Lori&Scout
Member Since 2012
Hello FDMB! I was on here a lot in 2012 when my Scout was diagnosed with diabetes. Thanks to the help of the wonderful folks here, she went OTJ within a few months, and has thankfully stayed OTJ on low carb wet food (currently Purina DM wet food - long story, and I know it's not ideal).
I'm fairly sure my other kitty Nipper is diabetic now. I took her to the vet this morning, her fructosamine will be back tomorrow, but I already know what it will say. She's not been grooming well, she's been eating and drinking more than usual, lethargic, and her BG was 325 (18 mmol/L) last night. I should have caught it sooner but I assumed it was Scout eating and drinking more than normal and have been testing her instead and not getting any high readings.
I asked the vet to go back and check Nipper's BG from earlier this year when she was sick. They had told me her bloodwork was normal, but according to their records she tested at 162 and 144 (9 and 8 mmol/L). They never thought to mention that to me so I could follow up with a BG check at home!
Unlike with Scout, I can't just switch to low carb diet. They've both been on low carb diet for nearly 3 years. Oh and I've moved to the UK which means different vet, different vet protocols, different insulin, different petsitter, and different canned food choices.
Mostly right now I'm feeling sorry for myself and for Nip. She's a sweetheart at home but a Demon Hell Beast at the vet. They often have to sedate her just to draw blood. When Scout was diagnosed, I whispered in my heart that I was glad it wasn't Nipper, since Scout is so sweet and docile and Nipper is so bolshie and difficult. I don't know how long she will sit still for injections and ear pokes, even if I bribe her with treats and use all my tricks. I don't know how my boyfriend or a petsitter is going to fare when I'm not around to look after her, which is going to be 1-2 days a week.
Anyway, sorry for long post, just wanted to say hi again and hopefully have someone tell me it's going to be OK.
Lori
I'm fairly sure my other kitty Nipper is diabetic now. I took her to the vet this morning, her fructosamine will be back tomorrow, but I already know what it will say. She's not been grooming well, she's been eating and drinking more than usual, lethargic, and her BG was 325 (18 mmol/L) last night. I should have caught it sooner but I assumed it was Scout eating and drinking more than normal and have been testing her instead and not getting any high readings.
I asked the vet to go back and check Nipper's BG from earlier this year when she was sick. They had told me her bloodwork was normal, but according to their records she tested at 162 and 144 (9 and 8 mmol/L). They never thought to mention that to me so I could follow up with a BG check at home!
Unlike with Scout, I can't just switch to low carb diet. They've both been on low carb diet for nearly 3 years. Oh and I've moved to the UK which means different vet, different vet protocols, different insulin, different petsitter, and different canned food choices.
Mostly right now I'm feeling sorry for myself and for Nip. She's a sweetheart at home but a Demon Hell Beast at the vet. They often have to sedate her just to draw blood. When Scout was diagnosed, I whispered in my heart that I was glad it wasn't Nipper, since Scout is so sweet and docile and Nipper is so bolshie and difficult. I don't know how long she will sit still for injections and ear pokes, even if I bribe her with treats and use all my tricks. I don't know how my boyfriend or a petsitter is going to fare when I'm not around to look after her, which is going to be 1-2 days a week.
Anyway, sorry for long post, just wanted to say hi again and hopefully have someone tell me it's going to be OK.
Lori