AMPS skip shot PMPS 170 dose advice please!

Good plan. Let's go with it.


Hey, I'm retired. Turned from a night owl staying up late to a morning person several years ago.

If Mayka will be going out shopping to find different cat foods tomorrow, she should pick up some ketone test strips at the pharmacy/drugstore/chemist. Without insulin, there is always that chance of ketones forming.

See you in the morning. Thanks for all your help today Veronica and Bron and Juls and Christie.

I have ketone strips and have been doing control since diagnosis, being negative
 
I understand what you are saying. Yes, getting those +1, +2 and +3 tests will be good. I'd like to see a blood glucose test closer to the middle of the 12 hour cycle. Sometime in the +5 to +7 hour range. One test during that time. Your choice of what time to test. If you are at home to do that.

Otto's blood glucose numbers are still coming down. They are too low to give him even 0.1U of insulin. His blood glucose readings are almost back to normal range, 40-100 mg/dl. We'd like to see them in the green range on the spreadsheet (SS). That would tell us if his pancreas is producing insulin on it's own.

Did you feed Otto the Feringa food this morning? At what time? Same time as the 11 AM (AMPS ) test time?

Entiendo lo que dices. Sí, obtener esas pruebas +1, +2 y +3 será bueno. Me gustaría ver una prueba de glucosa en sangre más cerca de la mitad del ciclo de 12 horas. En algún momento en el rango de +5 a +7 horas. Una prueba durante ese tiempo. Tu elección de a qué hora hacer la prueba. Si estás en casa para hacer eso.

Los niveles de glucosa en la sangre de Otto todavía están bajando. Son demasiado bajos para darle incluso 0.1U de insulina. Sus lecturas de glucosa en sangre están casi de vuelta al rango normal, 40-100 mg / dl. Nos gustaría verlos en el rango verde en la hoja de cálculo (SS). Eso nos diría si su páncreas está produciendo insulina por sí mismo.

¿Alimentaste a Otto the Feringa esta mañana? ¿A qué hora? ¿La misma hora que la hora de prueba de las 11 AM (AMPS)?

I will be home all day, and tell me exactly what time you want me to measure + 5 + 6 or +7?
Yes I fed at 11PM with a syringe. Hopefully keep going down ...
 
Does Otto not want to eat on his own? Are you 'assist feeding' him using a feeding syringe, like people sometimes do with an infant?

Test at +6 please.

¿Otto no quiere comer solo? ¿Está 'ayudando a alimentarlo' usando una jeringa de alimentación, como las personas a veces hacen con un bebé?

Prueba a +6 por favor.
 
[QUOTE = "Deb & Wink, post: 2515856, member: 7964"] ¿Otto no quiere comer solo? ¿Está 'ayudando a alimentarlo' usando una jeringa de alimentación, como las personas a veces hacen con un bebé?

Prueba a +6 por favor.

¿Otto no quiere comer solo? ¿Está 'ayudando a alimentarlo' usando una jeringa de alimentación, como las personas a veces hacen con un bebé?
[MEDIA = youtube] U6o17wH6ujk [/ MEDIA]

Prueba a +6 por favor. [/ QUOTE]

Ok mido +6.
Siempre ha tenido mucho apetito y ha comido solo.
Does Otto not want to eat on his own? Are you 'assist feeding' him using a feeding syringe, like people sometimes do with an infant?

Test at +6 please.

¿Otto no quiere comer solo? ¿Está 'ayudando a alimentarlo' usando una jeringa de alimentación, como las personas a veces hacen con un bebé?

Prueba a +6 por favor.

Ok I measure +6.
He has always been very hungry and eaten by himself
 
To recap what you will be doing this morning. Clarifying what has already happened and what will be done this morning.

  • Otto ate already this morning
  • Test at +1, +2, +3
  • Test in the middle of the cycle at +6
  • Otto is eating on his own. He is very hungry. He does not need to be hand fed or assist fed with a feeding syringe.
Para recapitular lo que harás esta mañana. Aclarando lo que ya sucedió y lo que se hará esta mañana.
  • Otto ya comió esta mañana
  • Prueba a +1, +2, +3
  • Prueba en la mitad del ciclo a +6
  • Otto está comiendo solo. El tiene mucha hambre. No necesita ser alimentado a mano o ayudado con una jeringa de alimentación.
 
To recap what you will be doing this morning. Clarifying what has already happened and what will be done this morning.

  • Otto ate already this morning
  • Test at +1, +2, +3
  • Test in the middle of the cycle at +6
  • Otto is eating on his own. He is very hungry. He does not need to be hand fed or assist fed with a feeding syringe.
Para recapitular lo que harás esta mañana. Aclarando lo que ya sucedió y lo que se hará esta mañana.
  • Otto ya comió esta mañana
  • Prueba a +1, +2, +3
  • Prueba en la mitad del ciclo a +6
  • Otto está comiendo solo. El tiene mucha hambre. No necesita ser alimentado a mano o ayudado con una jeringa de alimentación.

Agree understood. As I have values I will update table
 
Hi everyone as you have seen Otto was very low to even consider the 0.1 I just wanted to clarify that Otto is eating on his own with very good appetite not needing any assistance

it appears the Google translator misunderstood what Mayka put and somewhat came out with syringe

Otto had Feringa the 1.8% carb food
 
Thanks Veronica. Wanted to make sure Otto was eating on his own, so that is why I asked a few questions. Mayka did reply back that Otto eats on his own and is a very hungry boy kitten.

Otto may need to eat more than the 220 to 240 grams (7.75 to 8.5 ounces) you are feeding now. He is still a growing kitten.

Do you have a way to weigh him at home? Perhaps you have a scale that you use to weigh yourself? You could hold Otto in your arms, remember the weight shown, let him down from your arms, remember the new weight, subtract your weight alone from your weight plus Otto's weight. That would tell us roughly how much he weighs.

How much does he weigh? Record that weight on the SS (spreadsheet) in the Remarks column please.

Is Otto a very small kitten? Do you think he still has some growing to do or is he almost adult size? Kittens usually take between 9 and 12 months to grow to their full adult size. He is 9 months old now. I am only looking for your opinion on his growth.

Does he look too thin or about the right weight or is he overweight? I doubt very much
if Otto is overweight yet. Can you see and feel his ribs along his sides? Does he have a little layer of fat along his sides or is he too skinny?

WSAVA Body Condition Score Chart <<<< link to the left, may help you assess the body condition of Otto. When you have a chance, please look at that link and then let us know which picture looks more like Otto's body.

Gracias Veronica. Quería asegurarme de que Otto comiera solo, por eso hice algunas preguntas. Mayka respondió que Otto come solo y es un gatito muy hambriento.

Otto puede necesitar comer más de 220 a 240 gramos (7.75 a 8.5 onzas) que está alimentando ahora. Sigue siendo un gatito en crecimiento.

¿Tienes una manera de pesarlo en casa? ¿Quizás tienes una balanza que usas para pesarte? Podrías sostener a Otto en tus brazos, recordar el peso mostrado, dejarlo caer de tus brazos, recordar el nuevo peso, restar tu peso solo de tu peso más el peso de Otto. Eso nos dirá aproximadamente cuánto pesa.

¿Cuánto pesa? Registre ese peso en el SS (hoja de cálculo) en la columna de Comentarios por favor.

¿Otto es un gatito muy pequeño? ¿Crees que todavía tiene algo que hacer o es casi del tamaño de un adulto? Los gatitos suelen tardar entre 9 y 12 meses en crecer hasta su tamaño adulto completo. Él tiene 9 meses de edad ahora. Solo estoy buscando tu opinión sobre su crecimiento.

¿Se ve demasiado delgado o tiene el peso correcto o tiene sobrepeso? Dudo mucho si Otto tiene sobrepeso todavía. ¿Puedes ver y sentir sus costillas a los lados? ¿Tiene una pequeña capa de grasa a los lados o es demasiado delgado?

El cuadro de puntuación de condición corporal de WSAVA WSAVA Body Condition Score Chart <<<< a la izquierda, puede ayudarlo a evaluar la condición corporal de Otto. Cuando tenga la oportunidad, mire ese enlace y luego háganos saber qué imagen se parece más al cuerpo de Otto.

EDITED TO ADD: Click on the blue highlighted text to open that document. I just learned that google translate "loses" the link.

Haga clic en el texto resaltado en azul para abrir ese documento. Acabo de enterarme de que el traductor de Google "pierde" el enlace.
 
Last edited:
We don't get very many kittens here with diabetes, so I don't have a good idea of how much food Otto needs. Definitely more than he is eating now though. Kind of "thinking out loud" here, doing a bit of 'brainstorming", so try to follow my thinking and reasoning. The "why" behind my answer. Skip all this and look at the bottom for a summarization if you prefer.

Still growing. Active kitten, probably playing a lot, so burning off calories quickly. Seems underweight. Needs more food. But how much is the question? Keeping Otto healthy, helping him gain some needed weight back. Not too much food because we don't want him to become overweight. That becoming overweight is unlikely to happen in a week or even 2 or 3 weeks or a month, but is something to consider in the future. Need to keep the diabetes under control. But without enough food and insulin there are other health risks. No ketones. Daily testing for ketones if possible, to be cautious. To be safer.

I would like to see if Otto would be better on a slightly higher carb food. Still less than 10%. More carbs than the 1.9% from the Feringa may be better for him. Help him to gain more weight. It's a balancing act, like a circus performer walking a tightrope. We just don't know for sure what would be best for Otto. We'll have to try and see what happens with a higher carb food.

Found this information on a couple of places on the internet doing a search on how much food to feed a kitten.
"If you’re feeding her canned food, feed her as much as she will eat up to about four months of age, divided into three or four feedings per day. Consider the activity level of your kitten, as well. From four to six months, feed her about 2/3 of a 3-oz. can per pound of body weight per day, and from six months to a year, about half a 3-oz. can per pound per day."

Using that recommendation than at 9.4 pounds (4.25 kilos) times 1.5 ounces (42 grams) = 14 ounces (400 grams). That seems like too much though (14 ounces, almost 400 grams). I'd definitely add 2-3 ounces (56-85 grams) more to Otto's diet, preferable the higher amount. Spread out the increased 3 ounces (85 grams) of food among his current meals so that would be about 11.5 ounces of food. Then, reassess in a week with a weight and body condition score again (BCS). Not sure what size cans (or pouches) of food are being used. That amount of grams does not have to be that precise.

More protein added to Otto's diet. Some plain cooked chicken, about 15% to 20% of his total food intake would increase his protein and help him to gain weight. Instead of adding more canned cat food to Otto's diet, I think some more protein might be better. So about 2 ounces of plain cooked meat, chicken, pork, beef. Whichever he likes. The other ounce of increased food would be 1 ounce of the canned food.

"Per Cat Info, you can add 1 part lean protein to 5 parts canned cat food, mix well, and portion out. This boosts the protein and lowers both carbohydrate and fat" Dr. Lisa Pierson's catinfo.org website is my source for the 20% additional protein. Chicken without the skin is probably the best choice.

More food is my final answer. We'll see how it goes.

From Tufts Veterinary https://vetnutrition.tufts.edu/2018/01/diabetic_cat_diet/ (Tufts is an well known veterinary school where I live) article talks about what to feed a diabetic cat and mentions what to do if underweight.

The condensed version is here.
  • Otto is underweight
  • 20% more protein to help Otto gain weight
  • 2 ounces more food, plain cooked skinless chicken to help with weight gain
  • 1 ounce more canned food to help with weight gain
  • higher carb canned food, but still <10%
  • try some of the higher carb Animoda and Granatapet from the European food list
  • UK and Europe Cat Food List
  • keep an eye on the BG levels with regular testing
  • may need a tiny bit more insulin. If we see the BG levels high enough at Pre-shot test.
Aquí no tenemos muchos gatitos con diabetes, así que no tengo una buena idea de cuánta comida necesita Otto. Definitivamente más de lo que está comiendo ahora. Una especie de "pensar en voz alta" aquí, haciendo un poco de "lluvia de ideas", así que trate de seguir mi pensamiento y razonamiento. El "por qué" detrás de mi respuesta. Omita todo esto y mire al final para obtener un resumen si lo prefiere.

Sigue creciendo. Gatito activo, probablemente jugando mucho, así que quema calorías rápidamente. Parece de bajo peso. Necesita más comida. ¿Pero cuánto es la pregunta? Mantener a Otto saludable y ayudarlo a recuperar algo de peso necesario. No demasiada comida porque no queremos que tenga sobrepeso. Es poco probable que tenga sobrepeso en una semana o incluso 2 o 3 semanas o un mes, pero es algo a considerar en el futuro. Necesidad de mantener la diabetes bajo control. Pero sin suficiente comida e insulina hay otros riesgos para la salud. Sin cetonas. Pruebas diarias de cetonas si es posible, para ser cauteloso. Para estar más seguro

Me gustaría ver si Otto sería mejor con un alimento ligeramente más alto en carbohidratos. Aún menos del 10%. Más carbohidratos que el 1.9% de Feringa pueden ser mejores para él. Ayúdale a ganar más peso. Es un acto de equilibrio, como un artista de circo caminando por la cuerda floja. Simplemente no sabemos con certeza qué sería lo mejor para Otto. Tendremos que intentar ver qué sucede con un alimento con más carbohidratos.

Encontré esta información en un par de lugares en Internet haciendo una búsqueda sobre la cantidad de comida para alimentar a un gatito.
"Si está alimentando su comida enlatada, aliméntela tanto como comerá hasta los cuatro meses de edad, dividida en tres o cuatro comidas por día. Considere también el nivel de actividad de su gatito. De cuatro a seis meses, aliméntele aproximadamente 2/3 de una lata de 3 onzas por libra de peso corporal por día, y de seis meses a un año, aproximadamente media lata de 3 onzas por libra por día ".

Usando esa recomendación que a 9,4 libras (4,25 kilos) por 1,5 onzas (42 gramos) = 14 onzas (400 gramos). Sin embargo, eso parece demasiado (14 onzas, casi 400 gramos). Definitivamente agregaría 2-3 onzas (56-85 gramos) más a la dieta de Otto, preferiblemente la cantidad más alta. Extienda el aumento de 3 onzas (85 gramos) de comida entre sus comidas actuales para que sea aproximadamente 11.5 onzas de comida. Luego, vuelva a evaluar en una semana con un puntaje de peso y condición corporal nuevamente (BCS). No estoy seguro de qué tamaño se usan latas (o bolsas) de alimentos. Esa cantidad de gramos no tiene que ser tan precisa.

Más proteínas agregadas a la dieta de Otto. Un poco de pollo cocinado, aproximadamente del 15% al 20% de su ingesta total de alimentos aumentaría su proteína y lo ayudaría a aumentar de peso. En lugar de agregar más comida enlatada para gatos a la dieta de Otto, creo que un poco más de proteína podría ser mejor. Entonces, alrededor de 2 onzas de carne cocida, pollo, cerdo, carne de res. Lo que quiera. La otra onza de comida aumentada sería 1 onza de comida enlatada.

"Según Cat Info, puede agregar 1 parte de proteína magra a 5 partes de comida enlatada para gatos, mezclar bien y repartir. Esto aumenta la proteína y reduce los carbohidratos y las grasas". El sitio web catinfo.org de la Dra. Lisa Pierson es mi fuente para el 20% de proteína adicional. El pollo sin piel es probablemente la mejor opción.

Más comida es mi respuesta final. Ya veremos cómo va.

El artículo de Tufts Veterinary https://vetnutrition.tufts.edu/2018/01/diabetic_cat_diet/ (Tufts es una conocida escuela veterinaria donde vivo) habla sobre qué alimentar a un gato diabético y menciona qué hacer si tiene bajo peso.

La versión condensada está aquí.
  • Otto tiene bajo peso
  • 20% más de proteínas para ayudar a Otto a aumentar de peso
  • 2 onzas más de comida, pollo sin piel cocinado para ayudar con el aumento de peso
  • 1 onza más de comida enlatada para ayudar con el aumento de peso
  • alimentos enlatados con mayor contenido de carbohidratos, pero aún <10%
  • pruebe algunos de los carbohidratos superiores Animoda y Granatapet de la lista europea de alimentos
  • Lista de alimentos para gatos del Reino Unido y Europa UK and Europe Cat Food List
  • vigile los niveles de glucemia con pruebas regulares
  • puede necesitar un poquito más de insulina. Si vemos los niveles de glucemia lo suficientemente altos en la prueba previa al disparo.
 
Making a little recap of today so far no insulin was given because Otto was at 125 at preshoot, so he got breakfast ( and was very happy) and Myka kept monitoring him this were his results

AMPS 125 ( No insulin given) and he got breakfast
+1 133
+2 132
+3 122 ( and had some food afterwards)
+6 124

Mayka has already order some food that is about 7.2% that she would be getting late today or early tomorrow so she could probably start giving it to him tomorrow, but just a thought considering his numbers today which are almost normal and lower than the previous ones , I'm not sure anymore about giving it to him and try to give more insulin or just keeping him as he is and see if his numbers lower on their own a bit more
 
Making a little recap of today so far no insulin was given because Otto was at 125 at preshoot, so he got breakfast ( and was very happy) and Myka kept monitoring him this were his results

AMPS 125 ( No insulin given) and he got breakfast
+1 133
+2 132
+3 122 ( and had some food afterwards)
+6 124

Not seeing a "food bump" in the BG numbers with the food given after pre-shot at +1 or +2. Also not seeing a "food bump" increasing the BG readings between the +3 and the BG test at +6. In other words, looks like his body is producing enough insulin to counteract the food and keep his BG readings down.

If his body was not producing enough insulin on it's own, I would expect the BG readings to increase a couple of hours after food. The fact that the BG readings are staying basically the same (flat) without insulin tells is his pancreas is working to produce some insulin. Not quite enough, but some. That is a very encouraging and positive sign.

Mayka has already order some food that is about 7.2% that she would be getting late today or early tomorrow so she could probably start giving it to him tomorrow,

My concern is that Otto needs to gain weight. He is still a kitten and growing. It's why I suggested adding some more protein like plain cooked chicken to his diet. The additional protein will help him gain weight and reduce the possibility of losing muscle mass. That is especially noticeable in the hindquarters on a cat. Hindquarters (hips area) should be about the same width as the shoulders. If Mayka can see that Otto's body tapers in towards his tail, in a broad U or V shape, that is indicative of muscle wasting.

Also, the lower carb food doesn't have as many calories. Not a big difference, but with a couple of cans a day it could make a difference in Otto gaining weight or not.

but just a thought considering his numbers today which are almost normal and lower than the previous ones , I'm not sure anymore about giving it to him and try to give more insulin or just keeping him as he is and see if his numbers lower on their own a bit more

It's a toss up. I think he needs the tiniest bit more insulin. Maybe only one drop. Not sure if that is possible for Mayka to do. The risk is that she gives too much insulin and he has a hypo. It's her choice. It's her cat and her decision.

We want to see numbers all down in the green range at preshot. With maybe an occasional blue, for 14 days. Like when we are doing an OTJ trial. Take a look at Billy and Juls spreadsheet (SS). He's also using Prozinc. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/e/2PACX-1vQAobmPCd0hXSnyC1SWF1r7CQLWN83jIZArIANR0xqDhDa1cjR1RC5jKXXJF1102Rvu-8hggWzrNW2-/pubhtml and is on an OTJ trial.
 
My concern is that Otto needs to gain weight. He is still a kitten and growing. It's why I suggested adding some more protein like plain cooked chicken to his diet. The additional protein will help him gain weight and reduce the possibility of losing muscle mass. That is especially noticeable in the hindquarters on a cat. Hindquarters (hips area) should be about the same width as the shoulders. If Mayka can see that Otto's body tapers in towards his tail, in a broad U or V shape, that is indicative of muscle wasting.
I totally agree Otto is a kitten and he has to have proper nutrition for him to grow healthy and not have problems later on I've already told Mayka he needs to eat more and that together with the higher carbs can probably help also with the dosing

We want to see numbers all down in the green range at preshot. With maybe an occasional blue, for 14 days. Like when we are doing an OTJ trial. Take a look at Billy and Juls spreadsheet (SS). He's also using Prozinc

His SS is really impressive, it appears he went quite quickly into remission how long had he been diabetic?

I can see she still shooted at 177 but nothing lower you think that could apply to Otto ?
 
His SS is really impressive, it appears he went quite quickly into remission how long had he been diabetic?
I am not sure how long Billy was diabetic. He was diagnosed 12/27/19, but I suspect he was diabetic for some time before that. His BGL at the vet was over 500. He had been exhibiting signs of neuropathy in his back legs for months, but we didn't realize that was what it was until it suddenly improved. (not jumping, eventually litter caked in back feet.) I think Billy got diabetes because of steroid shots, a food switch to a different grain free dry type I did not realize had more carbs, and being overweight.

Vet prescribed Hill's dry, which I refused to feed, and my research on what I should feed brought me to this group. Every cat is different. But here's what we did with Bill. Although he is fat, I have never limited his food, except for 2 hours pre-test. I wanted to deal with the diabetes first. I feed him whenever he's hungry, many small meals day and night. We believe he has lost weight just from the diet change, but official weigh-in will be at the vet on the 31st.

We started with a complete switch to wet food on day 2. (He was too sick to eat at all day one, and only a few bites day 2) We fed a combination of low and higher carb wet food until day 5. Tested often because of diet switch. Day five we switched to only wet food with carb level under 10%. Day 10 we fine tuned diet again and switched to only canned food under 4% carb content. Day 13, we started to have to skip doses. Day 15 he had his last dose. We considered raising carb content of food in order to dose, because we were still getting numbers a little too high, but the numbers seemed to be trending downwards, so we decided to stick with very low carb wet food and skip doses. Today is Billy's 14th day with no insulin.

Every cat is different. I think what worked with Billy is three main things:
-We fed very low carb food.
-We fed many small meals to help keep blood sugar level stable.
-We did not limit food at all, but fed when hungry.

Plus patience and the fact that Billy is awesome.

Edited to add, we did add plain cooked chicken to Billy's diet on day 10, but as a treat, not as a main source of food.
 
Last edited:
@Deb & Wink
I don’t think adding 20% plain cooked chicken is a good idea for a kitten. It is really important they get the correct balance of nutrients, especially calcium while they are growing. And 20% plain chicken would throw that balance out as it has no calcium at all or some of the other essential vitamins and minerals. .
I agree Otto needs more to eat than a grown cat, but I would increase the calories in the food rather than add plain chicken.
@Veronica & Babu-chiri do you think canned kitten food is available in Spain. That would provide all the nutrients and is usually more calorie dense. I would stick with complete nutritionally balanced canned food.
 
Thanks Bron for your comment on the chicken addition to Otto's diet. That is why we say we are a peer reviewed message board.

What worked for Billy could work for kitten Otto. But ECID. Every Cat is Different. ECID Every Caregiver is Different. ESID Every Situation is Different.

I don't think we should have Otto on the lowest carb food possible. Mainly because he needs those higher carbs and protein to help him grow up big and strong, into an adult cat.

I'd much rather see how Otto does on a slightly higher carb food, than to try the tiny drop dose of insulin at this point. Let's see Mayka do that food change starting tomorrow morning, if she has the 7+% carb foods. Animonda Carny Kitten is a selection of flavors at around 6.5% carbs. Grau Gourmet Kitten at 8% carbs is another possibility. The other kitten foods on that european food chart are about 3% or lower.

I do think if Otto has a BG high enough to give insulin (I'd want to see a BG of at least 180) a tiny drop may help. Mayka needs to practice the drop dosing with colored water and twisting that syringe plunger to see how many drops come out of the syringe when she has what she thinks is 1 tiny drop left in the syringe.

Mayka could try that tiny 1 drop dose IF and ONLY if she is around to monitor, her internet connection is completely stable, someone or really several people that are extremely experienced with hypo stays with her to guide her, too many factors to list really. Power could go out here while she is trying this and then where would she be? It's the middle of winter here and trees come down on power lines if we get high winds or wet heavy snow. My internet connect gets flaky sometimes with my internet provider. Happened twice so far today.

TOO RISKY in my opinion. I think it is way too risky and would jeopardize Otto's life. I never want to be the person responsible for making a decision that might end a cat's life or risk brain damage or worse.

What my skills and knowledge levels are and what I am able to do is not the equivalent of what a new member is able to do. I've been here for 7 years, but I'm still learning things and can make mistakes, forget to include a crucial piece of information at a critical time. My skills at reading spreadsheets is growing with each one I review. I can sometimes picture what is happening in between the tests that do happen. More test data is good, especially in the nighttime cycle, but it's really rough on the caregiver. Really, really, rough. Lack of sleep, interrupted sleep, other life responsibilities. If Mayka gets up in the middle of the night for another reason, such as to use the bathroom, she might try to get a BG test in then. I hate to stress people out when they are first learning about treating feline diabetes. They are already stressed and overwhelmed enough with learning their cat is diabetic in the first place.

I tend to be a bit conservative in the dosing decisions when replying to people. If I see something really out of wack, I jump in and tell them to lower the dose and wait for the bouncing to clear. AND get more tests. Especially during the night time cycle. Cats are more active then and often drop into the green number ranges at night. I imagine that Otto is extremely playful at night. Doesn't Mayka have another kitten?

There are risks with his BG levels still being a bit high, in the blue ranges. Higher carb food may actually help to bring those numbers down. I know, it's counter intuitive but that is how it works sometimes.
Read these 2 posts about that:
Feeding Lowest/Zero Carb vs Lower Carb Foods
Low Carb vs Lower Carb

The final decision is of course Mayka's. She needs to be absolutely 100% sure of what she wants to do. She needs to discuss this with her vet too. I'm just one person giving my layperson's opinion.
 
Deb, life is a long learning experience I find. I learn new things every day.

Yes I agree that higher carbs might help bring up the BG a bit... enough to give some insulin. Mayka and Veronica were looking into seeing if they could source some higher carb food around 8 to 10%. However I see that that BG levels have dropped further into the 120-130s so Otto may have other ideas.
 
Deb, life is a long learning experience I find. I learn new things every day.

Yes I agree that higher carbs might help bring up the BG a bit... enough to give some insulin. Mayka and Veronica were looking into seeing if they could source some higher carb food around 8 to 10%. However I see that that BG levels have dropped further into the 120-130s so Otto may have other ideas.
Yes Mayka got word from the seller that she may be getting the food tomorrow so far the PMPS was 135 so no insulin tonight either, given the trend tomorrow morning he'll probably be around that number too, Otto did got some extra food (still from the very low carb ) for dinner today though
 
Yes Mayka got word from the seller that she may be getting the food tomorrow so far the PMPS was 135 so no insulin tonight either, given the trend tomorrow morning he'll probably be around that number too, Otto did got some extra food (still from the very low carb ) for dinner today though
Do you think you could source kitten canned food?
I’m glad he is eating well.
You are being a wonderful help to Mayka, Veronica.
 
Do you think you could source kitten canned food?
Mayka is looking into that, I'm not sure what she has available and finding one higher than what he's getting and under 10% it appears is not that easy but she'll keep looking, still at least for a few days maybe she can use the one she found is not kitten specific but it appears it is suitable for all ages which is better than giving just adult food
 
Mayka is looking into that, I'm not sure what she has available and finding one higher than what he's getting and under 10% it appears is not that easy but she'll keep looking, still at least for a few days maybe she can use the one she found is not kitten specific but it appears it is suitable for all ages which is better than giving just adult food
Sounds good. I know it can be hard to find some foods in certain countries. You just have to work with what you can get.
 
Animonda Carny Kitten is a selection of flavors at around 6.5% carbs. Grau Gourmet Kitten at 8% carbs is another possibility. The other kitten foods on that european food chart are about 3% or lower.
 
I see that Mayka fed the old Feringa food this morning.
I thought she was going to try the higher carb food she got yesterday?
What is the name of the higher carb food she did buy?

Veo que Mayka alimentó la vieja comida de Feringa esta mañana.
¿Pensé que iba a probar la comida alta en carbohidratos que recibió ayer?
¿Cuál es el nombre de la comida alta en carbohidratos que compró?
 
Last edited:
[QUOTE = "Deb & Wink, post: 2516390, member: 7964"] Veo que Mayka alimentó la vieja comida de Feringa esta mañana.
¿Pensé que iba a probar la comida alta en carbohidratos que recibí ayer?
¿Cuál es el nombre de la comida alta en carbohidratos que compró? [/ CITA]

Hola, demora del pedido de Zooplus, llega esta tarde.
Animonda Carny Kitten
 
Last edited:
Ok, I understand the Zooplus cat food order has been delayed.
Order should arrive this afternoon. Hopefully it does.
Anime Carny Kitten will be fed to Otto after the shipment of the food arrives.
I think that is the food from the European Food Chart that has the name of Animonda Carny Kitten.
If it is, that food is about 6.5% carbohydrates.
There are 4 different flavors available. Not sure which ones Mayka purchased.
Mayka, please make a note in the Remarks column on Otto's spreadsheet(SS) of which flavor was fed for each meal.

We'll see how Otto's blood glucose readings do on that food over the next few days.

Sorry, I forgot to translate my questions to Spanish in my last post. Will remember to do that next time. I will go back and edit my last post and give the Spanish translation also. My apologies for forgetting to do that translation so you could understand what I said.

Ok, entiendo que el pedido de comida para gatos Zooplus se ha retrasado.
El pedido debería llegar esta tarde. Espero que sí.
Anime Carny Kitten será alimentado a Otto después de que llegue el envío de la comida.
Creo que esa es la comida de la Carta Europea de Alimentos que se llama Animonda Carny Kitten.
Si es así, ese alimento tiene aproximadamente 6.5% de carbohidratos.
Hay 4 sabores diferentes disponibles. No estoy seguro de cuáles compró Mayka.
Mayka, anote en la columna de Comentarios en la hoja de cálculo (SS) de Otto qué sabor se alimentó para cada comida.

Veremos cómo las lecturas de glucosa en sangre de Otto en esa comida en los próximos días.

Lo siento, olvidé traducir mis preguntas al español en mi última publicación. Recordará hacer eso la próxima vez. Volveré y editaré mi última publicación y también daré la traducción al español. Mis disculpas por olvidarse de hacer esa traducción para que puedan entender lo que dije.
 
Hi guys so far we are still trying to get some higher carb food appropriate for Otto, because we checked and it appear that the Animonda Carny Kitten must have changed the formula from when the list was made to now and it appears it's pretty much the same she was giving, well a bit higher around 3.76 % but not enough for what we are looking for so for now Mayka is going to try with the all ages-adult one to see if his numbers go a bit higher, fingers crossed
 
Last edited:
Wow...I see a 96 preshot! Otto is on a mission I think!
Wow ... veo un 96 preshot! ¡Otto está en una misión, creo!

Nice to see lower blood glucose numbers for Otto.
I see you fed a small amount of chicken breast yesterday, 5 grams with 4 of his meals.
That may be helping Otto's blood glucose to be lower also.

Es bueno ver números de glucosa en sangre más bajos para Otto.
Veo que alimentaste una pequeña cantidad de pechuga de pollo ayer, 5 gramos con 4 de sus comidas.
Eso puede estar ayudando a que la glucosa en la sangre de Otto también sea más baja.
 
Yes Otto is on a mission and behaving really well, I guess eating more because Mayka is giving him more food besides the extra chicken breast is making him happy and encouraging him .

Mayka hasn't changed the food because it has been more trouble than expected to find one but I think that if he continues down this path he may not need the food change after all
 
Good evening Mayka.
Otto's blood glucose numbers are looking very good.
Otto has not needed insulin for 7 and a half days now.
Hopefully he does not need any more insulin.
Is Otto gaining any weight in the last week?

Buenas tardes Mayka.
Los niveles de glucosa en sangre de Otto se ven muy bien.
Otto no ha necesitado insulina durante 7 días y medio.
Esperemos que no necesite más insulina.
¿Otto está ganando peso en la última semana?
 
[QUOTE = "Deb & Wink, post: 2518993, miembro: 7964"] Buenas noches Mayka.
Los niveles de glucosa en sangre de Otto se ven muy bien.
Otto no ha necesitado insulina durante 7 días y medio.
Esperemos que no necesitemos más insulina.
¿Otto está ganando peso en la última semana?

Buenas tardes Mayka.
Los niveles de glucosa en sangre de Otto se ven muy bien.
Otto no ha necesitado insulina durante 7 días y medio.
Esperemos que no necesitemos más insulina.
¿Otto está ganando peso en la última semana? [/ CITA]

Hi deb
Yes, Otto's glucose levels are going very well (the breast should be helping). My boy is doing great. We cross fingers to keep it that way without insulin.
From weight to cattle 50g. As Verónica has commented, we continue with the same food and chicken breast. I was having trouble finding cans with 7-8% carbohydrates

I want to thank everyone for the help provided. Without you Otto would not be so good, I will always be very grateful.
Thank you thank you thank you !!!
 
Hi Mayka!
Have you been able to find any kitten food for Otto yet?
If Otto is staying in normal numbers, there is no real need for the higher carb food at the moment.
I suggested the higher carb food to see if it helped to raise the BG high enough to give some insulin.
But Otto has other ideas!:)

I would concentrate on trying to find some kitten food as it has higher levels of certain vitamins and minerals that growing kittens need.
You are doing a wonderful job looking after Otto:)
 
Hi Mayka!
Have you been able to find any kitten food for Otto yet?
If Otto is staying in normal numbers, there is no real need for the higher carb food at the moment.
I suggested the higher carb food to see if it helped to raise the BG high enough to give some insulin.
But Otto has other ideas!:)

I would concentrate on trying to find some kitten food as it has higher levels of certain vitamins and minerals that growing kittens need.
You are doing a wonderful job looking after Otto:)
Hi Otto is on kitten food the very low carb food the problem was finding higher carb kitten food, which Mayka hasn't found but as it turned out while she was looking for it, Otto had a different agenda and it appears for the moment at lest (fingers crossed) that he won't need it, but he is on an age appropriate (kitten food)
 
Congratulations to Mayka and her kitten Oscar from Spain!
¡Felicitaciones a Mayka y su gatito Oscar de España!

How old is Oscar now? Is he 11 months old now? Is he getting bigger?
¿Cuántos años tiene Oscar ahora? ¿Tiene 11 meses ahora? ¿Se está haciendo más grande?

We would love to see a picture of Oscar if that is possible.
Nos encantaría ver una foto de Oscar si eso es posible.

Mayka does not understand English. So we translate what we say to her into Spanish. Veronica also helps Mayka to understand what we say.
Mayka no entiende inglés. Entonces traducimos lo que le decimos al español. Veronica también ayuda a Mayka a entender lo que decimos.
 
Muchas gracias, lo hemos logrado !!! Nunca imaginé que la remisión fuera tan rápida, mi Otto lo ha hecho muy bien.
Agradecer inmensamente a este grupo por la ayuda brindada, especialmente Deb, Marta y Verónica.
Otto tiene ahora 10 meses. Aquí tienes fotos de mi chico.
Te deseo suerte, el viernes tienes tiempo para castrarte, espero que tus valores no cambien ...
¿Y a partir de ahora necesito consejos que debo seguir haciendo?


[ATTACH = full] 51361 [/ ATTACH] [ATTACH = full] 51362 [/ ATTACH]
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-2-18_1-35-30.png
    upload_2020-2-18_1-35-30.png
    280.4 KB · Views: 228
  • upload_2020-2-18_1-35-48.png
    upload_2020-2-18_1-35-48.png
    307.4 KB · Views: 214
[QUOTE = "Veronica & Babu-chiri, post: 2526659, miembro: 15796"] Hola a todos, solo quería que supieran que Mayka y Otto están celebrando

Otto es OTJ !!!

Gracias a todos por su ayuda [/ QUOTE]

Muchas gracias Veronica por tu ayuda :Beso:
 
¿Y a partir de ahora necesito consejos que debo seguir haciendo?
And from now on I need advice that I should keep doing?

Hello Mayka,
Hola Mayka,

You need to keep feeding Otto the same kind of kitten food he is eating now for 2 more months. Otto is still a kitten and needs the extra calories from the kitten food to help him grow big and strong.
Debe seguir alimentando a Otto con el mismo tipo de alimento para gatitos que está comiendo ahora durante 2 meses más. Otto todavía es un gatito y necesita las calorías adicionales de la comida del gatito para ayudarlo a crecer grande y fuerte.

When Otto is 12 months old, you can feed adult cat food. You will want to find an adult cat food that is low in carbohydrates. A food that is similar to the food you feed now.
Cuando Otto tiene 12 meses, puede alimentar a los adultos con comida para gatos. Querrás encontrar una comida para gatos para adultos que sea baja en carbohidratos. Una comida que es similar a la comida que alimentas ahora.

You should also continue to test the blood glucose levels after remission. Most people test once a week. It's possible to test less frequently, every 2 weeks to a month.
También debe continuar analizando los niveles de glucosa en sangre después de la remisión. La mayoría de las personas se hacen una prueba a la semana. Es posible realizar pruebas con menos frecuencia, cada 2 semanas a un mes.

It is possible that Otto could come out of remission in the future. If he ever has rising blood glucose levels that seem too high, knowing that information sooner let's you know you may need to restart the insulin.
Es posible que Otto pueda salir de la remisión en el futuro. Si alguna vez tiene niveles de glucosa en sangre en aumento que parecen demasiado altos, conocer esa información antes le informa que puede necesitar reiniciar la insulina.

Talk to your vet about the fact that Otto was diabetic and you gave him insulin for a short period of time. Once a cat is diabetic, they are always diabetic. The feline diabetes is simply being controlled by the specific food diet you are feeding.
Hable con su veterinario sobre el hecho de que Otto era diabético y le dio insulina por un corto período de tiempo. Una vez que un gato es diabético, siempre son diabéticos. La diabetes felina simplemente está siendo controlada por la dieta alimentaria específica que está alimentando.

Knowing that his blood glucose levels are a little bit higher, can alert you to other health issues. Like a urinary tract infection or an infection in his mouth that may need antibiotics to treat.
Saber que sus niveles de glucosa en sangre son un poco más altos, puede alertarlo sobre otros problemas de salud. Como una infección del tracto urinario o una infección en la boca que puede necesitar antibióticos para tratar.

If Otto does need to take medication, ask your veterinarian for a medication without sugar. You do not want to give a diabetic cat a medication with any kind of sugar in it.
Si Otto necesita tomar medicamentos, pídale a su veterinario un medicamento sin azúcar. No desea darle a un gato diabético un medicamento con ningún tipo de azúcar.

Try to never use any kind of steroids to treat Otto for another illness. There are ear drops to treat mites in the ears and they contain steroids. There are other medications to treat cats for allergies or asthma. They contain steroids. There are medications that treat cats with irritable bowel disease. One kind of steroid, budesonide, can help treat the irritable bowel disease without impacting the diabetes as much as typical steroids do.
Intente nunca usar ningún tipo de esteroides para tratar a Otto por otra enfermedad. Hay gotas para los oídos para tratar los ácaros en los oídos y contienen esteroides. Existen otros medicamentos para tratar a los gatos por alergias o asma. Contienen esteroides. Hay medicamentos que tratan a los gatos con enfermedad del intestino irritable. Un tipo de esteroide, la budesonida, puede ayudar a tratar la enfermedad del intestino irritable sin afectar la diabetes tanto como los esteroides típicos.

Ask your veterinarian if there are options for treatment that do not need to use steroids. Sometimes there are other ways to treat our diabetic cats.
Pregúntele a su veterinario si hay opciones de tratamiento que no necesiten usar esteroides. A veces hay otras formas de tratar a nuestros gatos diabéticos.

Once Otto is his full adult size, you do not want him to become overweight. His sides should not bulge out, but be should have some fat over his ribs. You should be able to still feel the ribs a little bit when you move your hands over his ribs. A cat being very overweight is a risk factor for diabetes. On the other hand, Otto should not be emaciated either. A normal or ideal weight is what you want to see for Otto. Ask your veterinarian if Otto is at his "ideal weight" when you take Otto in for vet visits.
Una vez que Otto tenga su tamaño adulto completo, no querrá que tenga sobrepeso. Sus costados no deben sobresalir, pero deben tener algo de grasa sobre sus costillas. Deberías poder sentir aún las costillas un poco cuando muevas tus manos sobre sus costillas. Un gato que tiene mucho sobrepeso es un factor de riesgo para la diabetes. Por otro lado, Otto tampoco debe ser demacrado. Un peso normal o ideal es lo que quiere ver para Otto. Pregúntele a su veterinario si Otto está en su "peso ideal" cuando lo lleve a visitar al veterinario.

If Otto starts to drink a lot of water, starts to urinate very large quantities of urine, starts to lose a lot of weight, starts to want eating a lot more food, then he may be needing more insulin. If he looks or acts sick, a visit the the veterinarian may be needed. Check with your veterinarian, because there can be other medical reasons for some of these symptoms.
Si Otto comienza a beber mucha agua, comienza a orinar grandes cantidades de orina, comienza a perder mucho peso, comienza a querer comer mucha más comida, entonces puede necesitar más insulina. Si se ve o actúa enfermo, puede ser necesaria una visita al veterinario. Consulte con su veterinario, porque puede haber otras razones médicas para algunos de estos síntomas.

Keep Otto happy. Keep him active and playing. Keep loving him with all your heart. Keep taking pictures of Otto.
Mantén a Otto feliz. Mantenlo activo y jugando. Sigue amándolo con todo tu corazón. Sigue tomando fotos de Otto.

Thank you for sharing some recent pictures of Otto with us. He is growing up to be a beautiful boy cat.
Gracias por compartir algunas fotos recientes de Otto con nosotros. Él está creciendo para ser un hermoso gato niño.
 
Back
Top