Another fast drop morning for Robbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Active Member
OK this is starting to get to me - 5:30am check and he's 329 - lower than yesterday so I shot UNDER 5.00 a tad - so lets say 4.75 and in 2 hours he's down to 190 and this is after he ate 1 and a half cans of FF classic (with his miralax and cisapride) - he started really acting out - crying, walking across my computer etc. like he does when he's hungry I was saying to him "You just ate 1 and a half cans for crying out loud" than I figured better test him (I am waiting for test strips and had only 4 this morning on hand) so I did and it's 190. I know that's safe and all but that's a big drop again isnt' it? Thoughts? should I back off to 4? I don't get it - 5 wasn't doing much - somethings changed. He's currently giving the dog a face bath...
 
Wow! Yes that's a pretty big drop but still good. Two strips left? +4 may be a good time to use one. If you have to leave, feed on the way out the door.
Carl
 
I am thinking it is the big drop that makes him hungry. Probably doesn't feel so good, and when cats don't feel good, food seems like a reasonable way to solve the problem?

You and Shannan should trade phone numbers. :mrgreen: her Jean Luc is suddenly responding to the insulin also - gave a nadir in the 30s last night. I would guess the constipation was a real stressor for Robbie and artifically raised his bg levels.

The thing we need to work on is the drop. He doesn't seem to be going dangerously low at nadir. Is it more the rapid drop at the beginning? You are throwing food at that to slow it. Carl, how else can we smooth out the curve? Another dose reduction?
 
9:30 +4 104 - feeding a bit of high carb gravy ff - I HAVE to get to work - do I leave him?? I'll be home by 12:30ish (+7)
 
OK it's 9"45 and I'm gonna get killed at work - I tried to leave him with some food but he's eating it now instead. I'll test as I walk out the door - fingers crossed - heart in my throat
 
Ellen....all good. The food will keep him high enough
carl
 
He's acting fine - cleaning himself - happily will eat whatever I put in front of him - he's now had 1/2 can of gravy FF and about an inch of hairball remedy (I find that brings it up real fast - who knew he used to get an inch a day for hairballs pre DX). I'm frantic about leaving him but HAVE to go to work for two hours come home and than go help DH on a job for the rest of the day - I'm just not sure what to do
 
Just checking in and saw this......have you retested since the 78? Yes, it is a FAST steep drop, but remember that 78 is a Great Number and the 20 percent meter variance.
 
78 was about 15 minutes and an inch of hairball remedey ago - I'm gonna retest in 5 more minutes see if it bumped him up - I just always panic under 100 esp if it's consistently dropping I know in a way this is good news but I just don't have time today for this kind of good news.
 
I understand!!! They always seem to pick the worst times to deliver Good Numbers!
 
91 I know it's not really different from 78 but at least it's not another downward move - I'm going to run into work and come back asap.
 
Ellen
@ work and crappy cell service.
The 78, that was just cuz the food hadn't caught up with the insulin. Looks like it has now.

Awesome numbers, just terrible timing.
Carl
 
Thanks all - not a great week for me (not alot of sleep, work issues etc. etc. same old same old) so this really just was bad timing - but that's my boy for ya!
Robin - yes, what has changed? Something has really shifted - I am wondering if it's the regular pooping or ... Mr. P trying to sputter to life? This is kind of what happened first time around just more dramatically cause I wasn't really as knowledgeable - he had 2 HUGE dives late at night after his pmps before I scaled back his dose and than he went OTJ shortly after. So we'll see.
He was so funny this morning... just happy as a clam that mommy kept feeding him, even gave the dog an entire head bath. As I was luring him out from under the bed after the 91 with food he looked a first very aloof - but eventually crawled out like - OK cool MORE food?
ahhh, cats....
 
Hope you didn't catch too much hell at work:-)
Carl
 
Well, thankfully my bosses daughter is getting married and he isn't in but I was supposed to "be in charge" and there's a couple of staff members who would love nothing better than to report something happened cause I wasn't there. But it didn't so no harm.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top