Angel update PMPS too low to shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SweetAngel

Member Since 2014
hi, well Angel and I are both back home and this is the first chance I have had to post.

Had some lovely low numbers in the last 24 hours, his PMPS was 10.2 / just over 180 so I delayed his shot for an hour and re tested and his bg was 13.2 mmol_l. I can't give the US equivalent as the US spreadsheet isn't updating for some reason, the world version is fine. I gave him exactly 1 unit, did I do the right thing delaying for an hour or should I have risked shooting at the right time? BTW his AMPS test and shot this morning were 2.5 hours late as I was sick and sleeping, but his PMPS test with the low number was done 12 hours after his delayed AMPS test, not 12 hours after he SHOULD have had his AMPS test. I've just shoved a load of (low carb) food under his nose as I was worried about another delayed shot and forgot to feed pre shot. (It's only 10 mins since his shot though!!)

Of course, now I'm going to have to test him at 4 and maybe again at 5am UK time, his nadir seems to be about +5. Can't risk not testing with his numbers being this low, last night +5 bg was 5mmol_l / 90 after a PMPS of 19.2 / approx 342 so I'm worried. I've given him the Purina DM just now, at 7% carb it's the highest carb I give him. Usually give between 0-2.5%.
UPDATE: 4.30 am UK time (yawn!) his bg is fine 6.4 / 115 so have chilled out.
I HOPE all this is good news but the numbers have been all over the place. Fingers crossed for Monday when he goes for his assessment.

I will catch up with everyone sometime tomorrow, been so busy since I got back.

xxx
 
Welcome back, Cassandra, I hope you managed to get a good break.
(Sorry to hear you've been sick again though...)

Those numbers in your post look good. (6.4/115 at +4..?)
Looking forward to hearing from you later.

Eliz

PS. To convert world numbers to US numbers you multiply by 18, or vice versa.
 
Thanks Eliz, my own silly fault as I've been overdoing things since I got back!!!

Looking at Angel's chart I think he should probably be on 1.2 - 1.25 units. After his fab low numbers at +12 I just gave him 1 unit. I tested him at +11 today to try to start bringing his shot time to a more acceptable 4 hour night test time and he was high (ish) again, 17.1 / 307 so I gave him the 1.2. Hopefully after the weekend he may be on Lantus or PZI. Meanwhile whilst he's on the caninsulin do you think it's safe for me to shoot at below 11.1 if I just give him 1 unit? (say above 8 on a human glucometer?)

My friend who looked after him just gave me a load of u100 syringes so I've printed out the conversion chart. The markings are no worse than the ones on the caninsulin syringes.
Hope they can sort my spreadsheet problem out, I've tried a few things and US one still not updating.

Hope you and Bertie are both doing great, and really looking forward to meeting you both. I'm slightly better since I started taking the gaviscon advance regularly and switched from ppi's to ranitadene.(which I can't spell). My bf brought vodka and coke round which is absolutely forbidden and I hardly suffered at all afterwards!

xx
 
The US page of the spreadsheet should have a link to the world page multiplying the number by 18. If there is no formula in the cell, it can't do that.
 
hi BJM, it worked fine at first.

It doesn't work with the new cells I added. I downloaded again and was going to start another but the world version only has 21 rows and I don't want to start another every 3 weeks. AAAARGH google!!! Hope everything is going well with the garage kitties, and with you of course x
 
Hi Cassandra,

It's good that you're feeling slightly better.

SweetAngel said:
Hopefully after the weekend he may be on Lantus or PZI. Meanwhile whilst he's on the caninsulin do you think it's safe for me to shoot at below 11.1 if I just give him 1 unit?
One unit has dropped Angel's BG by around 5.5/100 on a number of occasions, and has dropped him as much as 10.6/191. If you want to try shooting at lower than 11/200 (human meter), then, if it were me, I would reduce the dose and would try it initially only when I could be around to check the BG during the first half of the cycle. Again, if it were me, I'd possibly try a .75 at a preshot of just below 11/200. The difficulty is though that when Angel drops he can really drop; so I do think it would need very careful monitoring.
Others here may have different views, so do wait and see what others say.

SweetAngel said:
Hope you and Bertie are both doing great...
Bertie's a bit poorly at the moment. He has an infection (what seems to be a deep abcess on his flank). Might need a little operation, but vet not keen to put him under anaesthetic, so we're hoping antibiotics do the trick... nailbite_smile

Eliz
 
Thanks Eliz, I'm going to play it safe coz only a few days to his assessment.

Sending all my love and thoughts to you and Bertie, hope he doesn't need an op. Poor boy, how did it happen? Call me if you feel like a chat. Oh...meant to ask in my first post, is it safe for my civvies to eat diabetic food?

xx
 
SweetAngel said:
...It doesn't work with the new cells I added. I downloaded again and was going to start another but the world version only has 21 rows and I don't want to start another every 3 weeks. AAAARGH google!!! Hope everything is going well with the garage kitties, and with you of course x

On the World page,
1) add the extra rows you need
2) Copy the formatting with the paint roller
3) Go to the US page
4) Copy the same number of rows down; the formula should autoadjust to the correct cells.
- the format should copy down with it, or you can use the paint roller again to get the color coding.

I'm almost completely recovered from the sinus surgery and the garage cats are doing well.
 
Yes, it's safe for your civies to eat the diabetic food. Probably better for them all around. My 2 civies got switched to the low carb Friskies pates when Wink joined the family. It was simply too hard to keep Wink out of their food. Sure did make it easy to have them all on the same diet.
 
It's happened again, PMPS 10.2 / 180 (same number!) again. I fed him, retested in just over 30 mins and he was up to 12.6 /227 so I've given him his shot and will be up at 4am to re test him!! Not sure why his AMPS was 17.2 / 309 as he stays in overnight now so no way can get access to food elsewhere.

Re the spreadsheet, there is a formula on the US one but does not seem to be one on the world one. How do I copy the formula? Also I noticed that with the first 5 new rows I added in the world ss, the lines between cells are not in bold. The formula is shown in the cells in the US spreadsheet that are not updating. Posted on tech help but no response as yet...
 
No formula on the World sheet; you enter that directly. Then, the matching cell on the Us sheet multiplies that by 18. Typically, to get the Us cell with a formula, you enter =, navigate to the World cell, click on it, enter *18, and press enter. When you have 2 pages lined up, copying 1 cell with a formula to another cell will autoadjust the references to the linked cell on the World sheet

The color coding is done via conditional formatting. You can either click on a working cell and paint it to non-working cells, or look at the conditions to be able to re-create or adjust them for your needs.
 
thanks BJM.

The US spreadsheet is just not updating at all, last numbers shown were from 4th July, so think I will have to start a new one!! Otherwise I'm going to have to enter everything in the world one then re enter everything manually in te US one after multiplying the numbers by 18, aaargh!

x
 
Try entering the formula yourself.
Click a cell in the US page
Enter this =18*
Then mouse to the world sheet and click on the corresponding cell
Press enter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top