Hello, my 18-pound, 11-year old grey tabby cat, Amy, was recently diagnosed with FD. I work long hours and am away from home for 12.5 hours during the day, so I am unable to test her very much between shots.
Here is a summary of Amy's medical journey since then. It has been a learning experience, and Amy is already improving -- she is much more lively, an eye infection is almost gone and she just seems like a younger cat.
10/7: Amy Cat was diagnosed FD (BG 460)
10/9: Amy began taking 1u of Lantus BID
10/12: Amy switched to wet food -- Wellness Core
10/16: I began home testing Amy and increased her dose over the next 4 days increased her dose to 2.5u BID (which I since learned was too fast of an increase).
10/21: I did a mini curve (Pre shot BG 331); (+5 BG 182); (+6 BG 196); (+7 BG 191); (+9 BG 194); (+12.5 BG258)
10/22: +11.5 BG400 and I gave her 3u which caused her morning pre shot BG to be only 130. (I now realize that I should not have increased the dose.)
10/23: +11.5 BG130. I skipped a shot. That night her +12 BG = 332 and I gave her 2.5u.
10/24: +7 BG334; +11.5 BG323 -- 2.5u given; +12.5 BG261 -- 2.5u given.
Here is a summary of Amy's medical journey since then. It has been a learning experience, and Amy is already improving -- she is much more lively, an eye infection is almost gone and she just seems like a younger cat.
10/7: Amy Cat was diagnosed FD (BG 460)
10/9: Amy began taking 1u of Lantus BID
10/12: Amy switched to wet food -- Wellness Core
10/16: I began home testing Amy and increased her dose over the next 4 days increased her dose to 2.5u BID (which I since learned was too fast of an increase).
10/21: I did a mini curve (Pre shot BG 331); (+5 BG 182); (+6 BG 196); (+7 BG 191); (+9 BG 194); (+12.5 BG258)
10/22: +11.5 BG400 and I gave her 3u which caused her morning pre shot BG to be only 130. (I now realize that I should not have increased the dose.)
10/23: +11.5 BG130. I skipped a shot. That night her +12 BG = 332 and I gave her 2.5u.
10/24: +7 BG334; +11.5 BG323 -- 2.5u given; +12.5 BG261 -- 2.5u given.