And it's a ......... GREEN!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa and Poopy

Very Active Member
I'm not sure if I should be upping Poopy's dose, lowering it, or keeping it the same. His numbers are confusing to me. Ideally, I'd like to see the numbers lower, and after I bump up the dose it seems to dip the second cycle around but then climbs right back up.

I can come home at lunch to check on him but won't be able to do more so am leery of bumping up...but am concerned about the creeping higher numbers.

Suggestions?
 
Re: Dose Confusion

It's time for Poopy's shot so I'm going to give him the 1.4u I've been doing. I'll be home around the +6 to get a BG on him.

Have a great day!
 
Re: Dose Confusion

I think you have room to increase, Teresa. Maybe tonight increase by .25. You have held this dose for several cycles and although he is in the 200-300 range, your nadirs are not going down very much.
 
Re: Dose Confusion

ok, I was going to agree with Sue
but I saw the PMPS of 225, I think I would hold for another day or so and see what happen
with the 1.4 into the 225
GOod luck!
 
Re: Dose Confusion

Now with his PMPS only being 225 I wonder if doing a +6 is missing his nadir, like it shifts. Argh! He also seems to have odd swings. I always knew he was a weird cat!

I think adding .2 to his shot won't throw him in hypo, and may get those nadirs down (I hope, I hope) so I'll try it. I'll be sure to either stay up or set an alarm to test him later, just to be sure his BG isn't dropping to much. And if I absolutely have to, I'll make a quick trip home tomorrow a couple of times to test him. Thank goodness they moved my office much closer to home!

Thanks for your input! :smile:

Edited to add: Yea, 225 is pretty good for a PMPS. I'll stick with the 1.4u. Maybe it just takes him a bit of time to adjust. If his numbers go wonky again, I can always increase if needed.

Out of curiosity, how long can a cat sail in the 200s without any physical damage?
 
Re: Watching Dose

With Poopy's AMPS at 252, I stayed at 1.4u and will come home at lunch to check BG again. What weird numbers this guy gets! If it only drops to the 150s again, I'll bump it up to 1.6u.

Sound reasonable?
 
Re: Watching Dose

This weekend would be a good time to try the small increase and do a curve in hopes you can figure out his nadir. I like your plan!

A cat is considered regulated if he is in the 200 -250 range at preshot and under 100 at nadir. Poopy is close to that. I worry about a cat who is running in the 300-400 range at preshot for a few weeks. I would think that could cause damage to the pancreas. Although we have had cats who were diabetic for years suddenly go off the juice. ECID. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Watching Dose

After getting the numbers today, I think bumping up to 1.6u is a go. Thought I'd start him tonight since I can keep an eye on him. Maybe I can hit some high greens for nadir. :-D

Sound good?
 
+8 102

I think the 1.6u may be his magic number...but time will tell. :) Just have to watch his PMPS and AMPS to see if he gets all wonky again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top