Angie 6/6 pmps=182 +3=106 +4=86 +5=79

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL,

Today I didn't have to think about putting the month before the date!

I'm excited about this amps - especially as last night's was 122. She wasn't so very high before but it's nice to see the trend downwards. I'm going to give the vet a call as soon as they open to ask about the antibiotics. I'd like to get her started without further delay. Could the URI have caused her relapse? The vet thought it was more likely a low grade infection that was worsened by the same stresses that caused her relapse. I'm just hoping she'll go OTJ again!

Yesterday's condo is here.

Grace
 
Re: Angie 6/6 amps=133 +1.5=148 +4=72

I had one appointment this morning so I got in a +1.5 before I left. With that increase I wondered if I had done a fur shot. I went out without worry and came back for her +4. I have another appointment and am on my way now. I just really hope that the +4 was her nadir and she doesn't keep dropping. I gave her some more low carb food before I left. I'll be back by +6.5. :-|
 
Re: Angie 6/6 amps=133 +2=148 +4=72 pmps=182

:sad: Just when I was celebrating Angie's lovely low numbers. I suppose it's not such a bad number in the scheme of things.

I have to be out tomorrow morning at +3 as well. I don't know how you guys with jobs manage? Once I start working I'll need to be out of the house between 8 am and 6 pm on those days. If I get up early to shoot and test through to her nadir, I wouldn't be home on time to shoot again.
 
Re: Angie 6/6 pmps=182 +3=106 - when to test next?

Good evening everyone,

That was quite a big drop. Angie is a bit angry this evening - she growled through her pm test and she had never done that before. I am worried about the big drop and want to test frequently enough but I don't want to overtest and make her more angry.

Should I test in half an hour or can I wait an hour?

Grace
 
Re: Angie 6/6 pmps=182 +3=106 - when to test next?

Hi Grace,

I don't use the same insulin as you but, looking at Angie's spreadsheet, it seems that she usually does most of her dropping in the first 3 hours after the shot, is that right? and so may well slow down now.

Have to say though that I am a testaholic, and so if it were my cat I'd be re-testing sooner rather than later. Better safe than sorry... (Mind you, Bertie doesn't have Angie's temperament.... :roll: )

Edited to add: My cat is prone to steep BG drops (sputtering pancreas stuff) and I spend a lot of time on my little calculator dividing the amount of the drop by the number of minutes that drop has taken, and then multiplying by 60 to get an idea of how fast the BG is dropping per hour. Then, I might give him a little snack, and do the whole calculation again after maybe 15 - 20 minutes. This may well sound like a long-winded way of doing things, but it really helps me to get a feel for how the BG is speeding up or slowing down through time.

I hope Angie is OK now. I'm sure there will be Lantus users online soon.

Waving 'Hi' from the opposite side of the planet! :smile:

Eliz
 
Re: Angie 6/6 pmps=182 +3=106 - when to test next?

Thanks Elizabeth,

You've just spelled out what's been going through my mind! I hate not testing!! But I also don't want to upset her too much. I've left it longer than half an hour. Maybe I'll just split the difference and test now - 45 mins after the last one.
 
Re: Angie 6/6 pmps=182 +3=106 - when to test next?

Good plan! I'd also give Angie a bit of LC (a teaspoon or two) to slow things down and encourage a surf.
 
Re: Angie 6/6 pmps=182 +3=106 +4=86 +5=79 - when to test nex

Hi again LL,

It's my perennial question - when to test next? That +4 and 5 would be the same thing right? Does that mean I can go to sleep? Do I need to wait until she's clearly coming up again?

Thank you all for your help. I'd be so much more lost without you!

Grace
 
Re: Angie 6/6 pmps=182 +3=106 +4=86 +5=79 - when to test nex

Will Angie eat on her own? I think you could leave food out for her and call it a night. She seems to nadir on the early side of +6. It is always a worry though, I know what you mean.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top