An old foster cat of mine - diabetes (hyperosmolar)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Byt2luv

Member Since 2010
Hi All,

I know its been a LONG while since I have posted but life got in the way and fostering got in the way. Ginger is still with me and still waiting for a FUREVER HOME.

This message is because I need advice PLEASE. I recieved a call from an older adopter t a old foster kitty named Thomas now then was Mr Kitty Kitty. Apparently there has been MANY medical issues that I was not aware of and I wanted to know if anyone had any advice or experience with this before. I don't have a LOT more info than what I am giving and please bare with me as it is a little long.

Thomas was adopted out in November 2009
2010 he was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism and was given Radio Cat - it didn't work
he was given Radio Cat again in 2011 - AGAIN it didnt work
He was placed on the new hyperthyroid food Y/D
In February Thomas was diagnosed with kidney disease but his food was the canned y/d
THEN he seemed to be drinking a lot and peeing a lot and was RECENTLY 4/2 with Diabetes and was hospitalized because he wasn't eating well and seemed lethargic

This is the email that the adopter sent me about Thomas and what has been done and is doing now. ANY ADVICE YOU CAN GIVE WOULD BE SO HELPFUL PLEASE

I opted NOT to put him down until I had a second opinion from Dr. Birnbaum ad Veterinary Internal Medicine Practice. I know it's not about me, but about what's best for him, but I also wanted to be absolutely sure I'd done all I could for him before making an irreversible decision.



Dr. Birnbaum said she could see him today for an exam, and although she described him as a "metabolic disaster", she was encouraged by some of what she saw. She's admitted him to their practice to see if they can get him hydrated and stabilize his glucose level; if he's not getting any better over the next few days, we may still have to put him down, but she said we'll take it a day at a time. See below for the read-out on his condition as of about 4 pm today.



Can you please forward this to Cathy Awad? I don't have an e-mail address for her.


Thanks again for your help. I'll keep you posted.

Weight: 8.56 lbs (was 7.95 lbs on 2/27/12)
Primary problem: Thomas is presenting for recheck exam with Dr. Birnbaum after recent diagnosis of diabetes mellitus. Thomas was hospitalized at Parkway Monday through Tuesday on IV fluids and to initiate insulin therapy. He did well in hospital and began eating, so he was discharged last night. When he got home, he ate 1/2 can of y/d food and his owner gave insulin - he looked good last night. But this morning, Thomas didn't eat much at all and was staggering around the house (weak and wobbly). At Parkway today, his BG was > 600 mg/dL and he is drinking & urinating excessively.
* Chronic anemia - minimal improvement on darbopoeitin x 4 weeks (18 --> 20% HCT)
* Chronic kidney failure for at least one year.
* History of hyperthyroidism and 2 radiocat treatments (2010 and 2011). He was again hyperthyroid in 12/2011 (T4=6.5) and was put on Y/D diet in the hopes of controlling the thyroid with diet.
Diagnostics performed/pending:
1) Physical exam - quiet & alert; normal temperature (99.6 F); normal heart & lung auscultation; scruffy hair coat / urine soaked; thyroid nodule; muscle wasted; no heart murmur; doughy abdomen; breathing comfortably; hypoplastic looking optic nerves; weak but able to walk; pink slightly pale mucosa.
2) Recheck ultrasound - see findings below.
3) Urinalysis (cystocentesis) - urine is dilute (SG 1.018), large amount of glucose (> 1000 mg/dL), trace blood, trace protein, 1+ leukocytes, pH 5, sediment revealed occasional red blood cells and white blood cells, no overt bacteria but sediment was suspiciously active for a dilute cysto sample - recommend culture to rule out infection in the kidneys. No ketones present.
4) Urine culture & MIC submitted - results pending.
5) Blood pressure (Doppler) - 100 mmHg today - low but stable
6) DPP (in house chemistry) - worsened kidney failure due to severe dehydration (BUN 133, creatinine 7.0), phosphorus 11.3, potassium low normal but likely total body depleted (3.7), elevated protein (TP 8.8 - dehydration), amylase 1964 (may have current pancreatitis).
7) PCV/TS (measure of anemia) is 24% today, but likely will decrease with rehydration (TS 10.0 g/dL)
8) iSTAT 4/4 5pm - low sodium (141), pH 7.275 (low normal / borderline acidosis), glucose 613, osmolality about 320 - hyperosmolar
Ultrasound findings:
1) Pancreas appears more prominent and reactive today, especially tip of left branch, no free fluid.
2) Kidneys appear stable, aged, mild pelvic dilation (0.4 cm) likely secondary to polyuria.
3) Liver appears hyperechoic "fatty" looking, slightly rounded and uniform texture.
4) Heart stable - no atrial enlargement, no pleural effusion, good contractility (FS 50%) - heart in good shape for fluid therapy.
5) Remainder of organs imaged including spleen, gallbladder, urinary bladder, gastrointestinal tract, and lymph nodes appear normal / unremarkable. One small cystic lymph node.
Ultrasound summary: The pancreas appears more prominent and reactive today - consistent with pancreatitis. All other organs imaged appear stable / unchanged compared to 5 weeks ago.
Tentative diagnosis:
1) Kidney failure - chronic for at least 1 year with recent worsened azotemia secondary to severe dehydration from fluid losses in hyperosmolar diabetes. Pyelonephritis (deep seated kidney infection) may also be playing a role (culture pending).
2) New diagnosis of diabetes mellitus on recent lab work 4/2/12 - currently non-ketotic (i.e. not yet in DKA) but borderline hyperosmolar diabetic (marked glucose elevation causing hyperosmolar blood with subsequent electrolyte and fluid losses through the urinary tract =rapid dehydration despite him drinking excessively).
3) Prominent pancreas on ultrasound - pancreatitis is a strong possibility which can be an inciting cause for development of diabetes in cats (pancreas makes insulin and regulates insulin / glucose levels in the body). Pancreatitis can also cause poor appetite and lethargy.
4) Anemia - chronic & nonregenerative - likely secondary to kidney failure and chronic disease processes (deficiency of erythropoeitin hormone from the kidney which normally stimulates RBC production). On darbopoeitin injections x 1 month with minimal response - currently 20-24% PCV
5) Hyperthyroidism - two prior Radio-Cat treatments. We may be able to resume treatment with transdermal tapazole placed on ears if we can stabilize his renal and diabetes.
Recommendations / Options:
Hospitalization for at least 48-72 hours for IV fluid therapy / rehydration, IV regular insulin drip to quickly regulate blood sugar levels and restore normal fluid balances, lab monitoring, and supportive care.
**Thomas is in the middle of a metabolic crisis right now with multiple conflicting disease processes. His type of diabetes (hyperosmolar) causes him to dehydrate rapidly when his blood sugar is high and he has kidney failure as well which complicates management. We do not know whether we will be able to pull him through this but he is in stable enough condition to try. Thomas will need intensive care and monitoring so we will transfer him to PWEVC overnight tonight and he will come back to us tomorrow morning (4/5).
Medication: As indicated in hospital.
Activity: Self-limiting
Diet: Coax with a variety - low protein diets are ideal to support kidney function. We will discuss his thyroid levels and Y/D diet long term depending on how diabetes regulation and kidney failure goes.
Additional Comments: Call as needed with questions or concerns. Thank you!
Important Reminders:
Please provide our support staff with 48 - 72 hours notice if you need to have a prescription refilled. You may request refills on our website at www.vimpva.com
If you have pending laboratory results, our support staff will be in touch with you within 3 - 5 working days.
If you need to cancel a future appointment, please provide a minimum of 24 hour notice or there will be a $50.00 cancellation fee.
If your pet becomes hospitalized at our facility for treatment and supportive care please note our visiting hours are 4pm to 8pm Monday through Friday. This allows us to provide the best level of care to your pet without interruption to their course of continued treatment.
 
From what I've read about this condition (hyperosmolar), it's very serious but it sounds like he does not have DKA or ketones yet and he does have a chance with enough fluids, antibiotics, Insulin, and whatever his other conditions require.

What type of insulins are they giving him? Do you know what his bg was when brought in to the ER?
I'm going to try to get some more experienced eyes on this for you but I know they will want to know that too.

Melanie & Racci
 
I asked the adopter for the BG number and he said that he was told their reader doesn't go that high and that it was 600+. Unfortunately I dont know much and havent even heard of this kind of diabetes. What I have really never heard of is that this cat had Radio Cat TWICE and it didn't make enough of a dent and that he is STILL hyperthyroid and needs Y/D. The vet suggested methamazol topical and I would so agree. I unfortunately dont know what kind of insulin or even what kind of food they are giving him at the vets. :cry:
 
I can't offer any input on the medical issues- but sending healing vines and thoughts to poor lil Thomas!

celi & binks
 
The doctor thinks pancreatitis could have caused a lot of it including the diabetic symptoms but the diabetes if untreated for a long time could have caused most of those problems also.

It seems the knowledgeable people on this type of case may not be around tonight. You might have to wait till morning but it sounds like the dr. is doing a good job and has all bases covered to me. I'm going to try again to get someone who would know more about this.

Melanie & Racci
 
My cat Snickers had hyperosmolar non keotionic dx in Nov 2010. he was placed on Insulin drip in ICU. He also had bolus of reg or Nph insulin. The 1st 12 hours his blood sugars did not register on the meter or the meter at vets. Finally just before he was transfered to ER Hospital the office meter got a 798.
This a very serious life threatening issue. Kitty is being treated so good out come isin the picture. Snickers also had a pancreatitis flare and liver infection. He did recover . It took almost a month. It will take alot of hospitaland home care but kitty can get better.Hope this helps.
 
The anemia is pretty severe. Remember that without enough red blood cells, oxygen cannot circulate through the body. And without enough oxygen, everything else is moot. Ask the vet if a transfusion might help.
 
Just got an update from the adopter!!!!

Hi Ronda -- Thomas isn't out of the woods yet, but he's responded quite well to Veterinary Internal Medicine Practice's care. He spent Wednesday night with Prince William County Emergency Veterinarian Center (right next door) but has been at VIMP ever since. His glucose has come WAY down, and he's re-hydrated and is eating and even grooming himself again. They're weaning him off the insulin drip and getting him on insulin injections. He looked MUCH better tonight when I went to visit, but they want to check him again in the morning to see if he can come home tomorrow afternoon, or if he should stay with them over the weekend.


Obviously I'm going to need a feline glucose meter and related supplies if I'm going to manage this at home. Can you recommend both a brand and a distributor? I'll need to get it fast -- either through a local pick-up, or FedEx overnight delivery.


I'm also planning to switch vets - I'm MOST unhappy with Parkway Veterinary Clinic in Burke; they seem to be okay for vaccinations and check-ups, but I think they're baffled by his case, even though Dr. Birnbaum at VIMP says that everything that's wrong with him is common to older cats and can be managed -- and she's proven it over the past few days. If I'd taken Parkway's advice, Thomas would have been dead as of Wednesday.


I've heard good things about Pender Veterinary Center near Fair Oaks Mall in Fairfax/Chantilly, and Montrose Animal Health Center in Fairfax. Can you or Cathy or others at FancyCats make any recommendation for these, or another practice in central Fairfax County?


Thanks, and Happy Easter!!!!


So it looks like things are going better. I have already responded to him and HIGHLY suggested he join this group. I am keeping my fingers crossed he will join and do lots of reading. I told him that is Thomas (AKA Mr Kitty Kitty) comes home I would try to help in any way possible.

Thank you all for the responses and advice. I hope and pray that Thomas continues to improve. This is a really good guy and he wants the very best of care for Thomas. :smile:
 
I'm so glad to hear he's improved so mucch so quickly!! That's wonderful.

I use the Bayer Contour meter. You can pick it up at any drugstore but both it and the strips will be expensive there whereas you could get both the strips and the meter at hocks.com for at least half price. That's where I buy my supplies. They ship quickly but you can opt for a faster shipping.

Make sure he gets a good insulin. Lantus glargine, levemir or PZI are the best for cats and you'll need syringes, lancets and a lance pen. I don't like the one that comes with the bayer. The freestyle lite lancet pen is the best not the meter thought. You can get that at Americandiabetes.com or amazon.com or maybe the drugstore. You'll also need syringes. Either u100 for lantus and levemir or u40 for pzi. Try to get 31 or 30 guage, it's the thinnest needle and will hurt less, and 20 or 30 units so it doesn't hold a lot and half lines on them for half doses. You can get those at Hocks also. I use 31 guage, 5/16" short ones, 30 unit with half lines from walgreens and Lantus.

Melanie & Racci
 
I have another update from the adopter for Thomas. I could not have asked for a better home for Thomas (AKA Mr Kitty Kitty) than this one:

Thanks, Ronda -- I'm thrilled with Thomas's progress, and I sure hope all he's been through over the past few months (kidney disease, anemia, and now diabetes) hasn't used up 8 1/2 of his 9 lives; I want to keep the Little Guy around for a long time!!!! On the other hand, Misty (my other FancyCats rescue) is enjoying this because now she gets ALL the attention when I'm at home. : )



I already have Lantus and 30 gauge needles for Thomas -- got both Tuesday but only gave him two injections before the bottom fell out on Wednesday and he started his current ordeal. All the "other guys" at the other practice told me about managing his disease was to give him one unit of insulin (which clearly wasn't enough when his levels kept shooting to over 600) twice/day. Nothing about special diets, nothing about glucometers and how to use them. They discharged him after one night of IV fluids, and he crashed again within 12 hours. Last night he looked better than he has in months, thanks to the care he's received since Wednesday afternoon at Veterinary Internal Medicine Practice.


I've been incredibly impressed with everyone at Veterinary Internal Medicine Practice, and am most grateful to them -- they saved my kitty!!!!!


Allyson (one of the vet techs at VIMP) gave me two lists of over-the-counter low carb foods that he should be able to eat, and noted that Hills k/d kidney diet food will also help him. She also referred me to www.sugarcats.com as a resource, although she added that there's a lot of resources available in many places on the Internet. She explained the process for drawing blood to check Thomas's glucose at home, and she and the doctors at VIMP have been great about returning phone calls and answering questions. As you noted, their "discharge instructions" (which Allyson said they'll update when he actually does come home) are very thorough; never got anything like that from the "other guys".



Dr. Birnbaum examined him on Wednesday afternoon (after I'd been advised by the "other guys" to put him down) and noted that, although he was very sick, everything that's wrong with him is common to older cats, and that there were still some things we could do to get him turned around. She and the other vets and techs have worked with him and nursed him, and the results of their care really shows. They noted that he's responded very well to the treatment plan.



Dr. Birnbaum said that her primary concern right now is getting his glucose regulated and keeping him hydrated, which go hand in hand. She put him on 100 mL sub-Q fluids daily when she originally saw him in February, so I'm used to doing that, and I know how to give injections because she also put him on Darbepoetin injections to treat anemia that's related to the kidney disease -- also diagnosed when she saw him in February. We may need to adjust both to deal with hydration issues, and to further boost his PCV (currently at 24%, although it had been as low as 18% when she originally saw him), plus monitor his glucose and do twice-daily insulin injections.


She also said that we can treat the thyroid via transdermal medication -- after two visits to RadioCat failed to get it under control, he's been eating Hills y/d (both wet and dry), which seems to be working, but I can remove all the dry food, adjust his diet for the diabetes, and the treat the thyroid with medicine as she recommends. Thomas does NOT like to take pills, which is partly why I opted for RadioCat in the first place, and Allyson said that a compounding pharmacist can take a thyroid drug like Tapazole and make it so that I can apply it inside his ear, and it will be absorbed through his skin. As luck would have it, there's a compounding pharmacist about a mile from my office.



As for the vet situation -- I'll probably opt for Burke Animal Clinic since they're so close, and I also like the evening and weekend hours.


Thanks again for all your help and advice; I'll keep you posted.


Happy Easter!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top