Another dose decrease...so soon?

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

hey all, tom's been doing 1u for only 4 cycles and honestly it's been one of those crazy weekends where i just have'nt been home as much as usual so with the drop in dose i was'nt to worried about the lack of chronic testing. you'll note on my ss hardly any tests.
just came home at got a +7.5 50!
ok, so i'm just assuming as it is safe to assume this was not the all time low of 2 days, or even today. i mark hitting 50 as dose decrease time....but y'all think i dose hop too much so i'm putting it out there. it's just one number i know...but still, ....skinny u tonight?
i am also thinking his amps and pmps being high the last 4 cycles could very well be becuase he has gone low enough for his liver to give up a little of her own juice to help him out.
so, SU or .75 ????
lori\
and tomtom too!
 
Hi Lori,

Are your dates wrong on your spreadsheet? It shows that 50 at +7.5 was yesterday (4/2) :-D

The higher preshot numbers in the first few cycles of the 1u could be partly due to the shed of the 1.25u clearing. Luckily with these smaller doses, upon decreasing, the shed clears a lot quicker than with a 3u shed! I'd almost be inclined to give it one more cycle just to make sure it is the 1u talking and not an itsy bit of the 1.25u shed talking. If you do decrease, I'd do a skinny u.
 
yep, sounds good. and i'll be around for more testing the next couple days. if he can raise himself to a good number at pmps. otherwise i'll stall and if still lowish, shoot FU
 
thanks Kelly, just fixed SS. left a whole day's data out! told ya, busy couple of days. :lol:
 
does new data suggest dose decrease now? i think tom really really really wants to go otj.
 
I'd still give it another cycle and another set of spot checks if it were me. All depends on what your gut tells you though :-D
 
i tend to be known as a bit of a daredevil...however i know i'm not a night tester once i go to sleep.
i believe the lev takes it easy on tom, and that he self regulates with his liver. that is my gut feeling.
on the other paw...with tom getting better all the time, it's a tough call.
i suppose my dose decrease will depend on his pmps. and even if i have to stall.

oh i just took a +9.5 and he was up to 87. he has double dipped at pmps so we wait.
 
lori and tom said:
i mark hitting 50 as dose decrease time....but y'all think i dose hop too much so i'm putting it out there. it's just one number i know...but still, ....skinny u tonight?

I dunno. Those rules -- like what number deserves a decrease -- are among the many many things in fd management that are due for revision, I think.

For me, the magic number for decrease is a bit of a fiction. The number changes with how the whole curve looks: the flatter the curve, the longer/lower I can hold. A 70 worries me if the curve is all over the place. The more consistency in the numbers over the last 10-14 days, the lower the point where decrease is a necessity. Over in Lantus, the rule they use is 40 deserves a dosecrease. But now you get into the different meters discussion too - and that, as you know, is an abyss.

In general though, in addition to "what's the low number?" I would take into account three other factors -- 1) "what's the morphology of the curve?" (how big is the swing from high to low and back?); 2) at what stage of therapy are we? and 3) how big is the dose?

If a 50 occurs with a cat that is probably not a candidate for remission (but we never know), or it occurs in the early or mid stage of therapy (by reference to possible remission), like where I am now w Tom1, AND the curve is not flat, I would decrease. The higher the dose, the more a decrease is a good idea at 50. Closer to remission, or the pattern that precedes it, and with a low dose (less than .4u), a 45 is just nice if the curve is flat, which it is as you approach remission. The very existence of swings means danger; high dose means risk too because there is just more room for unpredictable interactions. It's a real judgment call, in short.

Just some thoughts.
 
OOOOOOhhhhh Illka, so nice to hear your intelligent diagnosis once again. I most heartily agree that alot of the 'rules' and 'terminology' are due for a revision.
Yes it makes sense to me that if the curve is flat than a 50 is no need for any urgency...but dear Illlka, a flat curve with a 50 midcycle is a time to try to wean kitty off juice no? I mean those would be a day in the greens.
Tom is just starting to flatten out on this 1 unit and today may be very telling as his pmps last night was lower 110 and his +11 this morning was 139 and he just ate so let's knock 30 points off that by amps....and i'll be around for some testing today.
The one thing you know i hate is when i have to spend the day standing guard while Tom is flirting with the 30's...kwim?
 
lori and tom said:
Yes it makes sense to me that if the curve is flat than a 50 is no need for any urgency...but dear Illlka, a flat curve with a 50 midcycle is a time to try to wean kitty off juice no? I mean those would be a day in the greens.
Tom is just starting to flatten out on this 1 unit and today may be very telling as his pmps last night was lower 110 and his +11 this morning was 139 and he just ate so let's knock 30 points off that by amps....and i'll be around for some testing today.
The one thing you know i hate is when i have to spend the day standing guard while Tom is flirting with the 30's...kwim?

Yes, I kwym ;) .. no one wants to stand guard.

Is a flat curve with a 50 midcycle time to wean the kitty off the juice? yes and no. And if yes, how do we do that? Three ways that can all work: hold, decrease, raise.

1) Lowering the dose is the most frequent choice, though not necessarily the best choice. I am always in favor of decreasing if I think it will work -- and yes, sometimes you have to try to know. It is often not my first choice because it might appear to work at first, but you might be tapping into the kitty's bank to pay for the missing insulin, and you won't know that until the bank account gets low and you start getting some yellow and pink slips from accounting ;) Typically these appear in 2-5 cycles after the decrease, but sometimes it takes 20 cycles or more, and by that time plenty of damage has been done because the shed has been depleted in a real way. However, if the kitty is really strong by this time, decrease can work and can open the door toward remission, and it is lovely to see. The risk is that we are betting on a state of health and readiness which, if it is not truly established, will backfire. There are many many charts where you can see cats that were on .5u or even less for long periods and now are on more than 1u -- and if you look back to what happened, you often see a pattern of unsuccessful attempts to coax the cat down by decreasing before it is ready to get with the program.

2) Raising -- this works only if you are increasing in order to be able to decrease, if the curve is flat and the cat needs a little extra experience in really low ranges, or if a stubborn "hold" in the middle ranges needs to be shocked out of the cat's system. The risks of raising if there is any agitation in the curve are too obvious to need commenting.

3) If you hold and extend the kitty's experience of 40 to 99 glucose levels, which is my favorite approach (except you can't maintain for too long) the cat will rewrite the system "memory" and may start to go lower by himself. Why does that happen? it is because the "exogenous" insulin amount he needs at that stage is no longer a fixed quantity, like .X units -- you are not making up for a physical shortfall but instead you are correcting a systemic perception: the insulin you inject is a systemic message, which can be reduced as his own systems begin to support the glucose at the healthy range. When the curve is flat and low it means that there are no competing system memories which produce the snap-back to a higher level, which is (mistakenly, in my view) called "bounce" (or "panicky liver," equally fictitious because the liver makes no decisions but only opens the storehouse if the right molecular key is in the lock).


The coherent view behind this analysis of all three strategies is part of a major revolution in medicine, happening before our eyes, broadly known (or partly known) as the "systems biology" view (ref Dr. Leroy Hood, the immunologist who invented the DNA sequencer, and Craig Venter, who sequenced the human genome and views DNA as a computer). It is based on a kind of conditional equivalence or interchangeability of the physical and the virtual. That is to say, in the case of diabetes, when the cat is hyperglycemic, it is only partly a case that it is caused by lack of insulin or by pancreatic damage -- or rather, to focus on the lack of insulin, which is a fact, is an incomplete view of the disease; it is really that the cat, for reasons not fully understood but which go to the root of its biological intelligence, has entered a system state where it either (a) does not produce insulin though it can, or (b) is not able to bind the insulin to the receptors on the molecular level, and what's more startling, both of these states are responses to system chemical messages which do not originate in pancreatic damage, though they can cause it. So what is really going on? Well, in effect, because of the disease, the internal endocrine system acquires a pathological norm, a parasitic homeostatic state called diabetes which the cat thinks is the "ok state" and to which it snaps back if you correct it with insulin. It is a software problem that causes a hardware problem, and in the case of Type 2 diabetes, at least, can uncause it. Thus the systems view (the diabetes as a corrupt memory) reveals a disorder involving the cooperation of all the other endocrine players -- glucagon, liver response, etc. Hyperglycemia corrupts or deletes the healthy systemic hormonal registers, and over-writes them with the pathological one that supports diabetes as if it were normal.

Just some more thoughts.. ;)
 
Yes thank you dear Illka, it is of course a bit over my head...but i get the gist.
lori
and tomtom too!
 
btw, tom was on his way to leveling out but today going back upwards. will take it very slow for dosecrease tho.
 
lori and tom said:
btw, tom was on his way to leveling out but today going back upwards. will take it very slow for dosecrease tho.


Hey, you haven't updated Tomitude's ss. How can we interfere with (and undermine) your perfectly good therapy plan if you don't keep us in the loop? Heh...

And believe me, right now my contribution and probably that of many others around here, is just more or less holding our breath, with the numbers that you have -- the only note of concern being the scale of the dose, so we know there is a way to go. The comment I have on that, in response to your earlier question which I managed not to answer in spite of the long post, is that we don't really bring the cat toward the Falls, the cat books its own flight and we just help make sure it gets to the airport. Tom2 will decide. Right now, you guys are in synch and it is a thing of joy to behold.

Ilkka
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top