? Andy 3/27 - need advice for my wacky boy!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, Andy is still bouncing around a lot. And he is getting some big dives before nadir. I think it may be time to discuss with the vet about changing insulins. The more I increase, the higher his preshots get. He responds quickly to minute dose changes. Has anyone seen this type of pattern before? I have been using the alphatrak for preshots but the relion in between - the relion numbers are in decimal format (.00) on the spreadsheet which are roughly 40-50 pts lower than if using alphatrak. I am so perplexed with his high preshot numbers and can't seem to get them down no matter what I try. Thanks for any feedback.
 
You have really tried everything, Yvonne. His mid cycle numbers are fine, but yes, he certainly bounces for most preshots. It's possible that Lantus will eventually work better. What I have seen is that bouncy cats on ProZinc will still bounce on depot insulins, but most often eventually flatter cycles help. The other alternative is to continue to use ProZinc with the thought that he will eventually stop bouncing. I think the record for a bouncy cat on PZI is a year. Check Bookw0rm's spreadsheet on the remission thread. He bounced a long time, eventually flattened out and went off the juice.
 
How much insulin do you have left right now? Are you nearing the end of it?

Like Sue said, most bouncy kitties will just bounce until they don't. Sometimes Lantus will help...sometimes not. It's really up to you. Maybe chat with your vet and see what he thinks about using Lantus? You could definitely have the conversation and do some research over on the Lantus forum before making a final decision. :)
 
You have really tried everything, Yvonne. His mid cycle numbers are fine, but yes, he certainly bounces for most preshots. It's possible that Lantus will eventually work better. What I have seen is that bouncy cats on ProZinc will still bounce on depot insulins, but most often eventually flatter cycles help. The other alternative is to continue to use ProZinc with the thought that he will eventually stop bouncing. I think the record for a bouncy cat on PZI is a year. Check Bookw0rm's spreadsheet on the remission thread. He bounced a long time, eventually flattened out and went off the juice.
The only thing that concerns me about Lantus is that he had been on that before we adopted him and he was getting very high doses and not regulated. I did not see his numbers back then because he was not my cat. He had been at the vet clinic for over a month but I don't think he got too much attention there "if you get my drift". I am just assuming that he was probably also bouncing on the Lantus and they just kept increasing the dose to address those highs. So maybe, just maybe, with constant monitoring Lantus could work better????? Sue, this is stressful that I can't help my little boy! Thanks for being there!
 
How much insulin do you have left right now? Are you nearing the end of it?

Like Sue said, most bouncy kitties will just bounce until they don't. Sometimes Lantus will help...sometimes not. It's really up to you. Maybe chat with your vet and see what he thinks about using Lantus? You could definitely have the conversation and do some research over on the Lantus forum before making a final decision. :)
We just started a new vial thinking the old one lost its effectiveness. But it did not seem to make any difference. I am sure my vet would go with the Lantus, no problem. I am just concerned as I mentioned to Sue about that since we put him on PZI because they did not feel Lantus was working for him.

He is so odd - if he gets less insulin, his #'s get better - but I can't tell if some of the highs are because he's used up the smaller dose or a bounce. I think I probably test him too often but he is so erratic; I try to get a pattern but am missing it! I was hoping someone else could see something I am missing here. Thanks for responding.
 
One way to think about his numbers, Yvonne. He is below the renal threshold the majority of the time - it's only that jump up at preshot that is high.

If they relied on preshot numbers with Lantus, it's possible that he just wasn't dosed correctly...
 
One way to think about his numbers, Yvonne. He is below the renal threshold the majority of the time - it's only that jump up at preshot that is high.

If they relied on preshot numbers with Lantus, it's possible that he just wasn't dosed correctly...
Tonight's preshot was 429 (alphatrak); +3 was 148 (relion) - how does he drop that much with a meal and 3 hours??
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top