Amy & toby

Status
Not open for further replies.
Insulin is measured in units, not milliliters. I think you mean 1 unit AM and 0.5 units PM? (I put the 0 in front of the decimal, so it is harder to read it incorrectly.)

Lantus generally works best when dosed the same amount every 12 hours or fairly close to it. When it is injected, it forms small crystals under the skin. this is called the depot. These slowly dissove, releasing the insulin to work. There is always a tiny bit left under the skin when you give the next shot, which results in slightly overlapping effects and an overall lower glucose level.

The Lantus dose is increased based on the nadir, the lowest glucose level between shots. With Lantus, this is often between +5 to +7 hours after the shot. Getting tests during that period help determine how well the insulin is working. You want the nadir to remain safely above 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer. See my signature link Glucometer Notes for more info on how the meters work and what the numbers might mean.
 
Hi Amy and Toby

BJ is right about Lantus. You need to hold a consistent dose through at least six cycles while the depot under the skin is building. I usually wait ten cycles for my sugarkitty then get some mid-cycle tests in to see if the dose needs to go up or down.

That 165 is a good number. I would have kept the dose at 1.5units and not reduced out a whole unit. You may see some high numbers today because of it.

But stay here and continue to post and we can help you with Toby. Mel is the the moderator of this forum and she has a great success rate with getting kitties off insulin. Like BJ, she is a good adviser with dosing and testing and many other feline health issues.
 
Good Morning Amy,

I see Robin and BJM have already given you some great advice in the dosing and testing with Lantus. Now I'm going to pick at you just a little bit. :smile: This is just something that will help us, help you to help Toby better. And that is we really need for you to set up a spreadsheet so we can see what you see as far as his numbers, when you're testing and when those numbers are coming in relationship to things like food and shots.

Plus any background information you wish to share with us about Toby would be great. We love getting to know about all the kitties and their Beans here. While these extra sweet cats are our main focus they aren't our only focus. We are in a lot of ways a big family and yes, somethings we don't even think about in our own daily lives can also influence how our kitties are doing. If we are stressed out, they are stressed out. If we are not feeling well, they sense it. As my very wise granny use to say : " You can't lie to a cat" :lol: :lol:

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top