Another reduction - can I reduce MORE than .25u??

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-26-tink-amps-134-2-112-another-reduction-earned.140055/

We had another awesome PJ party last night. Sorry I don't have the numbers to update the SS at the moment... but he went from 120ish PMPS to the 30's by +2.5. OYE. While I love the reductions, the PJ parties are getting old - and I DONT like that we have them in the 30s instead of the 50s.

It seems it's getting harder to bring him up from the 30s. HC food, even honey just keeps him from dropping further, or might boost him up by a couple points. I finally resorted to giving him dog kibble last night when honey wasn't bringing him up. Being early in the cycle, I didn't want to play with it if honey wasn't gonna work. He finally got a bounce this morning, not sure if it was from being so low for several hours, or if it was from the kibble.

In any case, I dropped him .25u this morning to 3.75 - but I'm wondering if given the severity of his drops, if I should bring him down to 3.5u and see how it goes. At least the drops SEEM to happen early, so I can catch them before I go to work if they were to happen in the morning... but it still really worries me with him dropping so low. We've had NO hypo symptoms, even in the 30s... but there just isn't much further to drop!

Poor guy was almost at 500 this morning and I could tell he was feeling it. Normally he's begging for food, but he was mostly just laying around. He did come eat and was perfectly able to walk and stuff - just preferred not to. He almost fell when he jumped down off his chair when I first got up - though I'm not sure it's from the high numbers of the bounce, or just his old age and neuropathy. He does tend to forget that he ain't no spring chicken anymore.

Anyway... hoping to get input on the idea of reducing him more than just .25u. He's at a fairly high dose (was at 4.75u till recently) and these little .25u drops don't seem to be keeping him out of dangerous territory. More often than not, I'm feeding him food that I know spikes his numbers, just to keep him flat. I'd much rather give less insulin and lower carb food. Is it reasonable to drop him down to 3.5u rather than 3.75?
 
You can always try a larger reduction and see if it works. Especially since you are having a hard time bringing him up. Just be prepared to go back up .25U if you don't see him getting back into green once the bounce is over. The other thing you could try is a one time reduced dose, just to try depleting the depot a bit. I wouldn't do it the cycle after the low, since he seems to bounce like a champion. :rolleyes: When Neko was in the phase of racing down dose, I found that .5U decreases worked, until we got to 3.5U, then they stopped working and we had to switch to .25U changes. I've seen that in one or two other cats too.
 
Ok thanks. He actually DID have a one-time reduction just this past Saturday evening - he'd gone low so we reduced, but then I had a social event and had my daughter shoot. Given his desire to dance around in the 30s, and my daughter's refusal to learn how to test, I had her shoot 2u. Still didn't seem to drain that depot enough! I'll see where he's at when I get home and decide what to do. Thanks for the input. :)
 
I think it's perfectly reasonable to try a larger decrease. Whenever you're fighting to hold up BGs, especially over a long period of time, that's the unmistakable signal that the dose is too large.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top