anyone home? need a look please

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

can someone look at my ss. my pmps is 124 and i'm a bit nervous about shooting the current dose. thank you.
 
Until you have data showing it is safe, it is uncomfortable thinking about shooting a full dose on lower PSs - I think especially when you have come from a faster acting insulin and are used to not shooting on lower PS (that are higher than 124).

What you should do, if you can, next time is test in 30 mins after NOT feeding. You don't want to be using a food induced higher number to make the decision. If you will be home and awake to test, try the regular dose and test through to see how he will react to it.

Is he still looking to be a late nadir kitty? You will probably have to shoot his regular dose into falling numbers because he nadirs at +12 or +1 in the next cycle before heading back up. You just have to be patient and gather the data so you can feel safe doing this.
 
thank you sheila,
i can wait, not feed, test again...it's not likely i'll be up at night able to test him. his shot time is 9:30...i could get a +1.5
i am confused about what to shoot if i know i won't get up and test until +9.
i've been really good about staying on schedule but blew it last night waiting for his rising # and shot at +13. i know this is a bad.
he got his dose this morning at +11 to get us back on track. so i know that part is a wrench in the data. plus i chickened out and shot 1.25 rather than 2u.
he is doing nicely so far today.
the hardest part is shooting a lower number with the same high dose nailbite_smile
since we shoot late no one is around to advise.
is there a cut off point at which i will lower or not shoot at even let's say +13? or is it a problem even waiting that long.
is my data currently screwed up as a result of last night?
lori
 
Yep - your data is screwed up - BUT that is part of learning and, actually, pat of gathering data. He did have some beautiful numbers today though. I would have expected him to be higher by mid-cycle because of a loss of "shed". It is probable that the good numbers today are still coasting off the dose yesterday and he will be higher tonight or tomorrow while he catches back up again.

It is better to shoot the same dose (shoot low to stay low), but don't do it if you are not comfortable, don't have data, and can't be awake/home to test. You will have plenty of opportunity to shoot full doses on low PS when you will be home and can see how he does.
 
Sheila he has a purrrrfect little curve today and gifted me with a pmps of 195 so it was a comfortable 2u shoot. Considering the messed up data it will be interesting to see what his +9 will be and tomorow in general. We have been in the blues for nearly 36 hours now! After a terrible year on pz I had almost given up on the idea of going otj or even regulation. Since he went otj before and his penchant for pancreatic action when eatting I have hope of a living breathing pancrease. Thank you for keeping an eye on us.
Lori
and tomtom too!
 
I see he went up a bit at +9 from last night. I am not surprised given the dose changes. Hopefully, he will settle back quickly.

As for the +1/+2 food drops, I am not sure that is a food drop. First of all, I am not seeing that consistently with him at every early test. Sometimes he is the same, sometime higher, sometimes lower. Also, there are a lot of kitties that nadir at +12, or +13/+14 which would be the +1/+2 that you are seeing.

I would think that it isn't relevant in how you treat him. At least not until you thoroughly test the theory. This would mean getting numbers up to +14 without feeding him a number of times, and the same test times with feeding him. This would have to wait until he was stable on his dose and not throwing unusual lows that cause you to drop the dose. Otherwise, you have to look at the whole cycle: What is his nadir (the BG #), what is his highest numbers, then look at the timing. Sure, maybe most cats nadir between +6 and +9, but many do not. Maybe that is the case with Tom.

I'm just trying to get you to keep an open mind about the evidence (data) you are collecting and not trying to look for it to fit a preconceived idea of what it means.
 
yes Vickie I am pleased beyond belief. we were steady visitors in the black 600 room before with the pz.
problem now is shooting the low numbers and not getting up in the middle of the night to test.
scary.
and umm, a pain.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top