Andy very high this am

Status
Not open for further replies.
Andy was 531 this amps, the highest I've tested for him. Gave him 1.5 and at +1 he was down to 407. He had been doing pretty good for a few days and I have no idea what happened last night. I had hoped to up his dosage again shortly to 1.5 again. But his bg pattern looks weird to me. Can anyone explain what could be happening with him? Thank you.
 
Hmmm. That is an odd number, Yvonne. Usually a number that high, out of the usual pattern would likely be a bounce, but the 1.2 on the 309 didn't seem likely to prodipuce a low to bounce from. I think I'd figure it was an anomaly and just continue on. If he stays in higher ranges, then a dose increase is probably needed, but I'd see how things look first.
 
Hmmm. That is an odd number, Yvonne. Usually a number that high, out of the usual pattern would likely be a bounce, but the 1.2 on the 309 didn't seem likely to prodipuce a low to bounce from. I think I'd figure it was an anomaly and just continue on. If he stays in higher ranges, then a dose increase is probably needed, but I'd see how things look first.
Sue - I just tested and he is already down to 267 at +2. This is only on 1.5u and w breakfast. This seems like way too fast a drop. ???
 
That is a big drop but he is still in safe ranges. What it may suggest is that the cycle will be active. You might plan to give him a little snack in an hour or so and see if he will flatten out a little. Just a tablespoon or two of regular food.

I'd keep an eye on him and make sure his nadir doesn't drop below 50. Maybe he did drop lower overnight and this amps was a bounce.
 
You could try that.

But in general, I don't pay too much mind to the preshots. I care more about the numbers between the preshots, when the insulin is actually doing its thing.

In other words, I'd rather see two red numbers with a bunch of blues or greens in the middle than a couple of pink preshots with flat yellows in the middle. The more blue and green I see, the better I feel about the dose.
 
I think it is worth a try, as he may be bouncing at night. He had a nice surf today, not bouncing early, which was nice.

And I think both pre shots and nadirs are important. You want to be sure your pre shot is in a safe range to shoot, and look back at previous doses and preshots to help you figure out the dose. Nadirs are also very important info to see how low the insulin takes him. You want a nice nadir but above 40/45. If the nadirs are flat and higher, then an increase may be in order.
 
Sorry if I was misunderstood. Yes, preshots matter when considering whether or not it is "safe" to shoot. Beyond that, the lower the preshot the better, I suppose. But no matter what the preshot number is above your "no shoot line", if you don't get numbers in the normal or near normal ranges in the middle of the cycle, things are not likely to improve. A cat in the 200+ BG range all day long is not getting " better".
 
Well let's see where 1u takes him tonight - starting at 242 with fingers crossed! He definitely has me perplexed. He does not like those low blues or the green! Please check us out tomorrow. Thank you.
 
We started out good this am but I believe we had another bounce. I had planned to cut back to 1u for awhile but wanted to wait until my vet reviewed my spreadsheet. Depending on what he is at pmps, I will cut back starting tonight and ride it out a few days to see.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top