Another low preshot BG-182 Thoughts and guidance needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danica20

Member Since 2014
Today Pinky did an am curve. Her AMPS was 355 Her lowest point was 92. Her PMPS was 182, I waited 30 minutes w/o food and tested again and she is at 162. I'm not going to shoot her tonight. At this point I could use a little guidance. If anyone could take a look at her spreadsheet and give some advice. According to a previous thread the thought that the vet has risen her insulin too fast may be a possibility. At this point should I decrease her dose, and if so by how much? Or should we hold steady at 5 units and see how it goes? I'm going to try to do more spot checks on her to get a little better understanding on what is going on with her wonky numbers. Any help or guidance is appreciated, thanks.

- update- I checked her level 1 hr after the 162 and she's jumped up to 361. For future reference should I give her a shot? If so how much?
 
When she's still dropping at shot time, and you can't stay up to monitor, its safer not to shoot. And the 115 mg/dL a couple days ago suggests that a dose reduction might be in order if you're doing the Start Low Go Slow protocol.

An option for tomorrow is to shoot the 5 since she'll probably by quite high, then drop to 4.5 units in the evening and hold that for 3-5 days if you're following the Tight Regulation protocol, or 7-14 days if you're following the Start Low, Go Slow protocol, snagging mid-cycle tests whenever you can, instead of or in addition to formal curves.

Also, with bi-weekly curves showing that she doesn't drop to dangerous levels, you may gradually reduce your no shot limit. You might try using 180 mg/dL on a human glucometer as your limit for the next week or two.
 
BJM said:
When she's still dropping at shot time, and you can't stay up to monitor, its safer not to shoot. And the 115 mg/dL a couple days ago suggests that a dose reduction might be in order if you're doing the Start Low Go Slow protocol.

An option for tomorrow is to shoot the 5 since she'll probably by quite high, then drop to 4.5 units in the evening and hold that for 3-5 days if you're following the Tight Regulation protocol, or 7-14 days if you're following the Start Low, Go Slow protocol, snagging mid-cycle tests whenever you can, instead of or in addition to formal curves.

Also, with bi-weekly curves showing that she doesn't drop to dangerous levels, you may gradually reduce your no shot limit. You might try using 180 mg/dL on a human glucometer as your limit for the next week or two.

Thanks for your help BJM, Pinky was at 489 for her amps so we'll do the 5 this morning and start the 4.5 tonight. Pinky is on the Start Low, Go Slow protocol but I believe the vet got a little ahead of themselves increasing the insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top