I think I forgot to mention that she also has THOARMS -- tongue hanging out at random moments syndrome.

Again, my apologies for length -- voice recognition software -- one man's blessing, another's curse, lol. Tomorrow is a new day. I've got to go to bed now -- beyond exhausted, overwhelmed, etc. Did I mention yet my sweet 14-yr-old boy, Theo, a gray and white rag doll mix, is 3-4th stage renal failure? These two are my heart and soul -- and I can't believe what I'm facing with both at once . . .
 
Sorry for your troubles and for you cat's health problems. It was a surprise to see this post show up in my email, as I have not been active on this site for some months. I don't know how, but first and foremost, as you know, you have got to get a BG reading since it would appear the one unit x 2 per day put your cat into hypoglycemia - potentially very dangerous. Lantus is very powerful, and the dose you describe put my cat Vivian at a BG as low as 30 which was way to low. Before you move forward with insulin, as you and your vet know, you must find a way to test this cat's blood. Best wishes with that. It was very hard for me and another person at first, took forever, stressed the cat, she fought it, we failed...eventually I could do it on my own and she barely moved, but I had two hands to work with -
As for the steroid, I suspect the reason your vet wants to continue is because it is a very basic form of cancer treatment, and if it's "only" IBD the steroid may be keeping inflammation down. If you stop pred, as I did, and inflammation and symptoms return, the cat can become resistant to it the second time around, such as happened with my Vivian. I didn't have a good experience with budesonide, but I think this will differ on a cat by cat basis and you won't know until you try. For instance, my cat's problems were in her large intestine/colon and budesonide was not effective b/c it probably didn't stay intact all the way through the digestive system to still be effective by the time it reached the large intestine. It didn't address inflammation, symptoms got worse, and it also didn't lower her BG. Diet change did that, I drastically reduced her carb intake, to the extent I was eventually able to get her off insulin even while she was back on pred.
I'm sad to say Vivian's story doesn't have a happy end. As mentioned, by the time I put her back on pred - after a month or so I think of ineffective budesonide - her symptoms of cramping and diarrhea had gotten pretty bad again, and pred no longer helped. She held her own for a few months longer but died December 14 presumably of a cascade of complications from her intestinal disease. My only remaining alternative was to try blood transfusions, imaging to locate internal bleeding and surgery if possible. I couldn't put her through anymore. She was suffering, her quality of life ahd vanished. Very tough decision with which I still struggle. She had biopsied negative for cancer last Feb., but ultrasound showed significant thickening and loss of layering in her large intestine. We do our best for our cat friends, I tried everything I could possibly think of, the budesonide was my idea, not the vet's who hadn't even heard of it. She warned me what might happen, but I was really focused on lowering Vivian's BG and getting her off the insulin. By the time I accepted she just needed to be on pred and I could treat diabetes it was too late.
She also had not responded well to Leukeran, another chemo drug used to treat both lymphoma and IBD, which I tried before a budesonide as a potential alternative to pred. Her best buddy Willis had fought nasal disease for two years and predeceased her on November 3. This was a huge stressor for Vivian, a crushing blow to both of us.
Anyway, get yourself a BG testing system first and foremost. Lantus can be dangerous. Since you don't know if you're dealing with IBD or lymphoma it may not be a bad idea to keep your cat on a steroid. Budesonide has apparently helped other cats in this situation. Leukeran - chlorambucil is the cheaper generic - can also help. Also keep in mind quality of life.
Best wishes..
 
Budesonide has not been shown to be effective for lymphoma but does help IBD. Since yo have the budesonide I would try it and see what happens. I suspect the does in 1 mg once daily. Later you can try stopping it
 
Hello Stina,

I've just read your posts and I'm sorry to hear about both your kitties' health problems. My little ones are my babies, too (no human kids) so I understand how very dear they are to you.

I don't know anything about steroids so can't help there, but I do have a suggestion about blood glucose testing. Some people get samples from a kitty's paw pads. Do you think that might be easier for you? Let me know and I'll see if we can find some members who paw test to give you some tips.

I'd also like to send you a :bighug:.


Mogs
.
 
Sorry for your troubles and for you cat's health problems. It was a surprise to see this post show up in my email, as I have not been active on this site for some months. I don't know how, but first and foremost, as you know, you have got to get a BG reading since it would appear the one unit x 2 per day put your cat into hypoglycemia - potentially very dangerous. Lantus is very powerful, and the dose you describe put my cat Vivian at a BG as low as 30 which was way to low. Before you move forward with insulin, as you and your vet know, you must find a way to test this cat's blood. Best wishes with that. It was very hard for me and another person at first, took forever, stressed the cat, she fought it, we failed...eventually I could do it on my own and she barely moved, but I had two hands to work with -
As for the steroid, I suspect the reason your vet wants to continue is because it is a very basic form of cancer treatment, and if it's "only" IBD the steroid may be keeping inflammation down. If you stop pred, as I did, and inflammation and symptoms return, the cat can become resistant to it the second time around, such as happened with my Vivian. I didn't have a good experience with budesonide, but I think this will differ on a cat by cat basis and you won't know until you try. For instance, my cat's problems were in her large intestine/colon and budesonide was not effective b/c it probably didn't stay intact all the way through the digestive system to still be effective by the time it reached the large intestine. It didn't address inflammation, symptoms got worse, and it also didn't lower her BG. Diet change did that, I drastically reduced her carb intake, to the extent I was eventually able to get her off insulin even while she was back on pred.
I'm sad to say Vivian's story doesn't have a happy end. As mentioned, by the time I put her back on pred - after a month or so I think of ineffective budesonide - her symptoms of cramping and diarrhea had gotten pretty bad again, and pred no longer helped. She held her own for a few months longer but died December 14 presumably of a cascade of complications from her intestinal disease. My only remaining alternative was to try blood transfusions, imaging to locate internal bleeding and surgery if possible. I couldn't put her through anymore. She was suffering, her quality of life ahd vanished. Very tough decision with which I still struggle. She had biopsied negative for cancer last Feb., but ultrasound showed significant thickening and loss of layering in her large intestine. We do our best for our cat friends, I tried everything I could possibly think of, the budesonide was my idea, not the vet's who hadn't even heard of it. She warned me what might happen, but I was really focused on lowering Vivian's BG and getting her off the insulin. By the time I accepted she just needed to be on pred and I could treat diabetes it was too late.
She also had not responded well to Leukeran, another chemo drug used to treat both lymphoma and IBD, which I tried before a budesonide as a potential alternative to pred. Her best buddy Willis had fought nasal disease for two years and predeceased her on November 3. This was a huge stressor for Vivian, a crushing blow to both of us.
Anyway, get yourself a BG testing system first and foremost. Lantus can be dangerous. Since you don't know if you're dealing with IBD or lymphoma it may not be a bad idea to keep your cat on a steroid. Budesonide has apparently helped other cats in this situation. Leukeran - chlorambucil is the cheaper generic - can also help. Also keep in mind quality of life.
Best wishes..

Dear Laura,

Oh, I am so very sorry to hear what you have gone through . . . including the loss of little Vivian and Willis . . . Was this just last month/dec 2015?? My heart hurts for you . . . . . .

It sounds like you are an excellent kitty mama and always made the very best decision at the time with the information you had at that time. That is such a key for us all to understand. Of course we can see things differently when we look back -- but that has almost no value (only for applying to future decisions), because we can only act on the information we have at any given time. I totally understand that type of handwringing -- unfortunately I'm very good at doing that, second-guessing, etc. I have pretty much had to make what I just said a mantra to myself! I was a grief counselor with hospice for a while and I remember in one of our training sessions our instructor saying this: "Would've, could've, should've -- everyone plays that game and no one wins."

I, too, would've made that same decision to not put her through the transfusions, etc. I will do whatever I can for Callie and Theo, certainly to have as much time with them as possible – but never at the expense of THEIR well-being. I love them too much. When I took them in to the vet a few days ago, on the way home, I told them we're not going to keep doing that (going to the vet) -- that things going forward is going to be about ensuring their quality of life from every possible angle -- which means removing the stressor of vet runs, unless absolutely necessary for it to benefit THEM.

I feel like I have had a great deal of loss in life and I've had to make the call on so many souls I have loved dearly, including my own folks. And every once in a while, I still struggle and look back, wondering "what if" . . . Eventually, I catch myself (again), remind myself how toxic that really is, pray, and move on . . . until the next trigger down the road. Sigh. Somehow, all of these experiences have not seemed to help me deal (better) with the prospect of upcoming losses. You would think repeated exposure would help take off some type of "edge" off, if you will. Maybe on my end, it's some type of learning disability, because my anxiety has been through the roof! For someone with faith, I dishearten myself at times for my lack of peace. . . . Apparently that is just part of being human and for those of us with profound ability to care and love deeply, eh? :)

The vet had recommended chlorambucil for a little while, and I was really fighting it. Fortunately, the diarrhea resolved, getting me off the hook. I am never really a big fan of chemo, of a drug that destroys healthy tissues and affects other systems, supposedly while it helps "repair" another system. Heck, it's why am dealing with the diabetes now, because of the pred. Anyway, that's why with her not having vomiting or diarrhea right now, I'm just having a hard time buying into starting her on the budesonide. Especially while she's still receiving the pred . . .

My friend came over again this afternoon before leaving out of town, failed with a lancet again, and I convinced her to try the 25 gauge needle, as my vets office had shown me. I, too, didn't love the idea, because of it being a larger needle. But that's what finally did the trick to get a tiny droplet of blood. Maybe Callie's veins and capillaries are just so tiny, or blood pressure is low, or she wasn't hydrated enough, who knows -- for why a lancet isn't enough for her. I'm the one that needs to learn a way to test her blood a couple times a day, but my friend and I agreed at this point we just had to get a number, so I just let my friend do it. But I need to try again on my own later tonight. Her count was 250, so I went with the one unit of insulin.

Trying so hard to keep the fear at bay . . . I suspect you and others here know what I mean by that . . .

Thanks so much for writing, Laura, I really appreciate it! I will say a prayer for you, for true peace and healing. I pray that the memories and understanding of all the love and care you provided and received from Vivian and Willis warms your heart and soul, with immeasurable peace. (((HUGS))))
 
Budesonide has not been shown to be effective for lymphoma but does help IBD. Since yo have the budesonide I would try it and see what happens. I suspect the does in 1 mg once daily. Later you can try stopping it

Dear Larry and Kitties,

Thank you very much for your reply and perspective -- tis greatly appreciated!!

Best wishes to you and your fur "kiddies!"

Christina
 
Hello Stina,

I've just read your posts and I'm sorry to hear about both your kitties' health problems. My little ones are my babies, too (no human kids) so I understand how very dear they are to you.

I don't know anything about steroids so can't help there, but I do have a suggestion about blood glucose testing. Some people get samples from a kitty's paw pads. Do you think that might be easier for you? Let me know and I'll see if we can find some members who paw test to give you some tips.

I'd also like to send you a :bighug:.


Mogs
.


Dear Mogs/Fellow Critter Mom,

Thank you so much for answering, understanding, and the hug!! I really need those these days! ☺️

I did notice that there were some videos on YouTube, for people doing draws from cats toe pads. I didn't watch the videos yet, but I definitely will look into it. My first concern is that of bacteria. I'm sure the chances would be slim -- just thinking of a potential opening, I'm stepping into the litter box, etc. I will check into things, because I have to find some way of making this work, come hell or high water! I may be "weakened" by grief and anxiety at times, but one thing I have going for me is tenacity! One of my favorite expressions is "failure is the path of least persistence." :-)

Again, thank you so much for writing me and for the hugs! Is nice to hear from someone else who really gets the "these ARE my kids thing," Lol!

(((HUGS))) back to you!

Christina and Callie, Theo, Finn, Lizzy and Angel
 
@Stina, Callie is a cutie!

I would recommend posting a new thread in the Lantus forum (http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/). People there can help guide you on using Lantus as well as help you set up a spreadsheet and that will help you keep track of Callie's BG numbers. I only used insulin for a short time because my kitty also had steroid-induced diabetes and that resolved fairly quickly. I can give you support but not as much wisdom as the others who have been using insulin for longer. :)

Good work on getting a drop of blood from her, even if it did take all night and two people! I used to put a thin layer of Neosporin (the clear ointment, not the white cream) on my cat's ear before poking her with the lancet. That helps the blood bead up. Otherwise the blood spreads out into the fur, which makes things harder. Their ears "learn" to bleed more easily the more frequently they get poked. I would put the lancet in the lancing device and then poke her ear, meaning I wouldn't use the button on the lancing device. But putting the lancet in the device helped me for some reason. But the thing that helped me the most was the Neosporin and warming her ear. Some people use Vaseline which also works well, but I liked the Neosporin with pain relief in case I was poking her too much and causing pain.

I hope the first day at the new job went well. Hang in there! This all does get easier. Eventually the kitties get used to being poked and injected, and it sounds like you're persistent and determined so I know you'll get a routine down soon. :):bighug::):bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top