Any SRT experiences in Ohio?

Yup, looks like some of those tumour cells are dying off already. :D. Or it's the relief from the constipation. And/or seeing enough greens to start breaking glucose toxicity. Regardless, time to reduce the dose. I strongly recommend taking reductions at a little higher numbers than you would normally when the SRT action might be part of the picture. With Lantus, I used a cutoff of 70 instead of 50. Not sure what to say about Prozinc.

So much for blues & greens...
But at least we're seeing some changes that aren't strictly increases.

Good move, I think, doing the extra reduced dose tonight due to the green preshot. We will see how it goes, but I am glad you were cautious.

10u seemed too low as he climbed up pretty quickly. Was 12u too high this morning?

If everything stays on course with the 300s today, what do you suggest for tonight's dose?
 
I can really only say what I would do if Buster was my cat. He did earn a reduction based on yesterday’s daytime cycle where you shot 14 units and he had a nice run in greens but in numbers that are below the reduction point of 70. I am assuming a reduction point of 70 here. If I were shooting tonight, I would stay with the 12 units that you shot this morning. I think I would let the dose (and Buster) settle. I think it’s too early to make a decision on increasing the dose based upon only one cycle. We would not do that with any dosing method anyway. Did you get a ketone reading today?
 
I can really only say what I would do if Buster was my cat. He did earn a reduction based on yesterday’s daytime cycle where you shot 14 units and he had a nice run in greens but in numbers that are below the reduction point of 70. I am assuming a reduction point of 70 here. If I were shooting tonight, I would stay with the 12 units that you shot this morning. I think I would let the dose (and Buster) settle. I think it’s too early to make a decision on increasing the dose based upon only one cycle. We would not do that with any dosing method anyway. Did you get a ketone reading today?

That is what I was thinking as well. Let his body settle down. I just wanted to make sure you agreed with the 12u. Thank you.

No ketone test today. We will likely get one tomorrow. When his Libre failed in the hospital & the low numbers from yesterday, he's gotten a lot of ear pricks recently. They are a bit tender right now...
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
@JL and Chip
@FonzieFremeau
@Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Buster's SRT is done! He finished yesterday & did great. We decided to bring him home each day instead of staying at the hospital. I'm so glad we did.

Since he had his CT scan in February, all the prep work (bite molds, positioning info) was done so the treatments weren't long.

Day 1 was rough. When we picked him up, he was wonky, wobbly, wandering. It took about 4 hours before he was even remotely normal. We didn't understand it b/c he handled the anesthesia so well for the CT scan (fine after about 1-2hrs). We were concerned it was the treatment. We were wrong. When we discussed it the next day with the doctor, she told us that he had to have extra sedation in the morning when they placed the IV catheter. So, coupled with the anesthesia, it must have hit him harder. I stayed up pretty late that night watching him.

They secured the IV catheter with a plastic cover that had velcro. It kept everything in place but he hated it. It drove him crazy every single second. I kept an eye on him all day so he only needed the ecollar for sleeping.

Day 2 & 3 went much smoother. Hardly any effects from anesthesia. Slept a couple of hours & back to his hungry self. He got his bandana (Day 3) for completion of his treatment & all the team signed it.

Unfortunately, he got constipated along the way so we're working on that... but otherwise, he's doing very well.

Regarding his bg, he stayed in the 300s (low, mid & high) most of the time. Ketones creeping up a little but we're watching it. Appetite has been fine.

The facility (The Ohio State University) took great care of him & there was limited downtime. No delays. Communication was a little challenging but all-in-all, a positive experience.

Buster was a trooper through it all. He was so brave! I'm so proud of our boy!

Thank you for your thoughts & prayers!

Now, we wait...

I'm so glad Buster has come through his SRT like a champ! I'm sending you and Buster all of my best thoughts. "Now, we wait...." :cat::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top