@tiffmaxee, Elise, she has already skipped the AM shot and had to take her mom to an appointment. Looks like Angel was seeing greens and limes on 1U itself? Only PS tests though!
Heather, when you are back home, could you fill up what dose you gave Angel between Dec 26th and Feb 10th?
Basaglar dosing is based on how low it takes the cat. Not based on pre-shot tests. To ascertain how low the dose takes the cat, you need more tests. In addition to the PS tests, a test at +2, will tell you if the cycle will be "active" - meaning whether the BG numbers could drop a good amount. When the +2 is lower than PS, we take another test usually between +4 and +6 to see how low the BG is going. The other thing is, you need these tests in both cycles. A lot of cats go low at night and are higher in the day. If you could get at least a +2 every night, that would be a big help.
Lastly, the higher numbers you are seeing do not necessarily mean that the dose is too low. Angel could be bouncing from low numbers.
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". Usually, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).