Another low morning reading....

Status
Not open for further replies.

skippersmom

Member
He was 126 this morning. I think I got up and gave him some food about 3:00 am so it has been awhile since he ate. Usually he eats about 5 or 6 and then has his AMPS at 9. I'm wondering if food has anything to do with these off readings.

Last time, not giving him any shot until the PM made his numbers go up a lot. So what should I do this morning? I'm home all day so I am able to do whatever he needs.
 
If he will let you, give him a little snack, wait an hour and test again? That would only throw you schedule off by an hour and you could shoot that early tonight if he is heading back up. If he is near 200, maybe less than one unit - .6 or .8, depending on the number?

He is confusing. I was ready to say up the dose but it looks like you need to shave by a bit. He must have really been bouncing. Maybe do a curve when you can to see if his nadir is earlier or later than +6 and lower than you have been seeing. Once you are sure about his nadir, you can try to use food to keep it from dropping too low and causing a bounce. (So feed a snack before his nadir and just after his nadir to smooth out the curve)
 
Okay. I'll go see if he wants to eat a little (I'm sure he does...he seems hungry all the time). Then I will test him again at 10.
The vet said something about doing a curve. When he first went in they wanted me to bring him in for one for about $280. Last time I talked to her though she said she thought I could do it at home. Is there something I need from the vet to do it?
 
I just meant if he was starving and driving you crazy. If you can avoid feeding him, that is best. Then you can shoot anytime he goes up over 200.
 
Yes, the curve is best done at home. He won't be stressed out in a place with lots of other dogs and cats, and without "the mommy" :-D so his numbers will be much more accurate.

You test in the am as usual, then every 2-3 hours as your schedule permits until pmps. It gives you a great picture of what the insulin is actually doing throughout the cycle. And it will let you pinpoint his nadir (at least for the near future - they do change.)
 
I gave him about .75 units with the 214 reading and I will test him at +6 and see what that did. I didn't want to wait 12 hours with the 214 reading because then he jumps high and it takes a couple days to bring him back down.

I'll let you know how his +6 number are.
 
That sounds good. You will just need to be careful if you shoot early - and I wouldn't shoot before +10 hours after this shot - that he is definitely rising and over 200. It may be that he is too low to shoot tonight and you will need to skip then. But you can get back on track tomorrow am.
 
I checked him at 2:00 and he was 199. If he his over 200 at his normal PMPS time (9:00). Can I still give him a shot even though his last shot was and hour and 1/2 late?
 
Can you stretch a half hour more? And be sure he is rising, not flat or dropping. And reduce the dose? And get a +2 after to be sure what way he is headed.

I am being cautious as he was low this am and you are shooting early and his numbers are a little unpredictable right now..
 
UGH! 5:30 and he's already up to 344! Waiting until 9:30 for next test and insulin. Probably go back to the 1.2 units at that time?
 
Your choice. Shoot a little smaller dose now or wait and shoot 1.2?

Don't get discouraged. Today was messed up but it startedmwith a nice amps!
 
In some cats, ProZinc may wear off around +10.

Some options to manage this include:
- Ignore it; eventually it may decrease and level out.
- Pick up the food around +8.
- Shoot every 8 hours (TID schedule).
- use a small booster (0.2) at +8ish to tide the cat over to regular shot time (increases use of supplies and monitoring).
- Switch to an insulin with a longer duration in your cat.
 
I don't think there is an issue with it not lasting long enough. She had a 162 for amps, BJ.

It was a weird day all round, Rae Ann. Will be watching for today's numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top