Angel BG 32 now 52

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's OK, Cherish, those high 50's are still scary numbers :bighug:. The 360 is from her still being on the trampoline; bounce can take 3+ cycles to clear :cat:
 
Janet, bf called me at work and told me what it was. I got so scared that I had him give her HC gravy and now I feel like I did the wrong thing. :( +9 360.
It was at hour 5.... Probably wouldn't have dropped further, but If you were concerned just a little of her regular food would have been ok.

No biggie though. She had some nice healing numbers. (And probably was thrilled to get the gravy!!! Haha) looks like we can reduce the dose a little at that preshot. Give.25 less than you did today at that level.
 
This is so difficult and stressful. It's hard to be at work every day and be worrrie about her like this. I'm so thankful my bf works from home but it's still not the same as me being there. It's even harder because I can't figure out WHEN the heck her nadir is. It seems to be all over the place. I've been told with vetsulin that it's fast acting but it's not with her.

She was 456 this morning and I gave 3.75u. If she's over 400 tonight I should give 3.5?
 
This is so difficult and stressful. It's hard to be at work every day and be worrrie about her like this. I'm so thankful my bf works from home but it's still not the same as me being there. It's even harder because I can't figure out WHEN the heck her nadir is. It seems to be all over the place. I've been told with vetsulin that it's fast acting but it's not with her.

She was 456 this morning and I gave 3.75u. If she's over 400 tonight I should give 3.5?
I would... esp if it's in the low 400's. I understand. I was fortunate that as a teacher I was home last summer, so although I was working May and June, I was off July and August to really focus on her numbers. She actually had her last shot the day before school started again.
 
I would... esp if it's in the low 400's. I understand. I was fortunate that as a teacher I was home last summer, so although I was working May and June, I was off July and August to really focus on her numbers. She actually had her last shot the day before school started again.
279. Shot 2 because I shot 2.25 last night.
 
Search the words 'shooting the bounce' (may need to use the word 'shoot' instead of 'shooting'). You'll find it used with most of the insulins if not all. When the liver dumps glycogen, it's reads the same as glucose. The reason for 'shooting the bounce' is to give enough insulin at the first part of that liver 'dump' to handle the glucose that's mixed in with the glycogen. Even if it allows use of most of the glucose, the numbers are going to remain high due to glycogen so it's not going to drive numbers low. There ARE insulins such as 'R' ('Regular' or 'Rapid') that can affect it but that's not something done lightly nor without a LOT of planning and forethought.

You've done well today Cherish! I'm quite impressed with how well you handled this.
Very interesting. Great job!!
 
Based on recent numbers this would be my suggestion for tomorrow...

175-225 2
225-275 2.25
275-300 2.5
300-325 2.75
325-375 3
375-425 3.25
425+ 3.5
 
I think she'll be OK, Cherish. It looks like her AM nadir is somewhere between +4 and +6 so some LC wet food to snack on should keep her safe. Don't bounce too much tonight, Ms. Angel! :bighug::cat:
 
I think she'll be OK, Cherish. It looks like her AM nadir is somewhere between +4 and +6 so some LC wet food to snack on should keep her safe. Don't bounce too much tonight, Ms. Angel! :bighug::cat:
Thanks! I'm sure she will be but I can't help but to worry. I see people posting about leaving food out or having timed feeders for when they are gone to keep kitties safe... so when they are feeling low BG they will eat to help themselves? I leave out EVO for her and Miyu all day (we take it up 2 hours before her PM shot and bf takes it up right before he heads to bed at night- he's a night owl). She gets a 3oz can of wet food 7am & 7pm and then I'll leave patè out for her sometimes if she gobbles up her meal and is still bugging me lol.
 
Oh I hear you! :smuggrin: I still have to tell myself not to pull out food when I get 80's numbers lol. Force my hand with the other to get MC wet instead of immediately grabbing HC last time I got a "take action" reading.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top