Another nail-biting day

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
I'm having another one of those nail-biting days where I have to force myself not to give gravy or Karo when SquallieBear's BG gets close to 50. :nailbiting: Today he got down to 51, and I know I drove him nuts testing him every 30 minutes to make sure he didn't drop any lower! He seems to be coming back up a little now, but I will keep checking him in case he has another drop between +6 and +8.

I also ran out of cat food today, I can't believe I let that happen! Believe me, it's no fun to stumble out of bed to be confronted by four hungry kitties and have no food for them! I just stood there for a minute, looking at them in confusion, lol! Fortunately I did have some Young Again Zero Carb dry food (thanks, Shane @granadilla!) and I dug up a hidden can of FF Classic, so everybody got reduced rations of FF supplemented with YA dry, which they all love. So I was saved from an ugly mutiny, just in the nick of time!

I have a question about giving pumpkin. Lots of people have recommended it to me for my IBD baby, who has had a pretty bad flare-up. How much and how often should I give it to her? I mixed about a teaspoonful into her breakfast this morning. She's not too keen to eat right now, and that's unusual for her; I know she must really not be feeling well, poor little girl. But she didn't seem to object to the addition of the pumpkin. Thanks in advance for any advice!
 
I gave Marshmallow about 1.5 teaspoons daily. Hopefully that will help Candy's IBD. Good luck, I know how challenging it is when your kitty doesn't feel good and doesn't want to eat.

Good work with Squallie! Look at him surf those greens! Hope you've restocked your cabinets so you can avoid a mutiny at lunch time!
 
I'm having another one of those nail-biting days where I have to force myself not to give gravy or Karo when SquallieBear's BG gets close to 50. :nailbiting: Today he got down to 51, and I know I drove him nuts testing him every 30 minutes to make sure he didn't drop any lower! He seems to be coming back up a little now, but I will keep checking him in case he has another drop between +6 and +8.

I also ran out of cat food today, I can't believe I let that happen! Believe me, it's no fun to stumble out of bed to be confronted by four hungry kitties and have no food for them! I just stood there for a minute, looking at them in confusion, lol! Fortunately I did have some Young Again Zero Carb dry food (thanks, Shane @granadilla!) and I dug up a hidden can of FF Classic, so everybody got reduced rations of FF supplemented with YA dry, which they all love. So I was saved from an ugly mutiny, just in the nick of time!

I have a question about giving pumpkin. Lots of people have recommended it to me for my IBD baby, who has had a pretty bad flare-up. How much and how often should I give it to her? I mixed about a teaspoonful into her breakfast this morning. She's not too keen to eat right now, and that's unusual for her; I know she must really not be feeling well, poor little girl. But she didn't seem to object to the addition of the pumpkin. Thanks in advance for any advice!

Ugh the low numbers are the worst. You are doing all the right things of course so you should have a lot of confidence in that!

Regarding the pumpkin...I would start on 1 teaspoon 2x a day, right after preshot test and before meal. Try give it to kitty on your finger at room temp. Try to get them excited about it. Make some squeaky noises or whatever sound you make when giving your cats a treat. :p Slowly work up to 1 tablespoon with each meal.

This is how I got my kitty interested the first time. Also, I keep the unused pumpkin refrigerated and I have noticed that he does not like it when it's cold. I will microwave it for 5 seconds and check the temp with my finger before mixing it with his Fancy Feast Classics.

I used to only give the pumpkin when there was a digestive upset, but I am thinking I am going to continue giving it all the time now as it is great for diabetics (if you see Bacio's chart the change to FFC + Pumpkin is leading him into what looks like remission).

Good Luck!
 
Agree with Shane and Bacio's human above, pumpkin is fine to use daily and I prob would if she doesn't mind it anyway...

Hang in there! Sending positive thoughts!
 
I gave Marshmallow about 1.5 teaspoons daily. Hopefully that will help Candy's IBD. Good luck, I know how challenging it is when your kitty doesn't feel good and doesn't want to eat.

Good work with Squallie! Look at him surf those greens! Hope you've restocked your cabinets so you can avoid a mutiny at lunch time!
Thanks for the info on the pumpkin.

I know, I'm lovin' those greens! But it's always a bit of a roller coaster, and lots of times now I'm torn btw trying to micro dose him or just skip the shot.

Yes, fortunately the new delivery came just before lunch-time, or it would have been a full-on, mutinous assault, I fear, lol!
 
Gosh Lucy, you had double excitement this morning, no food and near 50 for Squallie. Congrats on the greens! About the pumpkin: I started off Bubba on 1 tbsp. from the beginning in his food and he didn't hesitate to eat it; I mixed it in really well. Here's a tip in case you didn't see my post in another thread. When I open up the can, I measure out 1 tbsp. into each section of an ice cube tray and freeze. When they are hard, I put them into a zip lock freezer bag for later. I put enough into the refrigerator for about 5 days. Now, I am given it to both cats and both dogs.
 
Pumpkin keeps in the fridge for about 5 days. After that the taste seems to go off a bit. I also froze it in ice cube trays and I'd defrost a cube (about 2 tsps worth) in the mircrowave every night. It would get a little warm in the microwave and Marshmallow also liked it a bit better warm rather than cold, but in general she liked the flavor either way. I had to give it to her in a syringe (she wouldn't eat any mushy food on her own; she was a kibble addict). I probably got about 1.5 tsps into her nightly because she'd move her head some pumpkin would go flying. :rolleyes:
 
That's so funny. I'm a vegetarian but some of the wet cat foods smelled not too bad to me. I'd be like, "come on, Marsh, just try it. It doesn't smell that bad, really!" And she would just walk away with a swish of her tail like, "really? You expect me to eat THAT?" :)
 
That's so funny. I'm a vegetarian but some of the wet cat foods smelled not too bad to me. I'd be like, "come on, Marsh, just try it. It doesn't smell that bad, really!" And she would just walk away with a swish of her tail like, "really? You expect me to eat THAT?" :)
Lol! That would be my reaction if someone tried to convince me to eat pumpkin!:)
 
Just tested him again, his BG was 155. Whew, made it through another nail-biter without giving in to my overwhelming desire to give Karo or gravy, especially at that 51, lol! I hope tonight isn't going to be as stressful, it would be nice to get some sleep!
 
Wow, Lucy! Just now read through this thread ... Yowza, you've had quite enough excitement for one day, eh? Squallie's doing GREAT!:cat:
I'm lovin' those greens!!! (Yeah, they're kinda scary at first ...) Keep up the good work!:):bighug:
 
Thank you all for the advice! I did discover one thing I never knew about pumpkin - I absolutely LOATHE the smell of it, it turns my stomach, yuck! I'd rather smell the stinky cat food any day, lol!
Funny how our noses work, huh? I'm the same way about the scent of peanut butter ... when my SO opens a new jar, it kinda smells like somebody's got bad gas to me. Phew! :D

ETA: Of course, sometimes it turns out that he actually didn't open a jar of peanut butter.:p
 
Funny how our noses work, huh? I'm the same way about the scent of peanut butter ... when my SO opens a new jar, it kinda smells like somebody's got bad gas to me. Phew! :D

ETA: Of course, sometimes it turns out that he actually didn't open a jar of peanut butter.:p
Lol, too funny! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top