Backyardtarpon
Member Since 2013
So she's at +5 and her BG is 51. She got 1U. But she's acting great, not sleeping all day like usual. Should I be overly concerned?
Backyardtarpon said:But that's not fair!!! I want to make the rules...
Remember the other night, when she went low on 3u? Somewhere in that thread I think I mentioned "bounces" and how their liver will release glucose instinctively to save her from going hypo? My guess is that while she was on 6 units, she was going low a lot of times that you didn't know about because you hadn't started home testing yet. It's also likely that any dry food she was eating was helping to prop up her numbers. Without the dry, it looks like one unit is having a significant effect.Backyardtarpon said:Sue, so even though she's used to getting 6U, she's still adapting to the insulin?
I swear she knows I'm doing this (ear pricks) for her own good. Now that I'm not jabbing her 10 times to get blood! She holds her head real still so I can find the vein, bam, all done. She seems to be the only one taking this all in stride.
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:KPassa, Jezzi is on PZI. We do not shoot low to stay low. Leah, Lantus is a very different insulin than ProZinc. lantus lasts longer and has a carry over. Their protocol is not the same as PZI and the two are dosed dofferently.