Anyone ever use Tresaderm for ears?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gail & Houdini (GA)

Member Since 2009
After 2+ weeks on Clavamox the little yeasties are running amok in 'Dini's ears. The ear wash Dr gave us isn't cutting it any more besides the fact that he hates it and I wear most of it :roll:

I have some Tresaderm but have no idea what dose or if it will work or not. I didn't want to use anything with steroids but it's worth a try if it will help....he's miserable.

He still has over a week to go on the Clavamox so it's not going to get better by itself anytime soon.
 
yes a long long time ago but for ear mites, not yeast/bacteria. Do you think using sterile ear wash like epi-otic would help or have you already tried that.
 
Dearest Gail -- you might not want to listen, precous Dini...

Please forgive me, but why is "you know who" on Clavamox? Antibiotics can cause yeast infections -- trust me, I've been on enough antibiotics in the past couple of months to know this to be true... Then again, I'm human. Can we spell Acidophilus? (sp?)

That said, and because I'm clueless as to Houdini's reason for being on Clavamox, I shall bravely continue with one main thing I know about Tresaderm and one more main thing I know about ear washes. Okay, maybe two main things I know about ear washes...

Tresaderm has steroids. Period. Granted, it's probably a small amount (according to Giz's, and now Nikk's vet); but, it's there. I asked the vet if it had steroids and he said, just a small amount. I said, a small amount of steroids to a sugar cat is like being a little bit pregnant. You are or you're not; it has steroids or it doesn't. Period. It does.

Giz's numbers shot up 80 points within the first day, and then another 70 or so by the next day, so I just shot around it. For the duration...


Nikki's a far more mellower cat than Giz, and only shot up maybe 50 points... She didn't need much extra juice, just a bead or two...




Now here's the real scoop on ear washes... And, I'm going to try to keep this to two main thoughts, okay?

1. You're going to need a drop cloth -- or, intense rain gear or a wet suit...
2. Or, you're going to need to wear clothes that are the color of ear goop brown...







Okay, 3. Definitely, do not be a mouth breather whilst administering the ear wash.............


EEEEEEEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW.







I know, way too much information... I feel for you, dearest Gail, I truly do.





Wow, they can really shake their heads FAST, can't they?!?!?!?










Okay, 4. It's best to administer the ear wash in a small room with easily washed walls, floors, and the occasional ceiling. If you happen to have a room with no cabinets or furniture, that's where I'd do the deed... Then again, slip covers are another way to go...







Much love and you can do this, it just requires ingenuity and true grit -- and a somewhat strong stomach -- kind of absolute countless supportive hugs,
Deb and Nikki (I HATE that ear wash deal, Mom!) -- and Giz, serenely smiling from The Bridge because her ears are now pristine and just for hearing and the occasional side nuzzling...

PS: Giz was the one who could hit the ceiling... Nik's much shorter; and, as a result, so is her ear trajectory...
 
Do you have only yeast or yeast and bacteria? Tresaderm works for both. However, when I used Tresaderm for Twigie her BG shot up to almost 500 after a couple of days. The specific steroid in Tresaderm is one of the worst for raising BGs. I also tried Animax and the BG did go so high. If yeast only then you can get a anti-fungal such as Conifite which does not have steroids.
 
Deb - You are too funny !!!

I know first hand about ear washes ...try a 100 lb Shepherd!!! Out in the middle of the driveway in rain gear!! Yuck!!

By chance I ran into my vet yesterday in the store and whined about 'Dini's ears and he said to try equal parts peroxide and white vinegar :shock: before I use the ear drops. He said to use lots and if you don't get it all over you you're doin' it wrong.

OK - So I'll try anything at this point. Pinned him down last night and squited it in, mushed it around and jumped back..........well the peroxide must have been fizzing in his ear 'cause he got the most surprised look, kept digging at the ear while he walked in circles. I'm NOT his favorite person! Don't know if it is because he smelled like a pickle (so did I) or because it fizzed .....but it's BETTER today!! Chalk one up to "old remedies"
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top