Another Day. Another bounce.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sev

Member Since 2011
Looks like Kitty's still bouncing. However not as wildly. Which I would suspect is a good thing.
I took Sues advice and posted a thread in the Prozinc section.
I am not sure what my next move should be at this point.
Tomorrow Kitty goes to the vet to have his glucose tested and I will be bringing a copy of the spreadsheet with me.
Hopefully the numbers are good enough to be able to get his teeth cleaned.
 
Replied on PZI, Sev.

Unless you want to have the vet do the curve, you can just share your numbers from the past few days. If Kitty is at all stressed at the vet, the numbers there will be inflated and not nearly as accurate as yours.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Replied on PZI, Sev.

Unless you want to have the vet do the curve, you can just share your numbers from the past few days. If Kitty is at all stressed at the vet, the numbers there will be inflated and not nearly as accurate as yours.

Hey Sue.
I hear ya. I mentions I have been testing at home and have a spread sheet. They were kind of insisting that I bring him in. Also I want to have his gums checked. They look good. However I am a little suspicious of a small area around the canines. It appears a little read. However I am not quite sure what I am looking at either.
I also need to get an accurate number on his weight to make sure he still is not shrinking.
One good thing since the weight loss he is doing a lot more leaping and climbing.
 
Hi Sev,
Here's what I'm afraid is going to happen at the vet - they are going to see all those 500s and tell you he needs more insulin. I hope you have gathered enough info by now that you will not be talked in to increasing the dose. I'm glad to see that lowering the dose by half has worked, but you probably need to lower it again.

The curve you got on the 2nd is extraordinary and a great catch. That harsh of a drop still says too much insulin to me. It is highly likely Kitty needs very little insulin. I see on the PZI forum a drop to .5U was recommended by Robin and I second that, if not even to .25U.

Again, 500s are an indication of too much insulin, especially when insulin has been administered for more than several days; newly diagnosed cats not on insulin are more likely to have such high BGs.

Prozinc is working very well for Kitty, as it's able to bring his BGS down considerably, so I don't think there is cause to consider an insulin switch. We just have to get the dose right and he may be a good candidate for OTJ. Seriously.

Good luck at the vets - I'm sure they will be impressed with your setting up a spreadsheet. From what I understand, most vets don't see this much owner involvement with feline diabetes. Kudos to you! You're doing a great job and thanks for trusting people on the internet!
 
Vicky & Gandalf (GA) said:
Hi Sev,
Here's what I'm afraid is going to happen at the vet - they are going to see all those 500s and tell you he needs more insulin. I hope you have gathered enough info by now that you will not be talked in to increasing the dose. I'm glad to see that lowering the dose by half has worked, but you probably need to lower it again.

The curve you got on the 2nd is extraordinary and a great catch. That harsh of a drop still says too much insulin to me. It is highly likely Kitty needs very little insulin. I see on the PZI forum a drop to .5U was recommended by Robin and I second that, if not even to .25U.

Again, 500s are an indication of too much insulin, especially when insulin has been administered for more than several days; newly diagnosed cats not on insulin are more likely to have such high BGs.

Prozinc is working very well for Kitty, as it's able to bring his BGS down considerably, so I don't think there is cause to consider an insulin switch. We just have to get the dose right and he may be a good candidate for OTJ. Seriously.

Good luck at the vets - I'm sure they will be impressed with your setting up a spreadsheet. From what I understand, most vets don't see this much owner involvement with feline diabetes. Kudos to you! You're doing a great job and thanks for trusting people on the internet!

Thanks Vicky!

The Vet can talk all he wants. I prefer under drugged than over drugged.
The internet can be full of dubious information. However people tend to take problems with animals and especially their person pets very seriously.
It was one of the sites on Binky's page. So it had to be good. :)
 
Good news is Kitty's weight appears to be stable. I got him to sit on my digital scale and he still weighted 11lbs.
 
He bounced to 570 @ +1.
Second test was 460.

Unnnnnnnnnnn. Starting to not to trust this tester.
 
Have you tested yourself? I tested myself more than a few times the first few days just to make sure my meter was good.
 
SaraM2261 said:
Have you tested yourself? I tested myself more than a few times the first few days just to make sure my meter was good.

Ahh no.
I am getting some wild swings from the meter. I have been double testing.
I have had over 100 point differences.
 
You can also get control solutions which are supposed to give answers in a a given range. (And if you're not diabetic you should get a number right around 100.) If the meter's bad, the store should replace it for free.
 
bookw0rm said:
You can also get control solutions which are supposed to give answers in a a given range. (And if you're not diabetic you should get a number right around 100.) If the meter's bad, the store should replace it for free.

+7 331 Just tested +8 and got 537. Tested a second time and got 540. So was +7 wrong??? How do I trust the readings?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top