Andy 2/22

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yvonne & Andy &BJ (GA)

Member Since 2015
I am excited about Andy's latest #'s - he has been doing so well on lower doses. I would appreciate any comments about dosing since we seem to be approaching what he needs and he is bouncing far less now. How little is too little - any quidelines for these lower #'s? (I just take a good guess by looking at his chart. ) Thx!
:woot::joyful:
 
The last few cycles look great. I would be nervous shooting 116. 150-170 is my minimum. It looks like it worked out but I'd be cautious and plan to monitor carefully
 
The last few cycles look great. I would be nervous shooting 116. 150-170 is my minimum. It looks like it worked out but I'd be cautious and plan to monitor carefully
Yes - I was torn on what to do there. But he needed his supper and I could monitor so took a chance. Exactly why I am asking for advice. For ex: if you would not shoot below 170, would you shoot when he goes higher even though that is off schedule? How does that work w PZI? I did not have to think about this before! :)

10 yrs ago, I had a diabetic kitty on pzi but also had R to give him. So between his regular pzi dose, I could give him a bit of the R if he needed it. It worked great for him for over 8 yrs. Does anyone still do this type of thing?
 
I am not saying you shouldn't shoot under 170; I just don't feel comfortable advising people to do that. And what happened with Andyq last night is a pattern that is always a puzzle for me. Logically he should drop - probably a lot after insulin on a low number. But sometimes they rise. (A bean on Vetsulin - which works like PRoZinc - had the same experience last night. That cat jumped right up after a shot on a low pmps. He eventually went down around +8 and then bounced for amps). All I can think is their body panics and releases extra glucose immediately and they jump up right after the shot.

My idea is to stall with a lower preshot than you want to shoot. Wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. If he is rising and nearer your target number, then shoot. If you have to stall over 40 minutes or so and it is still too low, then you can feed, wait 2 hours and shoot. But yes, it messes up your schedule.

I don't know about R. Some Lantus users use it if they just can't maintain their cat in good ranges. But Andy is looking Good.
 
Typically, R is used to bring down the glucose with the acrocats and the depot insulin then keeps it lowered. That is a basal+ bolus use of it.
Also, it may be used a bit before the next shot to prevent a sudden rise in glucose as the long-acting shot wears off.
 
Typically, R is used to bring down the glucose with the acrocats and the depot insulin then keeps it lowered. That is a basal+ bolus use of it.
Also, it may be used a bit before the next shot to prevent a sudden rise in glucose as the long-acting shot wears off.
Thanks. We used it yrs ago with a diabetic kitty in addition to PZI and it worked well for him. What is an acrocat?
 
Last edited:
An acrobat is one who has a high dose condition called Acromegaly

Here is an explanation:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/acromegaly-the-basics.373/

I don't think Andy has any kind of a high dose condition. He is responding very well to tradition methods of treating his diabetes.

Thanks Sue - still getting used to the terminology - Andy is still doing better on lower doses - just wish I had a magic wand! No, we had Andy tested to make sure he was otherwise healthy. If you remember, he had been on 6+ units when we started and now look at him. Love my little man!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top