Angel's journey w prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

raysofhope

Member Since 2012
Thank you for all the help, i wasn't aware ,Gheesh, my vet said as long as she stays below 300 during the day she will be ok,,I know that hasn't been the case lately?but now I know what to do ( I think)
I found out that she does eat fast sometimes and that the Friskies turkey and giblets may be causing some of her issues. I updated her ss last night. Will do a test at 3:00pm today and see where she is at.


Also is there a guideline for tight regulation for prozinc? Not sure where to find the information on it.
 
There is no tight regulation on this site. There is another site on the web that uses one but we generally think it is unsafe as it assumes every cat is the same and gives guidelines that suggest x amount for insulin for x pre shot. Here is the protocol we use:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077

As you get more data, you can be more adventurous with the doses, shooting insulin into lower numbers or raising the dose more at a time or faster. As you look at the spreadsheets on this page, we do have people shooting numbers under 150, but they have lots of data on their cat and can reasonably predict how low the insulin might take him/her. And they rarely do that unless there will be someone around to monitor the cat. And there are people shooting more insulin that you are into the same range of numbers, but they also have lots of information on how their cats did on a certain dose with a range of numbers.

Generally first we are looking for regulation = pre shots in the mid 200s with nadirs in the 100s or below, but not below 50.
 
raysofhope said:
I found out that she does eat fast sometimes and that the Friskies turkey and giblets may be causing some of her issues.

I stopped feeding Friskies turkey & giblets to Rumpelteazer about a month ago.
I think it was the flavor that was making her do "Goopie Stinkie Poopies".
ohmygod_smile Smell permeated the whole ten-room house....not exagerating. :lol:
Other Friskies flavors seemed to reduce the GSP's.

I recently switched her to only Fancy Feast.

RumpelT does eat fast.
ohmygod_smile Eats her food in less than a minute and then looks for food crumbs that my civies knocked off of their plates. :roll:

Sue's link below has a ton of info regarding ProZinc. She did a lot of work creating it. It will help you a lot....but if you have any more questions, feel free to post them. We are here to help you. :-D
 
Once you get a lot more data, you will know your cat and as long as you monitor closely and know what to do, you can shoot lower numbers. I shot a 151 this morning!

I agree, read all of the information on ProZinc on the board. It is very helpful!
 
Gheeze mid 200's that makes me nervous.. but I am trying my best here. I will post her number tonight.. I just had to give her 1.0 this morning , had a bit of an emergency and didnt have time to check her.. then this afternoon, I missed her time slot to check her.. tomorrow will be a better day.

thanks for all the info. I hope to get better and get things straightened out with her.. thank you again
 
It'll get better. Sue's ProZinc protocol is truly awesome. I read it often to help me out. My baby girls numbers are high still but she is pretty regulated. It took awhile to get there but she made it. Now we work on getting her numbers down. It's taking time and it can get frustrating but my dose increases are small after several days of high numbers with her nadir not going down enough. Like everyone says, it takes time and all the data you can get. I try to get mid cycle tests on the weekends since I can't during the week. It'll get better! Just remember how much it means to our sweet sugar cats!
 
RumpelT does eat fast.
ohmygod_smile Eats her food in less than a minute and then looks for food crumbs that my civies knocked off of their plates. :roll:

That is so my Tommy!I laughed as I read that as he also gets done first as well, and will lick the other bowls absolutely clean!! Even the dog doesn't get leftover food scraps!
 
Sandy&Tommy said:
RumpelT does eat fast.
ohmygod_smile Eats her food in less than a minute and then looks for food crumbs that my civies knocked off of their plates. :roll:

That is so my Tommy!I laughed as I read that as he also gets done first as well, and will lick the other bowls absolutely clean!! Even the dog doesn't get leftover food scraps!

:lol: Makes it easier to wash the plates + no food is wasted. :smile: :lol:
 
Yes she is eating better, 3days without vomit!! And her numbers do seem to be going down a bit gave her tad over 1.0 this morn Will tests at 3:00pm unless she gets sick or something. And get my numbers up on as soon after for you..
 
I just updated Angels ss. let me know if I am headed in the right direction.
also the new u100 syringes I got have a shorter needle , is that ok?? seems a bit more comfortable , if they will work.
 
She's looking good. She still could drop in a lower range, but I'd give each increase a couple cycles to settle. The shorter needles should be fine.
 
Thanks for letting me know.. I am going to try the 1.1 until tomorrow night and see what happens with it. then Maybe Sat increase a tiny bit more..I cant thank you enough your helping me soo much,

Diana
 
The 1.1 looks like it did good so far today. And.....no vomiting + eating better. cat_pet_icon

I agree with Sue to keep it for a few cycles to see how it goes. Keep those mid-cylce tests going...gives us the data we need to see how the dose is working.

Looking forward to seeing PMPS tonight. :smile:
 
Hi Every one.. I got a good number today on Angel!!

I am just wondering if one of you can tell me , should I keep her on the 1.1 tonight or how do I judge how
much to give her/?

Also What is a furshot? I read this on China's ss

thanks again,
Diana
 
Isn't blue a nice color? Yes, I'd stick with the 1.1. She has room to drop at preshot and nadir. You might also get a higher number for pmps as she may bounce from that blue.

A fur shot is when the insulin doesn't go in the cat. You can usually smell and feel the insulin on the fur. It happens to everyone, even the most experienced. Some they moved away, sometimes you go out the other side with the needle, sometimes you push the plunger too early. But regardless, the hard and fast rule is to never shoot a second dose. You just can't be sure how little or how much went in.
 
I'd give it a few more cycles. She got a real nice drop today, and yes, she bounced. It isn't that the dose didn't work. It's that her body wasn't used to such a low number and so it released some extra glucose.
 
Getting some better numbers.. Had family emergency yest. missed Angles Aftrnoon check.
Yesterday morning my husband mistakenly gave her higher carb food at 6:30am :( oh well

Think I should keep her on the 1.1 for a while. what do you think?? I AM going to check her at 3:00pm today.


Checked her at 2:30 was 113.. What do you think??
 
Nice BLUE :-D

Let's see how she does at PMPS tonight. Dose change will depend on if she drops or goes up at that time.

We will be watching. :smile:
 
Shoot , she was 445! so gave her the same dose.. what do you think I should do now? is she bouncing from too much?
 
I think she is bouncing from the lovely blue today. I'd reduce if she went down to the 40-50 range at nadir - then you figure you need to reduce the dose even though she bounces because she was in a hypo range. if she bounces from a nice nadir number like today, you figure the dose is working fine and her body just needs to get used to the lower range. They bounce still they stop - some people call it liver training - bouncing until their liver learns to recognize a nice normal number.

Does that make sense? I 'd stick with the dose and get a before bed test if you can.
 
Sorry didn't get a reading last night but she was 401 this morning??? How long does this usually last? The ups and downs ,so that I know when to adjust her dosage?
 
She is dropping over 50% at nadir - maybe was a little lower before or after your midycle test yesterday - which is a nice drop and gets her into blues. But yes, it is likely to cause a bounce.
The only way I know to smooth the cycle out is to offer small frequent snacks to bring the lower numbers up a bit. But you already do that, right?

The ugly answer :mrgreen: is that they will bounce until they stop. It's different for every cat because every cat metabolizes the insulin differently. Some never bounce, some a little, some a lot, some for a few days or weeks, some for months. Have you been wearing those patience pants? :-D
 
Thanks so much!! Yes I do feed her especially a little at noon and then at 3 if I can time it right.yes it's taking me a little time to get used to those pants but I am trying :-D
 
Seems that she has stopped vomiting. :-D Sooooo....maybe it is kind of like starting over....just a thought. At least you are seeing more blues lately.

Rumpelteazer liked to bounce in the beginning...still does a little bit at times.

It does take time for our sugarcats to adjust....PATIENCE PANTS !!! :smile: ;-)

You are doing a wonderful job...Angel will supprise you when "she" is ready. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top