Angel BG 32 now 52

Status
Not open for further replies.
Not sure why this happened.
The simple reason is she's a cat. I'm not being glib - they're notoriously unpredictable. She's been giving you a few dark green numbers on this dose and now she's decided to go even lower because she's more responsive for whatever reason. Her pancreas might be helping out a bit. Hard to say.

Tonight you'll need to reduce her dose to 3.5 u. Test after her PM dose at +1 and +2 to see what she wants to do. She'll be a bit more insulin sensitive after this low.
 
You've got this! You and the BF have been through this before and know what to do. Sending hugs, and keep breathing and posting! :bighug:
 
Angel! Get off those rocks! You're not allowed to play on the shore!

Yep you got this - you know what to do. I know they're scary for a while but deep breaths if you feel yourself starting to panic.

How many hours since shot?
 
I have a bit different take on what I'd do than Janet but neither of us are wrong. I'd shoot the regular dose THIS TIME and take that earned reduction tomorrow morning. My reasoning - she's bounced to the moon with that 378 = liver released hormones as body preservation. Those are sugar but a different sugar so lasts for a couple of days. The full dose tonight will give her body some support to help handle that, the lower dose tomorrow will begin to handle the normal glucose.

This one's TOTALLY up to you.
 
I have a bit different take on what I'd do than Janet but neither of us are wrong. I'd shoot the regular dose THIS TIME and take that earned reduction tomorrow morning. My reasoning - she's bounced to the moon with that 378 = liver released hormones as body preservation. Those are sugar but a different sugar so lasts for a couple of days. The full dose tonight will give her body some support to help handle that, the lower dose tomorrow will begin to handle the normal glucose.

This one's TOTALLY up to you.
Thanks for the advice!
 
I have a bit different take on what I'd do than Janet but neither of us are wrong. I'd shoot the regular dose THIS TIME and take that earned reduction tomorrow morning. My reasoning - she's bounced to the moon with that 378 = liver released hormones as body preservation. Those are sugar but a different sugar so lasts for a couple of days. The full dose tonight will give her body some support to help handle that, the lower dose tomorrow will begin to handle the normal glucose.

This one's TOTALLY up to you.


I haven't heard that before, but it totally makes sense! Do you think that's true for all insulin types?
 
I haven't heard that before, but it totally makes sense! Do you think that's true for all insulin types?

Search the words 'shooting the bounce' (may need to use the word 'shoot' instead of 'shooting'). You'll find it used with most of the insulins if not all. When the liver dumps glycogen, it's reads the same as glucose. The reason for 'shooting the bounce' is to give enough insulin at the first part of that liver 'dump' to handle the glucose that's mixed in with the glycogen. Even if it allows use of most of the glucose, the numbers are going to remain high due to glycogen so it's not going to drive numbers low. There ARE insulins such as 'R' ('Regular' or 'Rapid') that can affect it but that's not something done lightly nor without a LOT of planning and forethought.

You've done well today Cherish! I'm quite impressed with how well you handled this.
 
Search the words 'shooting the bounce' (may need to use the word 'shoot' instead of 'shooting'). You'll find it used with most of the insulins if not all. When the liver dumps glycogen, it's reads the same as glucose. The reason for 'shooting the bounce' is to give enough insulin at the first part of that liver 'dump' to handle the glucose that's mixed in with the glycogen. Even if it allows use of most of the glucose, the numbers are going to remain high due to glycogen so it's not going to drive numbers low. There ARE insulins such as 'R' ('Regular' or 'Rapid') that can affect it but that's not something done lightly nor without a LOT of planning and forethought.

You've done well today Cherish! I'm quite impressed with how well you handled this.
Thanks so much! I owe so much of it to this place and you guys!
 
Hi,

I want to tell you how much I admire your courage and your dedication to Angel’s wellbeing for NOT taking that truly earned reducie after that 32 reading!

I also want you to accept a pair of ** which usually given to the beans as an Award after shooting their lowest BG for the 1st time. I am no Awarding Committee of course, but I really believe that you ARE by far much more deserving bearer of the Award than I 've ever being so far. So, please do accept mine.:D
boshand.gif


Congrats! Keep it nearby to look at at the times of uncertainty.:D

Very best wishes to both of you and speedy remission for Angel!:bighug:
 
Hi,

I want to tell you how much I admire your courage and your dedication to Angel’s wellbeing for NOT taking that truly earned reducie after that 32 reading!

I also want you to accept a pair of ** which usually given to the beans as an Award after shooting their lowest BG for the 1st time. I am no Awarding Committee of course, but I really believe that you ARE by far much more deserving bearer of the Award than I 've ever being so far. So, please do accept mine.:D
boshand.gif


Congrats! Keep it nearby to look at at the times of uncertainty.:D

Very best wishes to both of you and speedy remission for Angel!:bighug:
Thanks so much for the kind words and support!!
 
Getting +3 before bed. If she had dropped a lot bf will also get a +5 while I'm sleeping and will wake me if anything bad is happening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top