and....we are BACK!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mamalou

Member Since 2014
Hello again everyone! After one year and four months of remission, Lily's diabetes is back. :(

She began to get sick a week and a half ago, not eating, lethargic, and clingy (not Lily's style). Took her to the vet, she had a temp of 103, BG was 327. He thought that the elevated BG was due to stress so he prescribed antibiotics and gave her some fluids. I had hoped the meds would take care of the problem but the urine sample they tested had sugar in it. So, we are back on insulin. This morning, her BG was 222. Better, but we are not there yet. She is eating again which is a plus. However, she has diarrhea. What a mess.

Anyway, just wanted to say hello "AGAIN", and will be looking forward your friendship and advise once again!:)

Lou Ann & Lily
 
Once you get the infection gone, she may go back to being off the juice.
The diarrhea is a common side effect of antibiotics as they kill off the good bacteria as well as the bad. Pick up some probiotics to replace the good bacteria such as Forti Flora, a teaspoon of plain yogurt with active cultures (if not dairy sensitive!), etc.
 
Fingers crossed it's only temporary.
I agree with the probiotics, Blitzen was on them for a few months last year when he had some issues , he lovedthe taste of it on his food.
 
Thanks for the suggestions. Where do you buy Forti Flora? She won't eat ANY people food so yogurt is out.
She does have pancreatitis but seems to be doing better now. Still having loose stools but they are starting to form a little. I am also giving her IV fluids every other day for the pancreatitis. She tolerates the IV pretty well, better than she tolerates the ear poking! :)
 
and, once again...we are Back on the Juice! The pancreatitis was successfully cured, she gained her weight back, went OTJ for a while, and now the diabetes is back with a vengeance! Her numbers have been consistanly high over the past week and I have had to increase the units to 2. She seems fine, eating, playing, etc. Normal pee and poop. I just don't get it. anyway, just saying hello AGAIN! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top