Another Shadow update!

Status
Not open for further replies.

DianeM &Shadow

Member Since 2010
After an increase from 3.0 to 3.5 units of BCP PZI two days ago, Shadow has finally hit the 'blue' numbers. He dropped from 291 a.m. pre-shot to 133 at +6 and 110 pm pre-shot! I have fed him and will re-test closer to 7 pm and then decide about a reduced dose. It seems like it has taken forever but actually it's been a little less than 2 months since his diagnosis. It's also lucky that I can be home to watch closely, eh??? Now I need to gather data to see if there are patterns at these lower numbers that can help me determine appropriate dosing. Hope everyone is doing ok; always a challenge!
 
After an increase from 3.0 to 3.5 units of BCP PZI two days ago, Shadow has finally hit the 'blue' numbers. He dropped from 291 a.m. pre-shot to 133 at +6 and 110 pm pre-shot! I have fed him and will re-test closer to 7 pm and then decide about a reduced dose. It seems like it has taken forever but actually it's been a little less than 2 months since his diagnosis. It's also lucky that I can be home to watch closely, eh??? Now I need to gather data to see if there are patterns at these lower numbers that can help me determine appropriate dosing. Hope everyone is doing ok; always a challenge!
Just checked at 6 pm; bg 230 so gave 2 units and will watch closely.
 
Ha! Gave 2 units and at 11 pm, he was 404! Lesson learned, eh? I gave him 1 unit at 11 pm and am hoping there won't be too much overlap in the morning. At times like this, I wish I had a short-acting insulin(Regular or NPH) so I could give a small amount to drop the bg down temporarily. Ah, well, my vet doesn't trust me to do this; maybe I will be able to convince her now. Somehow I doubt it. With both Asia and Velvet, I had a vet who would work with me on this, mostly because I introduced him to the use of Calcitriol. He was also willing to try a subcutaneous catheter for fluids with my renal kitties, so we wouldn't have to keep sticking him. This did NOT work but that was in the early 2000's. Maybe those set-ups are better now. Anyway, we will do the best we can. Tomorrow is another day!!

PS In the old days, we used to talk about the pancreas intermittently kicking in some extra insulin at unpredictable times; we called it 'sputtering'!!!! I wonder.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top