Any thoughts on these numbers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacym20

Member Since 2014
So Buds numbers haven't been better so I've been slowly increasing his dose. (Spreadsheet is up to date) Well last night I'm pretty sure he got a fur shot and then again this morning. I was expecting a high PMPS this evening but he's actually lower than he has been. I skipped the shot just to see what his numbers do when I know for sure he didn't get any insulin so I'll test him when I get home as I'll be out for a little bit. But this could just all be "the luck of the draw" so to speak that his pre shot numbers are lowering without insulin?
 
Could be his pancreas getting into the mix and waking up. Could be he got some insulin and that smaller dose worked (it sometimes does in cats). Could be several things really. It'll be interesting to see what the numbers do.
 
Bud was 310 this morning and I decided again not to give him insulin. At +3 he was 304. I'm thinking of giving him a tiny dose of insulin tonight depending on his PMPS, as he hasn't been in the reds since I stopped insulin, to see what his numbers do. Anyone agree or disagree with this?
 
Hmmmm. I think I'd be more comfortable reducing the dose to one unit and see if the numbers are lower than not giving any. He is above the renal threshold, which isn't ideal. To be regulated, he needs to be in the lower 200s at preshot and double digits at nadir. Not there either. Having him surf in the mid 300s can put him at danger for ketones. Are you sure testing for those?
 
I think you may be having a problem with duration. If you look at 12/27, when you got a +10, he zoomed up. He also did in on 12/13, although he was on a lower dose then.
To confirm this, get a few more tests in the +9 to +11 range over a few days and see if you can narrow that down.

There are 3 options if that turns out to be the case:
1) shooting every 8 hours, which can be pretty inconvenient
2) switching to BCP PZI, Lantus, or Levemir, each which could have longer duration than the ProZinc may
3) add a small bolus of short acting insulin such as R to cover the last couple of hours when the ProZinc is wearing off (this requires great caution!!!)
4) split the dose in half and then shoot the 2nd half 2-3 hours later depending on when the insulin starts to wear off.
 
I know he's not ready to go off of insulin by any means. I should have clarified, my thoughts were to basically "start from scratch" since the increases in dose haven't seemed to help much, and the fact that his preshot numbers have been decreasing even without insulin. He was 312 at +5 just now. I will try one unit tonight and grab numbers as much as possible for a while. I know the more numbers I have, the better chance to figure this out. Thank you all for your responses. I am not testing for ketones, I know I should be. I just don't think urine strips would work for me with my multiple cats and the fact I never see when Bud goes to the litter box. I just checked the Nova site and see they have a deal for 20 blood test strips and a meter for $40. I think I will go that route.

BJ I think #s 2 and 4 sound like the best options for me out of those. I appreciate the input and will get another week of numbers and go from there.

I think what makes this most frustrating is that you can only try every 12 hours to make the numbers better. Patient pants...
 
BCP PZI insulin. It comes in 3 different concentrations.
"BCP PZI® insulin is available in 100u/ml 5ml or 10ml, 50u/ml 10ml & 40u/ml 10ml."


You've got U-100 syringes, so you might want to get the U-40 concentration since you already know how to measure small doses that way.

Your vet can order a 5 mL sample vial of the U-100 concentration for you to try, too.
 
It took awhile for me to figure out how to effectively test Gypsy for ketones. I have multiple cats too, and she wouldn't go if I locked her in a room by herself with a box. I finally followed her around for a bit in the evening and found that she was big on using the litter box as soon as she ate. It was her routine. I was able to test her more with that, since I could just grab a test after she ate. :) I know it's tough to figure out the routine, but once you do, that might help get some tests if you don't get a ketone meter. Just a thought!
 
Help! PMPS just now is 252! This is why I'm so confused! His numbers keep getting better without insulin. Should I give him insulin? Maybe 0.5 unit?
 
He's dropping but high enough for insulin. Can you monitor if you give a token dose - maybe .5? I am thinking I hate for him to continue to climb and can't think he will drop further into dangerous numbers. I guess his pancreas could be helping out but usually we see that when their numbers are lower.

Oliver would never pee while we watched. We'd put him in a room with a clean litter box filled with aquarium gravel. He'd "christen" the clean box and we could swoop in and test.
 
I did decide to give him 0.5 units. He was 280 at +2 and 260 just now at +3. It will be interesting to see what his number is in the morning.

I do happen to have a bag of aquarium gravel. Maybe I'll pick up an extra litter box, sure would be cheaper than the blood test strips!
 
Hmmm....that is interesting. His numbers certainly are different! Hopefully he'll be in good ranges for today's AMPS.
 
252 again this morning for AMPS. Dosed at 0.5 units and I'll check him as soon as I get home which should be somewhere around a +5 or +6.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top