? Another reduction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue484

Member Since 2015
Frankie has been on 3.5 units of Lantus for 4 days now. This evening cycle, his glucose number came down to 4 (72) on Alphatrak. Per SLGS, this earns him a 0.25 reduction, am I right?
 
I know. :) Dithered about shooting full dose but read it can help flatten out low numbers and seeing as I'm here to test, I thought I'd go for it. How else am I going to get data otherwise? Pretty scary though.
 
I figured a bounce was coming that's another reason I did the full shot. Hopefully it won't be such a big one if he already has insulin on board.
 
Still going down at + 3 . 5.8 (104) now. Will leave it to see if he gets another reduction by hitting 90 and then start intervening.
 
So does that mean he qualifies for a reduction now? And should I give him some HC food? If 90 is the human level for a reduction, what would be the level for AT?
 
I use an AT2 meter and with comparison testing against a human meter I find a rule of thumb is the AT meter reads about 35% higher than a human meter. So you 104 would be approximately 68 on a human meter. Hope this helps.
 
Thanks @Tuxedo Mom . Seems he is due a reduction then. I can't get my head around percentages. How do you work that out? What does 90 equal on the AT?
 
Last edited:
I have both an AT2 (pet) and a FS Lite (human) meter I have done about 50 or so comparisons using the same drop of blood and the average is about 35% higher on the AT (range 30-40%) Also there is some information about AT meters here:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1oI_34_EgqeKdpyttFW0oLoG1mbw16IkATAWHhoQD2JU/pub

I use the AT2 meter since that is what I started with and that is what my brain seems to understand even though most people here use a human meter.
 
And should I give him some HC food?
Sorry for delayed reply (lost connection to the forum...)
You could try a small amount of low carb to see if that holds the numbers first.

But another test would be good just to see if he is still dropping and hasn't started to bounce.
 
Basically if you have a reading of say 100 on the AT2 meter you multiply that by 65% which gives you a reading of about 65 on a human meter. I keep my calculator handy when posting so that I can convert my AT numbers into human numbers to follow conversations.

Edited to correct the percentage. I made an incorrect post with the % to multiply it by...Sorry!!
 
Last edited:
As Elizabeth just posted try using LC food to slow the drop. I once did a back to back reduction and it didn't work out. If the numbers are still dropping but not into a hypo range you could use a teaspoon of MC food to help if the LC doesn't slow it down.
 
Basically if you have a reading of say 100 on the AT2 meter you multiply that by 35% which gives you a reading of about 65 on a human meter.
Hi Mary Ann,
Don't you multiply by 65%..? (100 x 35% = 35)

Sue, my own comparisons (Alphatrak vs One Touch Ultra) consistently showed that there was around a mmol difference (18 mg/dl) at lower numbers.
But it's always going to be a guesstimate. There's no way to know for sure....
 
Maybe I'm being dense, but I just multiplied his latest 104 figure by 35% and the answer I got was 36.4 not 68.


WOOPS...sorry I multiply by 65% NOT 35%..... my brain is still waking up!!

I am going back to my earlier post and correcting it so as not to cause confusion to others coming in.
 
He will definitely bounce from this green number. Damn. He was going so well too. I just left it too long.
 
It seems his nadir times can vary a lot between so that is hard to say how much lower he is going to drop. You could try some more LC food and test again in about 20 minutes. Depending on the reading you may need to go to MC or HC.
 
Sue, Frankie's BG has been consistently dropping by 1.7/1.8 mmols per hour since +1.
Did you give a snack? (Just wondering if that's had time to kick in yet).

This number is fine but he's still dropping.
A small amount of MC or HC food would be good. (Do you have food in gravy? (Just use the gravy)) Or a few drops of glucose in a tiny amount of food.
 
I would give a drop of honey yes.

Also I would not give a second reduction at this point, you've only been on 3.25 for two cycles so what you're seeing today is likely to be depot action from the higher dose. UNLESS we have a lot of trouble getting him back up today.
 
Sorry I didn't see that you are using SLGS protocol. You should have used the high carb. I will bow out and let the experienced posters help you. Good luck.
 
Sue, the honey should work fast. You should start to see a BG rise within 15 - 20 mins or less.
(And you may want to test every 20 mins for a while so you can take action if Frankie's BG does continue to drop further.)

Be aware that although honey/glucose works fast it also wears off relatively quickly. So any rise from the honey may or may not be permanent. You may need to repeat the action.
 
He may start to bounce now. But he has had a lovely run of numbers. :)

Although, from previous patterns, this looks likely to cause a bounce, do just keep an eye on him in case he doesn't bounce (in which case there's a possibility of the BG dropping again once the honey wears off.)
.
 
I gave the honey at amps +4 and just tested at +8 and only just risen to 9.1 so it does look like a bounce is happening. I'll have to post for dosing advice if this isn't a bounce, and whether he has earned a reduction or not at +11
 
It is isn't it? Getting worried about what dose to use in a little while as I am going out straight after and can't monitor until +4, I'll see what he's doing in 20 minutes for next test and ask if I need to on the Lantus forum.
 
It is isn't it? Getting worried about what dose to use in a little while as I am going out straight after and can't monitor until +4, I'll see what he's doing in 20 minutes for next test and ask if I need to on the Lantus forum.

Frankie's numbers look fantastic...what a sweet run of numbers this morning. My Tuxie would be starting his bounce by now.

Fingers crossed for continued good numbers! :)
 
Frankie usually would be bouncing off the ceiling 4 hours after those green numbers. Wonder what is going on? Next test coming up...watch this space.
 
11.2 now (202). Although it was worrying me, I sort of upset he didn't make the whole cycle in green or blue. Looks like the bounce may be starting. I need some sleep tonight though. I am starting to sleep through my alarms!!!
 
11.2 now (202). Although it was worrying me, I sort of upset he didn't make the whole cycle in green or blue. Looks like the bounce may be starting. I need some sleep tonight. I am starting to sleep through my alarms!!!


When my Tuxie bounces he will go through every colour of the chart. I just have to ride it through. I certainly hear you about sleep deprivation. Unfortunately the last 6 months since diagnosis I have a built in alarm clock in my head that I can't turn off. :)

I love that you have the world mmol/l and use an AT meter...I can so relate to those!
 
Frankie used to go through every colour too. Just recently the blacks are getting less, touch wood. I tend to wake up about 4am if I've slept through an alarm, so my inbuilt clock is starting to work!! I can't work with the American versions of how they measure glucose, nor get to grips with the human meter readings, so it's good to find someone else like me!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top