AMPS WAS 108 JUST NOW!! ARE WE IN TROUBLE???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oh, one other thing. I would keep this post on one board only--too much confusion if you have it one on MORE than one board. I noticed you are posting the same info on more than one board, and I know the reason is because you are scared shi*tless, but--stay calm, breathe, he'll be fine :-D I'm here, along with others.
 
ok- will stay on the PZI site. He ate like a champ immed after the pretest. I dont think hes eaten since- doing my half hour test now---stand by-----hes now at 124- is that ok?
 
One more thing please: link the two posts together. Go to the first post on this board (the original one you posted here today), click "edit" then "url"...then open another page to your post on the main board, find your post, copy & paste from the address bar, and then past that betwwen the url/url.
 
Let's update Henry's numbers, like this:

AMBG 108
+.5 = ____(fill in blank)
then any other times & numbers

then put those #'s in your subject line.

I don't advise re: shooting insulin. Hopefully a PZI expert will be on here soon....
 
TheBowHuntress said:
One more thing please: link the two posts together. Go to the first post on this board (the original one you posted here today), click "edit" then "url"...then open another page to your post on the main board, find your post, copy & paste from the address bar, and then past that betwwen the url/url.


ya lost me on that one- I will ust stay on the PZI site- but im afraid that more people are on the main health board- Is that where u saw my 911? on the main health? crap im very late for work- will sign on here when i get there- THANK
YOU - U dont know how good it felt to see you reply right away-
 
Hi Taisa, I saw your 911 on both the PZI and the Main Health boards. I am keeping my eye open for you, surely!!! Since he is on PZI, that is a good place for you to post. However, as you were seeking immediate help and not getting a reply, I can understand why you posted on both boards :) Perhaps in the future, if you need immediate assistance, you could post on the PZI--wait for a short wile for help, and then if no help--the Main Health Board. The reason I had said to incorporate the two together, is because you did get assistance and your ? was geared towards PZI (even though I couldn't help you re: dosing advice). When I have a general ?, I incorporate the ? into my daily Lantus update (for example: 4/10 Gobbles AMPS 220 ? dander). If you need immediate assistance, the Main Health board is the place to be. Do you have an update on Henry? Did you give him his shot?
 
Hi,

Sorry, the PZI board is often not busy so early. You were right to skip. I think I would just skip for the day. We'll see where he is tonight and regroup. Sure looks like he needs a dose reduction. This is good news!
 
Looks like you have probably gone to work. No worries. This amps tells you the dose is too high as it lasted more than 12 hours and gave you an unshootable amps. (so glad you aren't giving the vet's original 3 units. That would have been a disaster!)

He will probably be high this pmps as he will have been 24 hours since the last shot. Come on tonight (this forum is busier in the pm) and we'll help you figure out the pm dose.

Anytime you can't get a response here, post on Health. Just be sure you say you are using ProZinc as the insulins are dosed very differently.
 
Sue and Kat- you guys are SO awesome- thank you so much---

I'm at work now (can access FDMB at work - which is great)

I will test when I get home around 4:30, and will post results asap- thank you both again !!
 
TheBowHuntress said:
Hi Taisia,
Henry's BG at 108 is a beautiful number BUT I know that number is scary to you--I was freaked out the first time Gobbles went blue. He'll be ok, really. Don't feed him and retest like you said. I will be here all morning and will keep the page open to keep checking on you & Henry:)


Question- when he tests low (under 200 for newbies, I guess) I know I * dont shoot * and he shouldnt eat while waiting that half hour for the re-test- but ... should I hold off feeding him altogether until we do our first test as a general rule? Or is his regular breakfast OK regardless of his BG?
 
We usually suggest withholding food for 2 hours before the PS test so the bg number is a true reading and not food inflated.

I'm glad things worked out this morning.
 
Thanks Robin- that works out, because we get up at 5:45, do the preshot test, then he eats ....And if there is a low AMPS number again (or PMPS) if under 200- my current rule is dont shoot. Wait .5, dont feed, and re-test. I need to find a vet asap thats on board with this whole FDMB treatment protocol. Our goal is to be OTJ all the way- someday ;-)
 
Hi all- its probably a little late for this question now- but I almost feel like I shouldve ran home and checked on him mid-day today, with numbers so low this morning--- I'll be home at 4:15m, tho- what are your thoughts, board members? Should I run home?
 
Because you skipped the shot, he'll be OK 'til you get home.

He'll probably have gone up some by this evening. This is normal when you skip a shot, so no need to worry.
 
I think you will be fine waiting until you get home tonight. He was rising before you left this morning so he will probably continue to do so.

You will probably want to lower the dose now since you got an unshootable AMPS.

This is good, remember that 108 is a nice number and a number you want him to be at or under all the time. Non diabetic bg's are 40 to 120. I know how scarry seeing these lower numbers are at first, you are doing great.
 
You guys are AWESOME.

I cant believe how much you help ---

I will do the PMPS around 5 or 5:30 tonite, then post it here so you can advise on your thoughts?

Ive been using a U40 syringe, so I need to get the U-60- i think - so I can be precise instead of "eying up" skinny doses
 
The syringes you want are the U100 with the half unit marks. You MUST use the conversion chart with it.

The half unit markings are harder to find than regular syringes and you want them to be no more than 30 units.

I used the Walmart Relion ones. Others here order them online.
 
Thanks- I found the conversion link :http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

Is it OK if I hold off getting the U100's and stick (no pun intended) with the U40 for now?

I understand the chart, but am a little leery of making a dosage mistake--- Will do whatever you advise--- heading to Walmart for more strips now- will get the U100''s in case you say I really need them, I'll have them already
 
If I were you I would go ahead and get the U100 syringes.

Look at them before you leave the pharmacy and make sure they have the half unit marks on them because you can't return them if they give you the wrong ones.

They make it so much easier to draw correct doses.
 
Well, it may make doing teeny doses difficult.

The conversion chart shows in a table that the mark on a U-100 syringe times 0.4 = the U-40 dose
Thus, filling to 1.0 unit in U-100 syringe is only 0.4 units of a U-40 insulin (1.0 * 0.4 = 0.4)
And, filling to 0.5 units in U-100 syringe is only 0.2 units of a U-40 insulin (0.5 * 0.4 = 0.2)

Here's a finagle for Making a reference gauge for half units or smaller

By the way - it would be OK to edit your first post on this topic and remove the 911, since this isn't a life-threatening situation.
 
thanks----

His PMPS at 4:30 just now was 201-

going out now for strips and the U100's

i wont shoot until I check back with you guys for dosage suggestion in 35-40 min or so- im thinking no shot? or 1/2 unit? no clue :sad:
 
Lets see where he is when you return. Less than 1 unit, certainly.

Ideally, you want to pick a time you can shoot every 12 hours, although PZI is more foregiving of time changes.
 
Very, very encouraging. He went 24 hours since the last shot and is still in the low 200s. We might have thought he would jump up into the high 300-400 range once the insulin wore off. That is the good news. The bad news is that I think you need to be very careful with dosing. He looks like his pancreas might be starting to work again. (It must have been helping to keep him that low during the two cycles.) Did you feed him after you got the number? If so, get a test when you get back and let's see if he went up or down. (When the pancreas starts to work with the food, numbers will go down after eating instead of up. This is a sign that the pancreas is healing.)

Let's see what others think. I definitely think reduce the dose but not sure to what. Hope Robin weighs in.

You are going to have a lot to share with the vet, if you go back. If you had shot 3 units, I think he would be in the ER fighting for his life. Hometesting has definitely made it possible for you to dose safely.
 
Depending on what his number is when you get back I'm thinking no more than a half a unit. There isn't enough data to know for sure and 1 unit held him for 24 hours.

If his numbers come down with food that may change the way we're thinking now.
 
roger that- will shoot .05- I wont test again tonite unless you guys think I should- I have to go out till 9:30 or so- will check the board when i get home-

thank you for BEING THERE FOR ME
 
You want to be comfortable with the U100 syringes and the conversion chart.

I hung the conversion chart on the fridge and checked it twice before every injection. You can practice with a syringe drawing up doses of water to get a feel for it. Ask questions to make sure you are reading it right, etc.

Also remember you are now 2 hours off schedule so your AM dose will be at +10 after tonights shot. An early shot acts like a dose increase so if he is around 200 again in the morning skinny up that .5 unit.
 
CRAP-! is the insulin kind of a 'snotty' stringy clear consistency? if so, i think i just shot on my hand instead of into henry- i thought i felt the needle go through his skin, but maybe not- nonetheless i will NOT re-shoot- just in case- hope thats OK- will check the board when i get home --thanks
 
I would get another test in before bed to see where he is. With a new dose it's nice to see a mid cycle test to see how it is working, especially after the long cycle in the last 24 hours.

Have fun tonight.
 
Taisia&Henry Richmond VA said:
CRAP-! is the insulin kind of a 'snotty' stringy clear consistency? if so, i think i just shot on my hand instead of into henry- i thought i felt the needle go through his skin, but maybe not- nonetheless i will NOT re-shoot- just in case- hope thats OK- will check the board when i get home --thanks


No the insulin is liquid like water. Your right, never ever re-shoot a fur shot.
 
Hi , my faithful and awesome board friends

Back from first time out to dinner with friends since "the diagnosis"- he tested at 189 at 8:450 or so- seems like a fine number- No shot of course- Gave him a post test treat of low carb Friskies and a nice brushing-

getting the ketostix tomorrow-

Need help with how to interpret the U100 needles I bought when you have time- Is there a link somewhere that may show me an actual pic of the needle and how to read? (got the conversion chart printed)

Will log numbers in the morning and hope someone is around! I guess just use the "under 200, dont shoot" rule for now----

I will check back for any replies in an hour or so- then, Henry, Ben and I are off to bed

thanks everyone again for all your help and kind words today (Sue)
 
BG 126 at 6AM- No shot given- -- (CORRECT?)- I fed him right after, so I did not do a +5 reading. Noticed he pooped this AM- consistency looks good- but the amount seemed minimal compared to what he's eating lately.
 
What a lovely number! Another dose reduction. Small frequent meals will help support his pancreas so those are good. Messed up schedule again. When he gets over 200, you can look at a small shot - maybe around .5 or less, depending on how long it takes him to rise.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
What a lovely number! Another dose reduction. Small frequent meals will help support his pancreas so those are good. Messed up schedule again. When he gets over 200, you can look at a small shot - maybe around .5 or less, depending on how long it takes him to rise.


Sounds good Sue- am I right not to shoot under 200?
 
I know it feels like you are out there on your own, but you are doing very well. If you want a vet, I'd start making phone calls with BJ's list. what insulins do they use? Do they support home testing? What foods do they suggest for diabetics? When you get one with the right answers, ask if you can come in without your cat and talk to the vet. Take your spreadsheet and see what they say.

As far as weight, you can feed him more. Give some more snacks of low carb food during the day.

I know it feels like you have been on this journey forever, but his numbers are looking very good on a small dose of insulin. It usually takes several weeks before his body really "learns to use" the insulin and food together. Is he feeling better? Playing and cleaning himself? Does he seem happy and contented? Those are all important measures too.

Yes, I would wait till he is 200+. Once you have more data, you can be more aggressive but you are still building a picture of his patterns.
 
Morning Sue!

I printed out BJ's list, and think I may look for a new vet--- He seems OK- hes always been a bit of a sedate kitty he never tended to run around like Ben does sometimes- I call it "getting the rabies") But he seems OK- a bit quiet- but OK- cleaning himself, when I engage him to play, he does (maybe a bit half heartedly)


Im at work from 7am till 4 ish- so I cant give him daytime treats except for weekends- but Im going to Petco for some goodies today - and ketastix too!

Calling my vet list TODAY

I almost want to say --I love you! You and Robin and Kat are so amazing --- hope I can learn enuf to pay it forward
 
We have other members in VA, I'll send a message to Barbara & Thumper to see if she is near you and can recommend her vet.

The conversion chart is pretty easy to read, the U40 dose is on the left, the U100 dose level on to the right.
If you want to shoot .2 of a unit you would draw the insulin to the .5 unit mark on the U100 syringe.

Nice AMPS, you shot .5 unit last night, guess it wasn't a fur shot afterall. Your next dose decrease would be to .25 unit on the U40 syringe or .2u on the U100 syringe.
 
Breathe.

When in doubt, don't shoot. Better a while too high, than a moment too low.
 
Thanks Robin ---that would be AWESOME if you could reach out to Barbara and Thumper!!!!! Its not so much the chart, but those god awful tiny little unit marks on the U100 that get me- the U40 is pretty fool proof- but I really want to micro dose accordingly like you guys do and quit eyeballing--I will get that down ASAP


I will also post on the Facebook FDMB again-

thank you!!
 
One way to get food into him during the day is to use an automatic feeder. I love my PetSafe5. (from Amazon or PetSmart) It has 5 spaces and I can program to open any time I want. So you could put a little bit into each section and have it go off several times during the day (up to 5X) Both your kitties would probably eat it but maybe that would be okay?
 
I will check that out- thats a great idea- per a previous phone consult with Dr Pierson, I am leaving food out all day, but may also add the PetSafe5 as another option---- (am I ok to mention her name on the board?)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top