911 Anyone know about possible Allergic Reactions to Lantus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bill

Member Since 2016
Has anyone ever known Lantus to cause a cats throat to increasingly become more difficult to swallow? My cat has been on Lantus since around March. Since then his throat seems to becoming more and more swollen. When my cat eats or drinks now he is making a loud gulping sound that sounds like his throat is swollen and he is starting to eat less. Also, when he tries to meow no sound comes out anymore. I have some video clips I am going to try and add.
 
If it were a serious allergy it should have shown up right from the start. I would wonder if perhaps there was some sort of inflammation or a polyp that was causing swallowing problems. Also if there are dental issues, eating and drinking can become more painful and difficult. My thoughts are that you should have your vet do a check up.
 
I don't really have a reliable vet at this point, kitty has bad experience with vets in past. The original vet I took him to for diabetes diagnosis is too far of drive for kitty. The second vet that is only a 1.5 miles down the street was a scary visit and not sure I want to bring him back there. In fact, it's possible his last vet experience is the cause of this if it's not Lantus. Although, Lantus does say possible allergic side effects, include swelling of the mouth and throat. I took my cat to him simply to get a Lantus renewal. He noticed my cat had a tarter/plaque buildup on one of his teeth. Before I could react he grabbed pliers, crunch the tooth and yanked it out in two quick parts. My jaw nearly dropped to floor. He said it had to be done and didn't even really get a good look at the extraction afterword. I wondered if he had even done the extraction correctly. My cat was in pain for a few days and didn't eat but then he started eating again and seemed as if he was healing. That was on June 14. Now over the last few weeks his throat seems to be getting worse as he has been eating good until the this week. The last day and half his eating is very concerning and throat sounds are pretty loud. I even skipped his shot because he didn't eat much. I test him and his BG was 133 pre-shot so I let it go.
 
Before I could react he grabbed pliers, crunch the tooth and yanked it out in two quick parts. My jaw nearly dropped to floor. He said it had to be done and didn't even really get a good look at the extraction afterword. I wondered if he had even done the extraction correctly.


:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: I AM IN SHOCK!!!!!! TOTAL AND COMPLETE SHOCK!!!!!!


I would DEFINITELY report this vet to the veterinarian association. First off....an extraction is never done without sedation and only after proper examination and x-rays. As well, you gave no permission for this and you should get back every penny you paid.

It is very possible that the barbaric extraction has caused damage below the gums, that could be some/all the cause of the swallowing problems. If there is any way to get your kitty to the original vet (if you are comfortable with them) then please do that. If it were me I would definitely file a complaint and it the "extraction" the other vet did is the cause of these problems, he should be made to pay for any treatments to correct it.

I am just dumbfounded!!!
 
yeah, I thought it was very barbaric and not proper. He even yelled at me for my reaction and said it had to be done. It was very upsetting to experience especially when my cat was already having eating issues. I am really upset and Don't know what to do. I don't trust any vets near me and my cat nearly ripped his own claws out just driving him a mile to that place. His paws were bloody. It's a big deal to put him in the car anymore, even for 5 min. The other vet is 40 min drive and while seemed much better and compassionate, also seemed too busy with too many patients.
 
Mary Ann took the words right out of my mouth. That vet should lose his license and be jailed for animal abuse/cruelty.

Are there any travelling vets in your area that make house calls? Another option is to call the vet that is far away and explain the circumstances - maybe they can offer a light sedative (nothing too heavy) so that your kitty will be calmer for the ride. Where are you located? There may be other members in your area who can recommend a vet.

I wish there was more we could do, but we are sending tons of prayers to you are your sweet kitty. Please do keep us posted.
 
Are there any travelling vets in your area that make house calls? Another option is to call the vet that is far away and explain the circumstances - maybe they can offer a light sedative (nothing too heavy) so that your kitty will be calmer for the ride


These are great suggestions.
 
He even yelled at me for my reaction and said it had to be done.

Perhaps someone should offer to do an extraction ON HIM the way he did on your poor kitty. I am in Canada and if there is a problem with a vet or their treatment I can contact my local provincial Veterinarian Association, which all vets here belong to. A complaint would be filed and then investigated.

This is the contact page for the Ohio Veterinary Association:

http://ohiovma.org/home/contact.php

I would certainly put in a complaint and see where it goes from there.
 
Last edited:
I think that crazy vet was the only one that takes house calls around here and I am two for 3 on VERY BAD expericens with vets. I mean that extraction happened to so fast I couldn't even react. I would have NOT allowed him to do it in the setting we were in. I am located in Vermilion, Ohio. Also, not sure about the sedatives either, giving him anything by mouth is impossible, especially now. Not to mention, when he was around 3 or 4 we took him to recommended vet were we used to live in to get a lion cut. They gave him so much anthesthesia he didn't wake up for long time. They made us wait to pick him up for a few addition hours. Then when we got him home he was messed up for almost a month and had an irregular heartbeat when he took him back the next day. Vets give me anxiety. It took me so many years to get the courage to take him back to the vet and then I have another crazy experience where people are telling me to have to vets license taken away. That is the experiences I have with this stuff. I care way too much about my cat to let that happen again. I can't believe that happened when I only wanted to get a Lantus prescription renewal.
 
Ugh, you've had a rough time. I'd dig around a bit more...maybe you can find another vet who makes house calls. Can you ask friends and neighbors who they use? Unfortunately it is impossible for us to say/know whether or not the Lantus is causing the swallowing issue.....
 
I think that crazy vet was the only one that takes house calls around here and I am two for 3 on VERY BAD expericens with vets. I mean that extraction happened to so fast I couldn't even react. I would have NOT allowed him to do it in the setting we were in. I am located in Vermilion, Ohio. Also, not sure about the sedatives either, giving him anything by mouth is impossible, especially now. Not to mention, when he was around 3 or 4 we took him to recommended vet were we used to live in to get a lion cut. They gave him so much anthesthesia he didn't wake up for long time. They made us wait to pick him up for a few addition hours. Then when we got him home he was messed up for almost a month and had an irregular heartbeat when he took him back the next day. Vets give me anxiety. It took me so many years to get the courage to take him back to the vet and then I have another crazy experience where people are telling me to have to vets license taken away. That is the experiences I have with this stuff. I care way too much about my cat to let that happen again. I can't believe that happened when I only wanted to get a Lantus prescription renewal.


I will put up a separate post to see if any members in your area know of a reputable vet.

A sedative can also be given by injection, much in the same way an insulin shot would be given. Even a pain relief such as buprenorphine can be used as a mild sedative, which will not zonk out a kitty as much.

Hopefully someone will reply back here with the name of a good vet you can contact. I am so sorry you and your kitty have had to go through such awful times with vets. :bighug: :bighug:


ETA I have done a separate post asking for names of vets in your area and asked that any replies be posted here on this thread.
 
I'm so sorry you had to deal with that. I'm totally shocked too.

They do sell Rescue Remedy, which is a liquid you can put on your cats food or their paws for them to lick off. It is supposed to help calm them for something like a car ride. You could try it at home first and see if it helps.
 
Also if you wouldn't mind could you post the name of the vet and clinic that did the "extraction" so that people are aware of who to avoid.
 
Hi Bill
My cat vet practice prescribes gabapentin for vet visits and travel - it's a human drug for treating neuropathic pain (also used for chronic kitty pain)
it comes in 100 mgm capsules and the instructions are to give 50-75 mgs (so 1/2 to 3/4 of the capsule 2-3 hours before the visit or travel. It makes them a little sleepy but doesn't knock them out. I regularly drive 2 - 2.5 hours with Murphy weekly and he does just fine in the car with this - he is alert with not all hyper (I don't know how he would do without it - so it may or may not make a difference) just a thought
 
Thanks for all the input and help here. I greatly appreciate it.

Sedatives and Meds:
I think I would prefer doing a shot over pills or liquids by mouth if possible. I've never been able to get anything in my cats mouth by force especially now with him having swallowing and mouth problems.

Tuxedo Mom:
I don't know his name off the top of my head. I will have to post it later.
 
I've had bad experiences with vets too, and am very paranoid. I agree you should try calling the nice vet and ask about getting a sedative, and schedule an early morning appointment. If you can be the first one in, your cat won't have to sit and wait and there should be less commotion in the clinic than later in the day.
When the tooth was ripped out it probably tore the tissue, also the root of the tooth may still be in the gum. There could be an infection, or who knows what. That is just a horrible thing to have happen to your cat.
Allergies don't necessarily develop immediately, so it could just now be an allergy to the Lantus.
Whatever it is, your kitty needs to see a vet.
 
I am also sitting here outraged and in total shock at the medieval, barbaric and brutal tooth extraction that was done to your cat...God help any other animals he "treats".

I also use the Bachs Rescue remedy mentioned above for Gus. It relieves stress enough for travel but does not work on all cats, each is different, they are cats!
I put a drop on the outside of each ear and lightly rub it in enough to not roll off. Some fancy food stores carry it, some major pet stores as well
I buy it on Amazon.com

Hoping you are able to find a vet nearby who can help with Kitty..
Again I am so horrified...and so very sorry....you had to be so traumatized yourself!:bighug: Not surprised Kitty wants nothing to do with a trip to the vet in the car again, poor thing probably is suffering from PTSD:bighug:

Every state is different in what you can do to file a complaint etc..I'm hoping Ohio values animals enough that there is recourse for you..if not I would spread the word of what he did and how he did it as wide and loud as I can using the Internet review sites for your area as well, Yelp is one.

Hugs
 
I'm outraged as well. I hope someone gives you a referral to a good vet because after what has happened you need one. My Max has become a noisy eater in the last year and sometimes sounds like your video. Nothing has been determined wrong, anti jinx.
 
I'm just sick after reading this. Your poor, beautiful Gus! And poor you! I've never had a situation that bad but it's amazing how quickly someone can move and you're left in disbelief. I hope you find a vet that will take care of him the way he deserves.

As for the throat sounds, chiming in that my Tasha also makes them when eating/drinking. She doesn't have any issues with swalling or appetite though and the vet wasn't concerned. But after the extraction and the behaviors he's exhibiting, I'd want him checked out to be sure.
 
I'm speechless. I have seen it done that way on humans though. Couldn't believe it.

Definitely report him. I would not have paid.
 
yeah, I thought it was very barbaric and not proper. He even yelled at me for my reaction and said it had to be done. It was very upsetting to experience especially when my cat was already having eating issues. I am really upset and Don't know what to do. I don't trust any vets near me and my cat nearly ripped his own claws out just driving him a mile to that place. His paws were bloody. It's a big deal to put him in the car anymore, even for 5 min. The other vet is 40 min drive and while seemed much better and compassionate, also seemed too busy with too many patients.

Yes, report him. And NO, do not go to him.
You posted this as a 911, which usually means your cat has an immediate need for treatment. I see that you are only 13 miles from an emergency treatment center, which is good to know. Also, you're in an area with quite a few vets that are pretty close by.

I don't know about specialists in diabetes, though. Perhaps someone else here will know that.

OSU's veterinary school has one of the best small animal clinics. It is in Columbus Ohio. That means that a large number of well trained vets have probably set up practice in OH. Nice. Hoping you get your kitty to a vet soon.
 
Last edited:
It may be worth it to contact the vet school at OSU and see if they can recommend someone in your area. There is a vet who specialized in feline stress -- Tony Buffington, DVM. that I would suggest contacting. I'm going to send you a private message (look for a notice in your Inbox -- upper right corner of the board) with his contact information.
 
Last edited:
I looked up veterinary dentist in vermilion, OH and got this.

I think you could call around. Ask to speak to the vet or even go in without your cat first. They should be willing to work with you
and give you a consultation. They could call you back after hours. You have video. You can show it to them. Tell them your concerns.
That way you also get to listen to whether or not they are impatient, abrupt, or would actually address your concerns.
Not all of the vets are bad. You just haven't found one that will work with you yet.
It sounds like you need to do this all asap....
He may have bone/tooth fragments that have migrated lower into his throat. I've heard of such things happening.
My husband had a stitch inside his body that became encapsulated and it took 30 years for it to migrate to the surface.





Home
» OH » Vermilion OH » Animal Welfare
Veterinary Dentist Vermilion OH
Local resource for veterinary dentistry in Vermilion, OH. Includes detailed information on local veterinarians who provide veterinary dental services and treatment for conditions such as gingivitis, periodontal disease, fractured teeth, feline tooth resorption, canine tooth resorption, oral trauma, and feline stomatitis, as well as local resources for advice on dental care for cats and dogs.
Local Companies
4 Pets Clinic
(440) 230-6029
38391 Chester Rd
Avon, OH
View More Info

Hudson, Virginia O, Dvm - Lorain Animal Clinic Inc
(440) 282-6769
4205 Oberlin Ave
Lorain, OH
View More Info

Lorain Animal Clinic Inc
(440) 282-6769
4205 Oberlin Ave
Lorain, OH
View More Info

Vermilion River Regional Vet
(440) 839-2559
79 E Main St
Wakeman, OH
View More Info

Murray Ridge Animal Clinic
(440) 233-5238
7855 Murray Ridge Rd
Elyria, OH
View More Info

Amherst Animal Hospital Inc
(440) 282-5220
1425 Cooper Foster Park Rd
Amherst, OH
View More Info

Lake View Veterinary Hospital
(419) 433-3705
3313 Cleveland Rd W
Huron, OH
View More Info

Cedarside Animal Hospital
(440) 965-4660
12220 Gore Orphanage Rd
Wakeman, OH
View More Info

Animal Emergency Clinic Inc
(440) 240-1400
5152 Grove Ave
Lorain, OH
View More Info

Fox Veterinary Hospital Inc
(440) 458-4291
10735 Lagrange Rd
Elyria, OH
View More Info
 
Vet Interview Topics to help you select candidate practices.

If you do wind up coming down to the Columbus area, East Hilliard has a veterinary dentist that I used for Spitzer when his lower canines were gouging into the roof of his mouth (under developed lower jaw)
 
Just a thought, could something have fallen into the cats throat when that "vet" and I use the term loosely, broke the tooth into two parts and extracted it?
 
Bill, when you have a minute, could you please remove the 911 from your post? It's designed to get attention during an emergency, and I think you've gotten plenty of attention.

I hope some of the responses here have helped. We're all concerned about your kitty. If you don't find a vet that will work for you from the info given, I can recommend an excellent one in Ashland, but it's a long drive for you, and I know that's an issue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top