Angel's big day tomorrow!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

SweetAngel

Member Since 2014
Well, tomorrow Angel goes for his trial assessment at the RVC. (best UK vet training centre)

I get him back sometime on Wednesday. As long as he is otherwise healthy (fingers crossed), he will be started on either Lantus or PZI. Not only would my baby be on a much better insulin, but would get 6 months free insulin, a years free Purina DM wet, and an alphatrak meter. I so want this for him, he's jut the sweetest boy and deserves the best chance of remission. If for any reason he's not accepted (which would devastate me as it would mean there is something else wrong too) I would talk to them about asking my vet to switch insulin anyway.

Please keep your fingers crossed for my Angel, he is extra sweet in EVERY way xx
 
Fingers crossed for you.

You might share with them our web link so if interested, they could come take a look at what we do.
 
Will be thinking of you and Angel tomorrow, Cassandra.

I'm guessing the folks at the RVC will be impressed with your hometesting skills! (and with how much you've learned about feline diabetes. You've learned so much in a very short time.)

Keeping fingers and paws crossed here that everything goes well with Angel's trial assessment.
And I know you're bound to be a bit concerned about him while he's away from home, but DO try to take opportunity to have some 'quality time' for yourself.

Big hug to you (and chin scratches to Angel),

Eliz
 
(((BJM and Eliz)))

If it wasn't for this board I would never have heard of this trial or home testing. I owe so much, what is left of my sanity, and Angel's health, possibly even his life. Of course I will share the info with the clinic, it's the same one Joleo goes to. I'll also be printing out Angel's spreadsheets.

Much as I will miss my little ginger monster, I know he will be in the best place getting the best care. I'd hoped to be able to spend some quality time with my boyfriend, but his mate/boss is around for 2 weeks solid and he has to be around 24/7 to be his personal chauffeur. Anyway my friend Hazel and I will go somewhere nice after Angel gets checked in, then I usually go over to Matt and Hazel's on a Monday anyway (they are cat lovers and Angel is Matt's favourite)

At least I will get a couple of nights unbroken sleep, because of the -200/11.1 pmps readings his night shot time has been about 12.30-1am and I've been setting the alarm for 5-5.30 to check he's ok and if any worries test him.

I'm still not the greatest with home testing so I'm going to get them to show me the best way to do it, put it this way if I applied the 3 tries rule I'd hardly ever get a sample.

I've noticed that his bg levels seem to stay lower for longer in the 12 hours after the morning shot than in the 12 hours after the night shot. Maybe daytime activity helps his pancreas work? I've had some lovely low nadir numbers lately and only one pink pre shot reading since the 9th. I'm so, so excited for Angel, fingers crossed on the better insulin, whether from the trial or my vet, things can only get better for him? At best remission for ever, at worst regulation? (Of course now I'm worried I'll jinx it and get a red number or something.)

All 3 are now having mostly the low carb wet, Angel is on only low carb wet. I give the girls just a bit of the Hills dry they were on before as well and am using up the last box of the gravy gourmet.

Well my little Cera has come for a cuddle, going to make a big fuss of her esp since the other 2 are high maintenance and I want to make sure she doesn't miss out! xx
 
Thanks Deb,

He's continuing to get lovely low numbers on the caninsulin and low carb food so I'm hopeful that he will do well assuming everything is ok with him and he's accepted. I'll post again when I have news, will miss my big ginger lump for 2 nights. Bit worried about Lianna, she seems depressed, hope it's just the hot weather.

xx
 
Oh good luck! I have a feeling your Angel will do wonderfully and you'll have good news! Get a good nights' sleep and enjoy some private time. A lot of folks do not realize that when one loves a pet it's the same as loving any family member, therefore, taking a break from care with an ill kitty simply makes us all better caregivers all around.

Simmie and I are excited to hear how it all works out. Sweet dreams!
 
Thanks Lydette and everyone.

Just a very quick update as it's been a long day...after getting Angel settled in I went back with Hazel as Matt's done his back in. Just got back now. Spoke to vet around 5pm uk time and fingers crossed it's looking good. Angel's health is otherwise great apart from the diabetes and as long as tomorrow goes ok he will be accepted and will be getting PZI, which is what I wanted for him. Will write with more details tomorrow but fingers crossed....

xx
 
SweetAngel said:
...as long as tomorrow goes ok he will be accepted and will be getting PZI...
Yay! (I think the RVC have so far seen more remissions with PZI than with Lantus).
Keeping everything crossed for you here.

Looking forward to your next update, Cassandra.

Eliz
 
Hi Cassandra,

Keeping all manner of things crossed for Angel. Looking forward to hearing how you both get on.
 
Aww best of luck with Angel! Right now I'm in the process of trying to finding a vet and or make her current vet get my Pinky off of Novolin.
 
thanks Aine and Danica, Danica, were there any vets near you on that list?

Update on Angel, they called again and he is doing great. Yesterday they said apart from the diabetes he had a clean bill of health. He even fell asleep during his heart scan and his ultra sound. His fructosamine levels are down too. Now he's hooked up to a glucose monitor and they said, oh it was a bit high today for him it was 15 (uk), well that is great considering the strange environment coz I'be only been getting below 15 for the past few days.

So it is looking really, really promising for the trial, I collect him tomorrow, hopefully with a supply of Prozinc. She couldn't say too much about the possibilities of remission, but said he is starting from a really good place, also that he's coped excellently with everything. So I'm hoping....

Won't be online much longer tonight, my other favourite man (along with Angel and my dad) has sent me a tv script to proofread, he's got a type of dyslexia so that's my evening sorted!!!
Hope I'll have some exciting news tomorrow
xx
 
So glad that everything is going well for Angel, Cassandra!

And is he going to be on Prozinc? I didn't know that was available in the UK! (Maybe the RVC are trialling it prior to general distribution...?)

Eliz
 
SweetAngel said:
thanks Aine and Danica, Danica, were there any vets near you on that list?
Sadly, no vets on the list anywhere near me, I did however find a cat only vet near me, I'm currently discussing with her Pinky's situation. She's a small practice so I'm hoping she can take both Pinky and her little sister Harley as patients.
 
YES!!!!

Angel officially on the trial and sent home having had his first dose of Prozinc, with free food, insulin, glucometer and thank god I get free test strips for the year too! Eliz, yes it is Prozinc, and if he were to have a positive response but not to go into remission, he could carry on with it. He is one of only a few cats in the UK to be on Prozinc, so hopefully he will be helping future generations of sugar cats. This would never have happened if it wasn't for this board and I owe so, so much. I am so happy for Angel, I know he has the best chance possible of beating this thing.

Danica, good luck with the vet.

Well it's been another long day, Angel hates being in a car at the best of times, it's a boiling hot day and my friend has no air con in her car. All I want to do is relax but she said she's going to come back after her dr's appt and make a start on my front garden with is triffid city at the moment, aaaargh. She's so kind but I'm sooooo tired.
xx
 
Woohoo! Great news!

Well done for getting this brilliant opportunity for Angel.
And re the Prozinc, I knew it had been licensed for use in the UK (just last year, I think) and was wondering when it might become available here. It looks like this is the beginning of that happening. It would be wonderful if Prozinc was available here soon on a general basis. Vets could prescribe it immediately (because it is a 'veterinary medicine') without having to automatically put cats onto Caninsulin.

Cassandra, there's lots of info on Prozinc in the PZI/Prozinc forum here at FDMB if you want to do a bit of reading (after you've rested, of course!)
I know you're absolutely tired out....

Big hug to you,

Eliz
 
Congratulations Cassandra and extra sweetie Angel for getting accepted into that diabetes study. Yes, you and Angel are pioneers for all kitties in the UK in using the Prozinc insulin. Hope Angel does well.

What food do you have to feed to Angel? You said the food was provided as part of the study.

Hope you got some good rest after your long day yesterday.
 
[ happydance ] Yay!!!! Angel's on ProZinc! [ /happydance ] :-D

Great news for you both, Cassandra. I'm delighted to hear that Angel's been accepted into the trial. Saoirse and I are surrounded by more ley lines than you can shake a stick at down here. Sending waves of positive energy along them to your darling boy. (((Angel)))

Like everyone else, I can't wait to hear how Angel gets on.
 
(((hugs))) everyone.

Well Angel is just soooo happy to be home. He hated the car journey, he was panting with the heat despite windows being open. His appetite is better than it's been for a while and he even (under supervision) came out of the front door and wandered round the close (I live in a cul de sac) whilst his poor exhausted mummy did THREE HOURS of gardening.

His bg is slightly higher than it's been but I think that's due to me now having a (free) alphatrak rather than everything he's been through. Apparently he was so chilled that he fell asleep when he had his heart scan and ultrasound. Ruth (the vet) showed me how to freehand with a hypodermic needle and gave me some, but tonight I tried the device with the alphatrak and got perfect blood first time. I've given him prozinc for the first time, managed to give it about 45 mins early too as his numbers were high enough. I'll be glad when I can give him his nadir test at a decent hour not 5am!!!

I'm hoping it's just the hot weather that is affecting Lianna, she's started to want me to pick her up after she's had a wee and got out of the tray, and carry her back to the room. I've got to take Angel to his normal vets for a check up next week and also do a curve (which I will try to do at home!!) but think I will try to make a provisional appt for Lili on Friday. I have the bedroom windows open for her so she doesn't get too hot, and the biggest moth in the world flew at me in the bathroom at a very inconvenient moment!!!

I think we will all sleep well tonight (apart from when I have to wake up for nadir test at about 4.am)!! Just hope he comes in, he's just tonight learnt to somehow open the cat flap and get out when it's set to in only for Cera. Might drag them both back in and keep them in if I can find them.

xx
 
Glad you're all home safe, settled and (hopefully) in a triffid-free zone. :smile:

Like you, I found the first while with home testing really tricky because the vet taught me to warm Saoirse's ear with a wad of warmed, damp cotton wool. This went down like a lead balloon with her nibs and she used to fold up her ears, and cringe and wriggle a lot. I read somewhere online that some people hold a small plastic container filled with warm water next to the ear to draw up the blood into the vein. Then I had a brainwave. I took the plastic test tube from a Katkor urine test kit (unused!) and filled that with water to warm Saoirse's ear. The rounded bottom of the tube means that there is no sharp edge against her skin and it worked a treat. I stand the filled tube in a mug of warmed water while I apply the Vaseline to her ear so that it doesn't lose heat while I'm preparing the test site. I wipe it dry then hold the edge of her ear against it. It only takes a few minutes now to get a blood sample. Saoirse's much more relaxed about tests now - even purrs sometimes! But that's just peanuts to the relief I feel that I'm not distressing her as much as I did during my first clumsy attempts.

Sweet dreams to you and your Sweet Angel.
 
ohmygod_smile
How great!!!!!! Wonderful news!

Get some rest - if you are not rested your baby will have a harder time as well. I myself am on an all-nighter since I am transitioning Simmie to a different schedule today. Actually, if you are awake and need to take with someone pls send me a pm and I'll give you my phone info so we can chat.

Anyway I am really sleepy so I'm going to say 'Nightie Night!' but I will be awake and monitoring Simme. Got to admit that I will probably does off a couple of times..oy, very tired.

Sleep tight all! Much love and Simmie says "You're the best!"
 
aaah, Angel and I love you all!!!

Bless him and Cera, they both came in after I'd gone offline so I kept them both in overnight.

Deb, the food is the Purina DM, you can choose wet or dry, of course I chose wet. I also give him other wet which is very low carb and they said that is fine.

Angel was fine when the alarm went off and I risked not testing him. When I woke up at the proper time he was lying right next to me, so forgiving. He's had amps and his 2nd dose of Prozinc, so much easier to inject him with his fur shaved. Lydette, are you in UK too? I'll pm you later anyway. Simmie is gorgeous, this board has the best looking cats!!

I've to take Angel for a check up this week and also have a curve done, which I may do at home if I feel confident enough. The lancet device with the alphatrak is much easier to use plus I may try freehanding.

I may see if I can take Lianna to the vets on Saturday, it's supposed to be really hot here tomorrow and taking her in the very hot weather would not be good for her. Still hoping it's just the weather but I think there may be a problem with her front legs. It may be to do with the blindness and getting confused where she is. I've opened all the windows upstairs and if it gets really hot there I'll take the fan up.

Well as I was typing this there was a crash from the kitchen, Angel had jumped up on the surface where I keep the cat food containers and was trying to break into the dry food, he'd knocked something on the water bowl which had smashed (they have fountains too). Little monster! I've given him some more dm, this is a cat who when he was ONLY allowed dry would do anything for wet, now he's not allowed dry you would think he was addicted to it.

Am going to sit out for an hour and chill with Cera and Angel and will be online tonight xx
 
So pleased to see you're in the trial! And you have the same insulin we have :-D

Our protocol changed recently to giving him the insulin half an hour after food. One day I was doing a curve and Bert's amps was 8.7. I rang the hospital and they told me to inject as normal, which was the right advice, as his +2 was 12, so be aware of that possibility. That seems to be how the curve goes now we're doing it after food - slight rise and then a nice fall. But they're really great at answering worries & questions.

We were doing brilliantly up until the last couple of days, and Bert was down to half a unit. However he was having some high numbers this week, so I talked to Ruth again today and he's back up to one unit. She said remission is still on the cards, but we might have to be patient. Poor Bert - these days I just walk up to wherever he is and stick a needle in his ear - it's a far cry from the ceremony we used to go through :smile: but honestly, we do it so often I just don't have the heart to faff.

FWIW Bert is also trying to break into the dry food tin we have for our other cat, not to mention *anything else* he fancies. He was always like that before, so it's nice to have perky Bertie back, even if it's a pita :-D

Hope Angel responds as well to the prozinc - fingers crossed!!
 
Thanks Jo, there's another girl on facebook and her cat just started the trial last week with Prozinc!!!

I've been used to shooting after food with the caninsulin, if I had numbers below 200 at +12 I've made sure Angel has had quite a bit of food and tested his bg again after 30 mins-1 hour, so guess I'll carry on doing that. So far it's looking promising, his +5 reading today was 4.7 (95) on the alphatrak! I'm finding it much easier to hometest with the lancing device, the one on the codefree was hit and miss and his poor ears look like dart boards!!

Hope Bert gets back to his low numbers, what are you feeding him on? I give Angel the Purina dm wet from the clinic, and sometimes Gourmet pate and Bozita, everything is 7% carb or lower.

Ruth said your Bert is lovely, I said I sort of knew you! She couldn't believe how laid back Angel is, he fell asleep while he was having various tests!!

Fingers crossed for our furbabies going into remission xx
 
Hi Cassandra,

It looks like things are going well for Angel. He wasn't actually doing badly on the Caninsulin, but the Prozinc - with it's longer duration - could make a huge difference to him.

You may be interested to read Sue's ('Sue and Oliver's) protocol for Prozinc. There may be some useful info there for you.
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077
Although Prozinc is uber-new to the UK our US cousins have been using it for quite a while now, and there are some experienced folks here who may be able to answer any specific questions you have about it.

Keeping fingers crossed that your Angel (and Jo's Bert!) improve 'in leaps and bounds'! :-D

Eliz

PS. Will PM you with directions to my house from the nearby train station. Can't believe our lunch thingy is a little more than a week away. I better start tidying up soon (SO not my thing. I think I'm the messiest person on the planet... :shock: )
 
SweetAngel said:
his +5 reading today was 4.7 (95) on the alphatrak!
Hi again, Cassandra,

My very sleepy brain only just twigged that you got that 4.7 (95) at +5 on Alphatrak. (That could be around 3.7 on a human meter).
That's a lovely number! But just be aware that the nadir for Prozinc is around +5 to +7, so the number that you get at +5 may not be the lowest of the cycle. I'm guessing that - with your super hometesting skills - you'll very soon work out when the nadir of the cycle is for Angel on Prozinc.

Eliz
 
Thanks Eliz,

I know, looking good. BTW, does anyone know if there is a rough comparison chart for alphatrak v human monitor readings? I don't mind if its in US numbers.

Well I just tested Angel to see if it was ok to shoot at +11 and he was 7.1/128 on alphatrak!!! He wants supper though. Still, assuming he's ok to shoot at just before midnight I'll set the alarm for 6 hours later and maybe get a bit more sleep (with this weather, unlikely!!). I haven't done an overnight nadir test on Prozinc yet, just woken up and made sure he's ok (he's usually on the bed) and seen if he wants food or not. Now he wants to go out, he is joking, I'm not having a repeat of lat night when he was out in the storm and I was out in the garden getting drenched looking for him!!

Eliz, Soooo looking forward to next week, will pm you over the weekend xx
 
Just a moment, I'll get you the glucose reference ranges.

Also see my signature link Glucometer Notes
 
Human meters are roughly 30-40% lower than pet meters. Keep in mind the +/- 20% meter variability which can happen, too.

[false assumptions removed by moderator]

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top